Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.047625
Write A Review
March 12, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

This group spends lavishly on sending their current President, Sujuan Ba on trips to Asia to visit family, friends, etc.. while using the staff to run personal errands. If your idea of a charitable donation is paying for her to fly first class and stay in posh hotels, then this is your charity. If you want your donations to go to research in China, then this is your charity. If you want to support a group who's Board Chair was accused of investment fraud, then this is your charity. If you want to cure cancer, consider other options.
January 29, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

Check REUTERS News on May 2 to see that the FOUNDER of this charity was CHARGED WITH BILKING $25.7 MILLION IN FRAUD SCHEME.

I worked at this organization briefly for the Chief Operating Officer, who is married to the President of the group. She is only focused on how to connect with
privileged people from China and the U.S. Sujuan Ba spends tons of money on "fundraising" events in Cancun, Mexico, to accommodate government officials from China. And I remember Ba, only flies non-stop/ first class flight and is member of many luxurious hotels and the Cosmos Club and the Kenwood Country Club in DC. They even bring their family businesses at work, asked employees to do paperwork for their son's passport and Chinese visa. This is not the foundation who can fulfill your wish and help cancer research.
January 21, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

Charity is run by a husband and wife making over $700,000 per year. Source: 2012 IRS Form 990.
December 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a professional currently working with many different charities, and in my former role on staff at NFCR, I can say without hesitation that this is a charity that makes every attempt to fund the best cancer research in the world. Take a look at the institutions the scientists they fund work for -- Yale, MD Anderson, Dana Farber, Georgetown. The impact of NFCR's work is far reaching, truly global -- and that's a good thing.

This year my business partner was diagnosed with breast cancer and without the assistance of NFCR's leadership team and science network, things could have turned out much different. Thankfully, she now has a clean bill of health except for a year's treatment of Herceptin (a drug which NFCR's funding helped create).

The fact that NFCR spends its money on research in the lab (as opposed to running high-profile awareness events, or courting company sponsorships) is what inspires me to support their mission. The fact that they've had the vision to seek out, and align the efforts of, the best scientists from all over the world shows to me that they know what it takes to accelerate the pace of bringing an end to this terrible disease.
November 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am a donor of the National Foundation for Cancer Research. As a cancer survivor and a scientist working in the field of biomedical research, I believe the research funded by this foundation is focused on addressing the key challenges facing the early detection of cancer and the drug resistance problems related to cancer treatment. I make my donations to encourage them to continue doing these research that would give cancer patients more chance to survive longer with improved quality of life.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 29, 2014

more

November 29, 2014

On the Thanksgiving Day in 2014, I am very thankful for being given the opportunity to work at this foundation for 12 years, which has allowed me to make my personal contributions to the field of cancer research that brings clinical benefits to millions of cancer patients in the US and around the world. What I like most about this foundation is its mission to find cures for cancer by doing research and its collaborative approach to speed up the process of translating the research results from laboratories into clinical benefits to cancer patients. Since I joined this foundation in 2002, I have witnessed many research breakthroughs coming out of the research labs funded by NFCR, and more promising research progress will be made in 2015 and beyond. I will continue to work here and keep doing the very best I can to find cures for cancer and to save lives of cancer patients.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 6, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

I worked at this organization briefly, realized they really don't care much about cancer but how to connect with privileged people from China and the U.S. Of course, ever since Ba and the president got married, they shifted their focus heavily to China. They spend tons of money on "fundraising" event in Cancun, Mexico, to accommodate government officials from China. And I remember Ba, the wife, who is Chief Operation Officer, only fly non-stop/ first class flight and is member of many luxurious hotels and clubs. They even bring their family businesses at work, asked employees to do paperwork for their son's passport and Chinese visa. They hired some really nice Americans to be the donor relationship officers, who usually make really friendly, nice phone calls to follow up. But remember, this is not the foundation who can fulfill your wish and help cancer research.
October 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My experience has been positive with this charity- I care about research and that is their focus. They respond to my gift promptly and frequently send me updates on progress. I think we need to judge charities on the effectiveness of their stated mission.
August 23, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer for National Foundation For Cancer Research for over 6 years. The commitment to finding a cure to multiple Cancers is unbelievable!! They are without a doubt the most advanced ... more

August 23, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a Volunteer for NFCR for over 10 years. It his by far the single most rewarding experience I have ever had. NFCR funds cutting edge cancer research that saves lives. I have interacted with the entire NFCR team. It is a very impressive group their commitment to reach their goals never waivers.

I have Chaired a Fund Raising Golf tournament for over 6 years. Our Golf Tournament has helped raise hundreds of thousands of dollars that have gone directly to Cancer research. NFCR goes out of their way to help anyone find a Clinical Trial that could help save their life.
I am very proud to be affiliated with such an outstanding organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer for National Foundation For Cancer Research for over 6 years.
The commitment to finding a cure to multiple Cancers is unbelievable!!
They are without a doubt the most advanced in working with the top scientist globally.
I am very proud to say that I volunteer for
such a first class and caring organization.
Sarah Funt

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 3, 2012

The most effective and expedient "bench to bedside" research teams in the business. Truly customized individual treatment plans are their specialty since no two cancers and patients are exactly the s... more

August 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I have volunteered for NFCR for over 10 years helping them with many fundraising events including auctions, golf tournaments, and fundraisers partnered with such charities as Wounded Warriors. We've seen much of the wonderful and cutting edge approaches to cancer treatment that they pioneered yield countless successful treatments. We are both very impressed with the number of leading cancer researchers that they have provided funding for resulting in unique lab bench to operating room protocols and methods of cancer treatment being delivered to deserving patients quickly and effectively. We are pleased and proud to be associated with NFCR, an outstanding local Bethesda, MD research charity and encourage others to experience the satisfaction of donating their time, money, and other resources to NFCR as we have for over a decade.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 3, 2012

The most effective and expedient "bench to bedside" research teams in the business. Truly customized individual treatment plans are their specialty since no two cancers and patients are exactly the same. Very responsive to requests for referrals to the best oncology professionals and facilities. The vast majority of contributions go directly to research and not overhead. I have worked with them as a volunteer for over 8 years and never cease to be impressed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2011

I have been involved with NFCR for many years helping to raise the awareness of individually designed cancer treatment protocols. Many people don't realize that cancer is an intensively personal disease that requires an individual approach to treatment that relates directly to your specific physical makeup. The most effective treatment plan is often not a "try everything and hope for the best" appraoch.

NFCR is aligned with leading scientific thinkers advocating individually crafted treatment protocols for cancer. They are dedicated to the proposition that your cancer is not identical to others; that attention to your individual needs will ultimately yield the most optimal outcomes possible. I have seen the remarkable results.

This is why I have dedicated time and effort to support NFCR in their quest to defeat cancer one person at a time. I am convinced that there's no better way to go.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the results of the individual approach to treatment over many years has convinced me that this aproach has opened the door to a more enlightened understanding of the mystery that is cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the awareness that NFCR is making such customized treatments available to patients today. What they are doing is not simply theoretical or just a mass of laboratory research. It is happening now.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help make phone calls and emails to event registrants and prospective registrants; stuff envelopes for mailings; organize files; data entry. Volunteer