Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
123.6865745
Write A Review
November 6, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I worked at this organization briefly, realized they really don't care much about cancer but how to connect with privileged people from China and the U.S. Of course, ever since Ba and the president got married, they shifted their focus heavily to China. They spend tons of money on "fundraising" event in Cancun, Mexico, to accommodate government officials from China. And I remember Ba, the wife, who is Chief Operation Officer, only fly non-stop/ first class flight and is member of many luxurious hotels and clubs. They even bring their family businesses at work, asked employees to do paperwork for their son's passport and Chinese visa. They hired some really nice Americans to be the donor relationship officers, who usually make really friendly, nice phone calls to follow up. But remember, this is not the foundation who can fulfill your wish and help cancer research.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Despite the name, this group is more interested in promoting research in China than in the United States. If you want your donations going to cancer research in China, then this is your group. There is even a knockoff group called the Asian Fund for Cancer Research with all the same board, same researchers and same staff on it, except all in Chinese.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Founder of the National Foundation for Cancer Research charged with bilking $25.7 million in fraud scheme.

US News

Two charged with bilking hundreds in fraud scheme

Fri, May 02 18:54 PM EDT

CHICAGO (Reuters) - U.S. authorities on Friday charged a
California firm with bilking hundreds of investors of almost $26 million in an illegal commodities trading scheme, in a complaint that said one owner used $1 million in victims' funds to invest in a golf course.

Futures regulators and law enforcement agencies froze the assets of Safevest LLC, of Mission Viejo, California. The firm and its owners and officers, Jon Ervin and John Slye, were named in a complaint by the Commodity Futures Trading Commission.

Ervin, who operated the firm, was arrested on a federal wire fraud charge, according to the U.S. Attorney's office for the Central District of California.

In addition to allegedly using victims' funds to invest in a golf course in Georgia, the U.S. attorney said Ervin spent more than $41,000 to buy a sport utility vehicle.

The agencies allege that Safevest solicited some 550 investors to transfer $25.7 million in funds to participate in a commodity-trading pool.

Instead of their promise to deposit customer funds into accounts for trading commodity futures, Safevest "misappropriated virtually all customer funds," the CFTC said.

Many of the fraud victims were parishioners recruited by Slye, an ordained minister and pastor of a church in Washington, D.C., and a founder and former board member of the National Foundation for Cancer Research.

CFTC alleges that Safevest misrepresented to clients that the firm consistently produced daily profits between 0.5 percent to 1.0 percent trading commodity futures on the Chicago Mercantile Exchange.

Besides skimming investor funds to pay their personal expenses, Slye and Ervin allegedly used at least $18.5 million to pay off other pool participants in a manner characteristic of a "Ponzi scheme."

A Ponzi scheme is one that involves paying high returns to investors out of the money paid in by subsequent investors, rather than from actual profits generated by a real business, and encouraging the original investors to find new recruits.

The Securities and Exchange Commission also filed a lawsuit against Safevest and Ervin on Friday.

(Reporting by Ros Krasny; Editing by Leslie Adler)

http://mobile.reuters.com/article/domesticNews/idUSN0230678320080502?src=RSS-USN

Next Article in US News
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There are simply too many red flags with this group. I would advise my fellow donors to look elsewhere when considering charitable giving to cancer-related charities.
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

My experience has been positive with this charity- I care about research and that is their focus. They respond to my gift promptly and frequently send me updates on progress. I think we need to judge charities on the effectiveness of their stated mission.
September 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

RUN BY A HUSBAND & WIFE (President & CEO) & Chief Operating Officer are HUSBAND & WIFE. They take home $750,000/YEAR, live in an expensive & luxurious home in Bethesda worth millions of dollars. Both are members of several prestigious private clubs in Washington DC and New York. Board Chairman was charged with bilking dozens of individuals on investment fraud schemes.
September 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

dont give. gave a small donation and now they will not stop harassing me. STOP the mail.PLEASE.
August 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer for National Foundation For Cancer Research for over 6 years. The commitment to finding a cure to multiple Cancers is unbelievable!! They are without a doubt the most advanced ... more

August 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Volunteer for NFCR for over 10 years. It his by far the single most rewarding experience I have ever had. NFCR funds cutting edge cancer research that saves lives. I have interacted with the entire NFCR team. It is a very impressive group their commitment to reach their goals never waivers.

I have Chaired a Fund Raising Golf tournament for over 6 years. Our Golf Tournament has helped raise hundreds of thousands of dollars that have gone directly to Cancer research. NFCR goes out of their way to help anyone find a Clinical Trial that could help save their life.
I am very proud to be affiliated with such an outstanding organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer for National Foundation For Cancer Research for over 6 years.
The commitment to finding a cure to multiple Cancers is unbelievable!!
They are without a doubt the most advanced in working with the top scientist globally.
I am very proud to say that I volunteer for
such a first class and caring organization.
Sarah Funt

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

SCAM ALERT!! Received a piece of mail (actually about 10 different ones) with name stickers from this charity. The letter had misspellings, bad english, etc..in it. Never heard of them, so as I do with all charities I googled them and ....

SCAM REPORT! Looks like it is a knockoff of
some Chinese group called the Asian Fund for Cancer Research with all the same people in it. http://afcr.org.hk/en/content/our-team; http://afcr.wisdomchain.com/node/16 and http://www.nfcr.org/our-team.

Watch out! Not sure these guys are real! There is a bunch of other stuff out there on them too...will keep digging and reporting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 3, 2012

The most effective and expedient "bench to bedside" research teams in the business. Truly customized individual treatment plans are their specialty since no two cancers and patients are exactly the s... more

August 19, 2014

My wife and I have volunteered for NFCR for over 10 years helping them with many fundraising events including auctions, golf tournaments, and fundraisers partnered with such charities as Wounded Warriors. We've seen much of the wonderful and cutting edge approaches to cancer treatment that they pioneered yield countless successful treatments. We are both very impressed with the number of leading cancer researchers that they have provided funding for resulting in unique lab bench to operating room protocols and methods of cancer treatment being delivered to deserving patients quickly and effectively. We are pleased and proud to be associated with NFCR, an outstanding local Bethesda, MD research charity and encourage others to experience the satisfaction of donating their time, money, and other resources to NFCR as we have for over a decade.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 3, 2012

The most effective and expedient "bench to bedside" research teams in the business. Truly customized individual treatment plans are their specialty since no two cancers and patients are exactly the same. Very responsive to requests for referrals to the best oncology professionals and facilities. The vast majority of contributions go directly to research and not overhead. I have worked with them as a volunteer for over 8 years and never cease to be impressed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2011

I have been involved with NFCR for many years helping to raise the awareness of individually designed cancer treatment protocols. Many people don't realize that cancer is an intensively personal disease that requires an individual approach to treatment that relates directly to your specific physical makeup. The most effective treatment plan is often not a "try everything and hope for the best" appraoch.

NFCR is aligned with leading scientific thinkers advocating individually crafted treatment protocols for cancer. They are dedicated to the proposition that your cancer is not identical to others; that attention to your individual needs will ultimately yield the most optimal outcomes possible. I have seen the remarkable results.

This is why I have dedicated time and effort to support NFCR in their quest to defeat cancer one person at a time. I am convinced that there's no better way to go.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the results of the individual approach to treatment over many years has convinced me that this aproach has opened the door to a more enlightened understanding of the mystery that is cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the awareness that NFCR is making such customized treatments available to patients today. What they are doing is not simply theoretical or just a mass of laboratory research. It is happening now.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help make phone calls and emails to event registrants and prospective registrants; stuff envelopes for mailings; organize files; data entry. Volunteer