Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.982765
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
September 6, 2012

more

September 6, 2012

The NSDF is an exceptional organization. Its commitment to rescuing dogs, partnered with first responders and trained to save lives is truly inspiring. In 2012, my husband and I became sponsors of two Search Teams in Texas. Our contribution has been so warmly and graciously acknowledged by both the corporate office and the Search Team handlers. We will continue to support the fine efforts of the NSDF and look forward to tracking the development of our Sponsoree Dogs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012

National Search Dog Foundation is a model nonprofit that really understands how to communicate and engage their customers. My family adopted a dog from their Lifetime Care program and have also been donors. They consistently and effectively keep in touch with us, they care about the dogs that have been connected to the foundation and they run an extremely effective nonprofit. I would highly recommend NSDF -- as a donor, a customer, and a community member. NSDF is truly top-notch.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012

My son has adopted shelter dogs, so I know he will appreciate a donation in his honor to the Search Dog Foundation, an organization that provides an important tool for to assist humans when natural disasters strike. We support the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation because we know that many dog owners across the country qualify their own animals as search and rescue dogs as well as companion canines. The more search dogs that are trained, the better off we are.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The NDSDF is one of the most admirable charitable organizations I have had the pleasure of working with. The staff of the NDSDF is professional, dedicated and hardworking, and strives, on a daily basis, to maintain their goal of excellence. Their effort and support during disasters is invaluable.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am one of the canine recruiters on staff for SDF. It is tremendously fulfilling to meld my personal passion for animal rescue with community service, and to be involved with this organization.

I became involved with SDF many years ago while volunteering in the Labrador Retriever Rescue
community, finding potential search dog candidates while visiting animal shelters. I became an estate donor after the passing of my husband. And I joined staff in the summer of the same year, giving my life new purpose. My late husband was extremely involved in, and supportive of my rescue endeavors, so in many ways my work honors his memory.

SDF is a lean organization, accomplishing much with a small paid staff and a wonderful army of volunteers. The vision is clear and there is much to do to recruit and train enough search dogs to meet the needs of the disasters that will inevitably come. I can’t encourage anyone enough to support our foundation. What a meaningful way to assure your legacy…and possibly save someone’s life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

After my decision to make a donation to this truly amazing foundation for what they accomplish everyday in the rescuing of canines & training these amazing animals to rescue lives when disaster strikes, I was very impressed to first receive a "Thank You" Letter for my donation followed by a "Thank You" phone call by one of their wonderful Volunteers ! Not only was this a nice surprise to be thanked for what I did more than once, it was almost shocking also never to be pressured to send more... This is an organization that does more than words can express, thanks to its Founder Wilma Melville and her vision to see a winning situation and make it happen.... Judy H.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2011

Our family has been a supporter of Search Dogs for several years even before 9-11. We absolutely adore the mission of Search Dogs and are very pleased and proud to support such a wonderful organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Witnessing the progress and growth of this organization from its rather humble beginnings.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I love to rescue dogs and I love the fact that dogs are man's best friend.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

To enable them to grow their facility.

September 18, 2011

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 18, 2011

Thank you SDF, for a respectful and inspiring 9 11 memorial event. It is evident by the number of handlers and search dogs now based in multiple states, in a relatively short time, that SDF is utilizing contributions in a focused manner, and in direct support of the SDF mission statement: to strengthen disaster response in America by recruiting rescued dogs and partnering them with firefighters and other first responders to find people buried alive in the wreckage of disasters.
Thank you SDF for all of your efforts, and making possible first responders partnered with trained search dogs for our country.
I am honored to be a part of the search. Jamie/Donor and Volunteer

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

multiple capacities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add staff in all departments to support and encourage the continued successful growth.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers