Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
146 Reviews
1234.97265
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I became involved with FFA when my daughter entered 9th grade and became a member. She immediately fell in love with all aspects of the organization. She served as an officer all four years of high school, was on two State Championship teams and went to Nationals to compete two times. I went to State and National Conventions with the group and was so very impressed with the youth of this organization. I've never experienced anything like being in the audience at the National Conventions and seeing all those Blue Jackets and enthusiasm! I was in the Charter Group that started our local FFA Alumni Association and have been involved with that for the last nine years as a member and officer. I stay even though my daughter is long gone from high school - because I believe! I watched her and her friends grow and become leaders through this organization - all the way to American Degree Recipents! I only wish more of today's youth had the opportunity to become a part of FFA! Our Alumni group works hard at our fundraisers so that we might give scholarships and help out in other supportive ways - because we believe in FFA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a wife of an Ag teacher and a mother of two who are actively involved in FFA I have seen firsthand the positive impact FFA has made. FFA teaches leadership, instills confidence, and teaches all aspects of agriculture. Its also an orgainazation full of fun and memories

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The FFA is without a doubt the greatest youth organization in the world! My career started way back in 1985 when I was in 7th grade. I enjoyed all of the contests that the FFA had to compete in and learned the basics of public speaking and parlimentary procedure. I would never have imagined that just 7 short years later I would have the oppurtunity to be a VA State FFA Officer. I can honestly say that without the life skills that FFA taught me, I would never have had the courage to fulfill my duties as an officer. Fast forward to 2010, with the economy forcing me into a career change at almost 40 years old, I was able to get a job with the USDA. I know it is because of this wonderful organization, the interviews for officers and the public speaking skills allowed me to land a career without a college education. I know I can never give back to the FFA what it has given to me, but I am super excited to see my children as they start their FFA careers in the same chapter where I started mine!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I am very proud of all this organization and its accomplishments with respect to raising the next generations. The leadership, such as the school advisor, has been a mentor and excellent role model to my four daughters - 4 American Degree receipents, 2 National CDE winners, participants in five National contests (two first place teams and two second place teams); four National FFA scholarship awardees; and one nom com finalist and state delegate. All four are pursuing ag related careers. Can you tell that I am a FFA fan? I have had the distinct honor to serve as the female chaperone at four National FFA conventions and watch these young folks in action. I also fully know the effort and dedication that the advisor gives to his profession and to his students. Whether the students win or not, they all benefit greatly from knowing and working with him. My family holds FFA in high honor. There is quite a legacy throughout the state and the nation. I also appreciate your time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The experience and leadership I received while working with the FFA have been invaluable to me through the years after my membership. I have been involved in many organizations and businesses. FFA has helped me attain higher goals than I thought possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I was active in FFA for 5 years and look forward to becoming active once again when I have children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My children have been involved in many activities throughout their school careers, but the most beneficial to all of them has been FFA. As a parent and a teacher I can not say enough good things about this organization and what it does for kids. Many think that FFA is just about raising animals and doing agricultural projects, but it is so much more. An FFA member learns about failure, success, refining skills, research, current and past history of agriculture in our country and its importance, but most importantly they learn about leadership and self worth. I have taught for over 25 years and have seen students in a variety of settings, and my first national and state conventions were awe inspiring. All students stood tall and were proud to represent FFA and knew what that meant. They consistently prevailed with good manners, politeness and consideration to all. The experiences students have in the FFA have an immense effect on who they become as adults. FFA helps to build positive active citizens amd young adults who know how to make a difference for the positive. I was not introduced to FFA until my own children became involved, but I am currently an FFA Alumni member and will continue to be so in order to help this organization prosper and grow.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I don't think there's enough room here to write what a great non-profit organization FFA is. Our daughter joined FFA her freshman year & boy howdy has this "town" girl learned a lot!!! It was that same year a group of parents got together & said "these kids need our support" so we formed a FFA Booster Club for our Chapter. Through FFA and friends met there our daughter became interested in showing cattle - she has her own herd of Polled Herefords - and has been showing ever since. Quite another aspect of our agricultural education!!! Our daughter has since graduated and is in college studying for a degree in agriculture. What a fantastic group - To say FFA has changed our lives is an understatement!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

If you had asked me 9 years ago that I would be at Cornell University and have a passion to teach agriculture, I would have looked you straight in the eyes and laughed. 9 years ago, I had no purpose, no drive to succeed and let alone an interest in taking classes that challenged me well beyond my current capabilities. I thank God everyday that my friend dragged me to my first meeting, as it was that meeting that completely changed my life. I slowly, but surely became involved in the FFA, competing in my first Career Development Event as an 8th grader and won 2nd place on the State Level in Extemporaneous Public Speaking. I never excelled at anything particularly in high school, but I excelled in FFA. The National FFA Organization truly motivates students to premier leadership, personal growth and career success. I have developed into a leader that can excel under stressful circumstances, learn from my mistakes, work as a team player, and most importantly, always put the success of others before myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

There is something to be said about a Youth Organization that puts on the largest annual National Convention in the United States of America. No other youth organization allows for the diversity of skill sets that the FFA does. Most youth organizations (well, most organizations period) bring people together because of a common background or common goal. There is only one thing common about FFA and that is the tool through which it functions, Agriculture and Agricultural Education. As for what they do, FFA has so many options for members to succeed its shocking. FFA truly allows for anyone's skill set in life to shine bright, no matter what that may be. There is just so much to do! Also, what is great about the FFA is their Official Dress. The Official Dress that FFA members have to wear to events is standard for all. This standardized attire encourages appropriate dressing for students of all ages and genders. It also does something more important though, it allows those students in FFA to be judged on their abilities and personalities. You cannot judge a FFA member on how they dress or what they look like.........because they all look and dress the same! So, it inadvertently forces people to look at that student’s skills and personality. I believe that this tends to bring out the best in people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers