Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.982765
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 27, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
January 27, 2014

I just can't say enough expressing how amazing SDF is! I first heard about SDF after 911 and have followed their work since. I was so excited that their office is in Ojai was able to visit a few times. Working with SDF became my "dream job" and goal . I started out going to all their special events and got to know Wilma, she is a incredible lady and knows how to make her dreams come true. My life changed forever when I found out that The National Training Center was going to be built not only here in Santa Paula but right across the road from where I live !! I was so excited and it has been so incredible watching NTC being built. 2 years ago our family adopted Calvin a black lab who just wasn't thrilled about a rubble pile and looking for a lifetime care home. SDF has always kept in touch and even sent out trainer Lyz Gregory to work with me and Calvin. I needed a lot more training than Calvin did! Well that did it, after seeing Lyz work with Calvin I was so impressed that I was determined to volunteer as often as I could. Lyz invited me to NTC , everyone was so friendly and really cared about the dogs . I saw my "dream job" !
For the last year I have volunteered once or twice a week to help out where I can. I have learned so much just being around Sonja and Lyz. They are the best! I have also taken many ,many photos of the dogs and I am so pleased to see some of the photos in SDF publications and Facebook . Everyone , trainers, office staff and fellow volunteers always make me feel like family and appreciated. They are the most professional and caring people I know. Thanks SDF for helping me live my dream !

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they had more help getting all the building done at NTC! It sure is taking a long time but it will be well worth the wait. I also forgot to mention purchasing SDF t shirts etc. from Search Dogs USA is so easy. Everyone there is really helpful and orders ship fast !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 16, 2013

more

December 16, 2013

I was first told about SDF through my College. They said the Search Dog Foundation occasionally needed volunteer photographers and since I just graduated and love dogs I decided to try it out. Honestly I had no idea who they were and what they were about until I went to my first volunteer event. It was great fun but also very structured and informative. The staff was all very friendly and seeing the dogs in action was amazing. I have now photographed several events for them. They also asked me to join their team in Ojai and now I'm officially part of the SDF staff. I've gotten to know all of them and they are all very nice and hard workers. I have also been to pairings, when the dogs get paired with their new handlers, and that is one of the best things to see. I've interacted with several candidate dogs and they are all high energy, very barky but also very friendly and some of the sweetest dogs out there. I've also met the trainers who are very amazing. And I have met some of the people behind the scenes and of course Wilma the founder, who is something else. Very funny, lively and sweet. She also knows what she wants and how to get it. The Search Dog Foundation is truly an amazing organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 12, 2013

I worked off and on volunteering with SDF, taking a break when I had school. Every time I came in they were ready for me with clear instructions and materials organised, and waiting for my help. I always felt appreciated and a part of the team even though my tasks were so minimal. On several occasions I had to cancel or was late for my volunteer time and I was never met with any disappointment, only understanding and appreciation for whatever time I could give. Everyone in the office is friendly and welcoming. I learned a lot about the role of the SDF and was surprised at the amount of personal care that is given to each individual involved in the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Living in Ojai I've always seen SDF when driving by but never knew what or how it was run. Then through a school post I saw they needed volunteers for the summer, so here was my chance! They do more than anyone can ever imagine, with their very amazing and dedicated staff just a handful of people run everything. We all see what the dogs are capable of when they are out searching for the people, but what goes into that to get them ready is absolutely amazing! I have to say I am very lucky to have been able to come in and volunteer with them and with the help of them I know what I want to do in my life. Thanks SDF!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I was paired with Roxy 1 year ago, I never in a million years thought I'd be as happy as I am to get to work with her every day. Roxy was a stray in the Sacramento area, when someone found her and took her in, only to find that she had too much energy to be a normal pet. She was surrendered to a shelter, and as she was in line to be "put down", one of the great recruiters at the NDSDF found her to be a great fit as a search dog. She was taken to Gilroy, trained, and I was lucky enough to be paired with her. 10 months later, and with countless hours of training with the NDSDF staff and with other handlers in the Los Angeles area, we passed our certification test, so we can be ready to respond to any disaster.
The NDSDF is an incredible organization, that takes rescues formally discarded canines and trains them rescue men, women and children during these incredible disasters we only see on TV. Without the staff and volunteers at the NDSDF, Roxy would be wondering the streets of Sacramento, holed up in someones back yard, or worse yet, be put to sleep like the many other unclaimed pets in the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first became acquainted with NSDF at an event in CA, where I got to meet a couple of handlers and dogs. I was so impressed by the organization that I followed it for years, subscribed to the newsletter, and watched it grow from afar, into a the wonderful, thriving organization it is today. Recently, I've become more engaged, by writing and volunteering and helping where I can, and can't express enough how exciting and fulfilling it is to be part of such a wonderful group of people doing such amazing things. When speaking with founder, Wilma Melville, her passion for NSDF is just so palpable. Her energy and the vision she has for the continued growth of the organization so that it can broaden its reach ever further, helping out more and more people at every possible opportunity, is infectious. I am continually proud and grateful to be a part in even a small way, of NSDF.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

I have had the honor and privilege of being a "part of the search" since its inception. It was amazing to hear Founder Wilma Melville describe the idea...her vision of what was to become the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation.
I have contributed to the foundation in anyway possible.
Volunteering, donating, transporting potential search dogs, answering phones... often right along side Wilma, or at least trying to keep up with her.
She is a humble hero and a visionary. Her commitment and perseverance to "rescuing dogs and turning them into rescuers" been an incredible journey. A journey that I am proud to continue to be a part of, as the searches continue and the Training Center becomes a reality

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

In 2006 I met Wilma (the founder of the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation) and I soon learned all about this wonderful organization. Being a dog lover and having just recently lost a dog Wilma mentioned the Lifetime Care Program. The next thing I knew we had adopted a dog trough the Lifetime Care program. Two years later we adopted another. I can't say enough good things about the whole experience and if we had room we would have more Lifetime Care Dogs.

As a result of getting to know Wilma and adopting two dogs from the organization I have volunteered at some of the events at the National Training Center and found things to be well organized and felt very welcome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I am proud to be a volunteer at SDF. This organization is dedicated to the end results- a successful search. All the staff a SDF are the best professionals in the field who make this non-profit work smoothly and efficeintly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

I have been volunteering for the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation (NDSDF) for several years and have also donated on several occasions. This is an incredible organization! The staff members are dedicated professionals who are committed to disaster response and who are passionate about what they do. Wilma Melville, the founder, is very down-to-earth and visits the office and National Training Center (NTC) site on a regular basis. What she has accomplished in a relatively short period of time is truly mind boggling.........from NDSDF's inception in 1996 to breaking ground at the NTC in 2010. Debra Tosch, the director, is tireless in her pursuit of NDSDF's goals and is an enthusiastic and effective leader. The organization is small but impactful. I love the fact that NDSDF rescues dogs and then provides them with a purpose in life. Watching the search dogs in action is an amazing experience. Their energy is boundless. I could not have picked a better organization with which to volunteer. NDSDF is top-notch!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers