Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.984855
Write A Review
August 22, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 22, 2014

The new training facility is a masterful work in progress. From the rubble pile to the agility training to the houses and hotel, each and every project reflects the real life situations that the handlers and their partners may encounter. While touring the facility I was very impressed with detail that is ongoing to work with the existing landscape and terrain as well as implementing a sustainable water system. I can't wait to see the finished buildings for dog and handler facilities. The memorial wall and surrounding area is also very moving; a testament to the time, effort and dedication of all the handlers and partners who have given so much of themselves.
April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

Our company has had the great honor to work with this wonderful organization in recognizing donors, trainers and the precious dogs who are trained to benefit our humanity in disaster search and rescue. This organization utilizes its resources with great integrity. We have seen it grow to a world-class facility thanks to the leaders, trainers, and volunteers involved and the generosity of the many compassionate donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The National Disaster Search Dog Foundation responds quickly to disasters throughout the country and around the globe, sending highly trained dogs and their handlers to search for survivors. I'm very impressed with this organization and the commitment of all those involved in this important work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 19, 2013

My company Smart Technology Enablers, Inc., has supported the organization's computers and networks for almost 10 years. Through that time we have watched the organization grow and mature. We enjoy working with them because they have a well-defined decision making process and always consider the business impact of the technology decisions.

Staff members have amazing commitment to the mission of the organization. We have personally witnessed how that commitment is infectious for both volunteers and donors. They are uniformly upbeat with an admirable "can-do" attitude.

The depth of the program side of the organization is impressive as they shepherd their search dogs through the recruitment process, training, certification and finally pairing with a first responder.

They are really one of the hardest working organization we know.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see them get additional funding so they can address more opportunities to field search dog teams.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 30, 2013

Having recently heard National Search Dog founder Wilma Melville's story about creating the Foundation, I want to say I am so impressed by this woman! She spoke of her organization's role in the Oklahoma bombings as well as 911 and the Haiti earthquake. At the time of Oklahoma, there were many fewer organizations like hers and since then she has worked tirelessly to grow the organization into the leader it is today. Maybe what impressed me most was Wilma's dedication, even through the horrors and tragedy that are part and parcel of the job. Obviously the NSDF has no interest in the whys behind such disasters. It's all about people---and dogs!----helping people. Seems to me there are few such non-profits whose contribution to the general public are as vital and clear cut as is NSDF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I first became acquainted with the NDSDF about 2 years ago, when my family was looking to adopt a dog. Through petfinder.com, we discovered Buster, a black lab who had been adopted from a shelter by NDSDF 5 months earlier. Unfortunately, due to issues with his size (BIG!) and knee problems, he was put into their Lifetime Care program, where he is carefully placed in with a family for the remainder of his life. We adopted Buster in August 2012 and the NDSDF have been an incredible part of al our lives since then! They were great at making sure Buster was adjusting to "civilian" life, helping with his double-knee surgery, and offering tremendous support all the way around.. It has been wonderful for us to learn about the mission of this amazing organization, and we love telling Buster - and NDSDF's story!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

You've got to see it to believe it. . . You've got to talk with the founder, a woman that at 65, had a dream to be more effective in rescuing people in disaster situations. . . to know how tremendously effective this relatively new program is in it's outreach, now receiving international requests as well, and without tax dollars. Most of the dogs in the program have been rescued from shelters themselves and are trained for 3 years to then become rescuers, heroes, ambassadors of life. . . You've got to see it to believe it. Well organized, highly efficient in outlay and true to purpose, the program trains dogs who are then GIVEN to firefighters and other search and rescue groups, WITHOUT CHARGE. You've got to see it to believe it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013

In working with the NDSDF Staff and Board of Directors, it is clearly evident that everyone involved in this organization, including the Search Dog Teams and Volunteers has a devotion to duty beyond any I have ever had the privilege of meeting. I am Blessed and Honored to say that I am Part of the Search.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

I can not begin to express how the SDF has changed out lives. The people at the foundation are truly amazing. We adopted one of thier "retired" dogs and he changed our lives for ever. He is trully an amazing dog. The work that the SDF put into making sure he got adopted was just amazing. As we have gotten to know more about SDF we fall more in love with the dogs, team, and everything it represents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 30, 2012

Last year I adopted a dog from the Search Dog Foundation's Lifetime Care program. I have been SO pleased with the newest member of my family! Steve the dog is a true star and even after failing to complete the search dog program, he is a real hero to me! Having worked with the incredibly skilled trainers at NSDF to gain his skill at basic obedience, he has been a joy to work with as we move forward in training for both of us. I feel like the staff at NSDF took the time to find me the perfect match as I have waited a long time to take this step again after losing my dog Buddy Blue 7 years ago. I HIGHLY recommend the Lifetime Care program to anyone who is looking to adopt a well balanced, sweet, loving friend. Thanks so much for the love of my life, Steve the dog!!

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers