Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.984135
| 1 ... 4 5 67 |
Write A Review
July 30, 2012

Last year I adopted a dog from the Search Dog Foundation's Lifetime Care program. I have been SO pleased with the newest member of my family! Steve the dog is a true star and even after failing to complete the search dog program, he is a real hero to me! Having worked with the incredibly skilled trainers at NSDF to gain his skill at basic obedience, he has been a joy to work with as we move forward in training for both of us. I feel like the staff at NSDF took the time to find me the perfect match as I have waited a long time to take this step again after losing my dog Buddy Blue 7 years ago. I HIGHLY recommend the Lifetime Care program to anyone who is looking to adopt a well balanced, sweet, loving friend. Thanks so much for the love of my life, Steve the dog!!

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2012

more

July 7, 2012

I am so excited about the NTC coming to life. Being a handler in Ventura California and California in general is an exciting time because of what the NTC is going to offer us as handlers. Knowing that my canine partner Ben will be given an opportunity to train in the most state of the art complex and ensuring he has the best ability to locate someone that is missing in a disaster not only brings excitement but also a somber effect with the realization that the search dog foundation is trying to emulate the real thing. Nowhere else can we get this and this will allow Ben to find the people if they are there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

I primarily volunteer as a photographer for SDF. I have worked with them for more than five years. When I first started, they and their mission were still relatively unknown. It has been my privelege to see them grow to national attention when Search Dogs they have rescued and trained, with their handlers, have shown their true worth when deployed to local as well as international disasters, such as the Haiti earthquake and Japan quake and tsunami. I know many of the dogs and handlers personally, and most of the staff as well, having worked with them at many of the events. I have never know such a dedicated, hardworking group of individuals. It is so gratifying to see them get the recognition they have earned. This organization deserves everyone's thanks and gratitude. You or I could be the next one they save.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I have admired the work the NDSDF does since I first heard of them after 9/11. I wanted to be involved with this organization, so gave them my resume in the hopes of joining the team. I am a volunteer right now, and have come to appreciate the fact that the BIG THINGS that they do, are as a result of remaining small, stable and strong. They stay connected not only to the dogs, the handlers, trainers and the life time care animals, but also to the donors. They are totally appreciative of all donations, no matter the size and really show it. This is a hardworking, dedicated team who all have the same goal. Recruiting dogs from shelters and giving them jobs saving human life is an amazing undertaking, and the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation is doing it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2012

I have been a volunteer with The National Disaster Search Dog Foundation for several years. I do my volunteering over the internet (proofreading & editing), so I don't get to see the other volunteers or the staff or the Search Dog-Handler Teams very often. But when I do see them in action -- whether in-person or on the news -- I am glad they are there to rescue people when disaster strikes. When I read of their hard work -- in an email alert from a deployment or on the Search Dog Foundation's Facebook page -- I am glad to be part of such an amazing group and I am glad to help them as they work so hard to help us all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

As a donor, volunteer and now a board member, my relationship with the Search Dog Foundation started shortly after the tragic 9/11 events. I worked with the founder Wilma Melville and current Executive Director, Debra Tosch in creating a database of the multitude of people who discovered the existence of the SDF during those events. Over the years, my involvement has continued to grow both as a donor and now as a board member. The SDF is an exemplary organization due largely to a phenomenally dedicated staff that never loses site of the goal of rescuing dogs and training them to rescue people. They are more mission focused than any organization I have supported. I will continue to support their efforts as we move forward in quest of making sure that when disaster strikes no one will be left behind.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012

My son has adopted shelter dogs, so I know he will appreciate a donation in his honor to the Search Dog Foundation, an organization that provides an important tool for to assist humans when natural disasters strike. We support the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation because we know that many dog owners across the country qualify their own animals as search and rescue dogs as well as companion canines. The more search dogs that are trained, the better off we are.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The NDSDF is one of the most admirable charitable organizations I have had the pleasure of working with. The staff of the NDSDF is professional, dedicated and hardworking, and strives, on a daily basis, to maintain their goal of excellence. Their effort and support during disasters is invaluable.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 25, 2012

I love dogs. I was raised with dogs in the home and cannot imagine my life without them. When I was introduced to the Search Dog Foundation 6 years ago, and discovered the foundation rescues these wonderful animals from shelters and trains them to become rescuers, I was hooked! I have attended several events where I have witnessed demos of the teams in action... amazing! I have become acquainted with the foundation staff, volunteers and some of the Search Teams. Their dedication and passion is inspiring. The Search Dog Foundation will forever be my charity of choice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2012

more

March 25, 2012

I've volunteered for the SDF for 6 years, writing articles and photographing events and dog trainings. It has been my overall experience that every staff person, handler and dog has shown a high level of commitment and compassion. I love these folks! I will continue to support their efforts in whatever way needed for a very long time. They show integrity and inspiration all the way!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers