Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.984385
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
March 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My employer has an employee charitable contribution campaign each year. There are several animal charities to select for contributions. I want you to know that in the past two years, I changed the animal organization to which I donated twice because the last two organizations never acknowledged my donations. I contributed every month for a full year, and never heard even a basic "Thank You" from them.

This year, I changed my donation once again, and selected SDF, although I was unfamiliar with the organization. Shortly after the first donation, I received a most impressive letter co-authored by the SDF Executive Director, Debra Tosch, and one of their SDF Search Dog Candidates, Crockett! Crockett's paw print was in the signature line of the letter. After I wiped our 17-year-old daughter's, my wife's and my eyes, I committed to contributing to this organization from now on.

Just this simple acknowledgement meant so much and the personality of the organization's leadership won our hearts. I am very convinced of SDF's value to the Search & Rescue Community. However, I am also now convinced of the quality and personability of the organizations's staff.

I recommend everyone to look into contributing to this great organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013

In working with the NDSDF Staff and Board of Directors, it is clearly evident that everyone involved in this organization, including the Search Dog Teams and Volunteers has a devotion to duty beyond any I have ever had the privilege of meeting. I am Blessed and Honored to say that I am Part of the Search.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012

I have been making gifts to this organization for about 10 years. They are wonderful, dedicated people from top to bottom and they are excellent stewards of their donor contributions. I am delighted to see them earn the top 4 star rating from Charity Navigator.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

This is a amazing organization that helps when unexpected disaster strikes and the need is the greatest. Very few entities (including Search Dog Foundation) can legitimitely claim that they have resources that are ready to deploy and make an immediate positive impact. This organization is part of the Combined Federal Campaign (CFC) that allows US federal government employees to donate to their choice of charity. I would strongly urge federal government to contribute to this organization to help achieve its mission objectives as the work they do makes this world a better place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Sacramento SPCA has had the pleasure of working with the National Search Dog Foundation (SDF) for the past two years to successfully place a dozen dogs with their organization. SDF is a joy to work with; their staff is organized and quite helpful in our efforts to place difficult dogs.
We
often receive dogs that are not easily placed. They are often very focused and driven canines who can be difficult to manage in a typical family home environment. We are confident placing any dog with SDF as we know that even if they do not successfully make it through all of the search dog training; they will be placed in a permanent, responsible and loving home.
The Sacramento SPCA is proud to partner with SDF and look forward to many more years of working together to help change the lives of both dogs and people.
-Lizz Westphal, Rescue Coordinator, Sacramento SPCA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 16, 2011

I wanted to find a non-profit organization I could donate to after the tragedy of 9/11. National Disaster Search Dog Foundation, Inc. was a perfect choice for me because I love the fact this organiza... more

October 17, 2012

SDF is the only organization in the United States that partners rescued dogs with firefighters and trains them at no cost to the government or tax-payers.
It's a win-win situation all the way. This organization receives no help what so ever from the Government.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted to find a non-profit organization I could donate to after the tragedy of 9/11. National Disaster Search Dog Foundation, Inc. was a perfect choice for me because I love the fact this organization is a double blessing in that first the dog is rescued, then people are rescued. SDF ensures lifetime care for every dog in their program. Once a rescued dog is accepted into SDF's program, that dog will never need to be rescued again. SDF's mission is to strengthen disaster response in America by recruiting rescued dogs and partnering them with firefighters and other first responders to find people buried alive in the wreckage of disasters. This organization also offers the professionally trained canines an ongoing training program at no cost to fire departments.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Thanks to Mutual Aid Agreements between counties, cities and states, these precious, life-saving resources can be shared regionally and nationally. I've personally witnessed this organization send first responders to help out during the Haiti earthquake as well. They also served in numerous disasters, including hurricanes, earthquakes, mud slides, train derailments and building collapses and ones closer to home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are currently 74 SDF-trained Search Teams located in CA, FL, NE, NY, OK, TX and UT. I hope the organization can continue to grow and prosper so they can help others and one day possibly be located in every state in this country.

October 9, 2012

I can not begin to express how the SDF has changed out lives. The people at the foundation are truly amazing. We adopted one of thier "retired" dogs and he changed our lives for ever. He is trully an amazing dog. The work that the SDF put into making sure he got adopted was just amazing. As we have gotten to know more about SDF we fall more in love with the dogs, team, and everything it represents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with the National Search Dog Foundation on and off for nearly 15 years. The Founder, Wilma Melville is truly an amazing person to have put together this incredibly worthy organization. The staff is small but are truly dedicated and give 110% willingly. For the funds to have been raised to make their ultimate goal of a national training center to come about is almost unbelievable. To be able to create a facility that will provide training for both the handlers (who are mostly firefighters) and the dogs at the same facility is absolutely ideal. I look forward to volunteering at the new training center and continuing to be a part of this amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 14, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 14, 2012

If I had more to give, or could personally give my time and effort to this group, I would. Without question, humble, smart, dedicated and extremely gracious for any and all support. SDF does not inundate you with immediate requests, instead, they thank you appropriately and communicate when the time is right and needed. It makes you feel like you are actually working with them and the dogs, and not just a check book for the day to day. I save my thank you letters with paw prints and actual hand notes and signatures. I only wish to never have to be face to face with one of the life saving teams they build, and in the event I'd be in a rescue needing that dedication, four paws, a wet nose, with one goal to work and save, would be awesome.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2012

more

September 6, 2012

The NSDF is an exceptional organization. Its commitment to rescuing dogs, partnered with first responders and trained to save lives is truly inspiring. In 2012, my husband and I became sponsors of two Search Teams in Texas. Our contribution has been so warmly and graciously acknowledged by both the corporate office and the Search Team handlers. We will continue to support the fine efforts of the NSDF and look forward to tracking the development of our Sponsoree Dogs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers