Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.984855
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I first became acquainted with the NDSDF about 2 years ago, when my family was looking to adopt a dog. Through petfinder.com, we discovered Buster, a black lab who had been adopted from a shelter by NDSDF 5 months earlier. Unfortunately, due to issues with his size (BIG!) and knee problems, he was put into their Lifetime Care program, where he is carefully placed in with a family for the remainder of his life. We adopted Buster in August 2012 and the NDSDF have been an incredible part of al our lives since then! They were great at making sure Buster was adjusting to "civilian" life, helping with his double-knee surgery, and offering tremendous support all the way around.. It has been wonderful for us to learn about the mission of this amazing organization, and we love telling Buster - and NDSDF's story!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I was paired with Roxy 1 year ago, I never in a million years thought I'd be as happy as I am to get to work with her every day. Roxy was a stray in the Sacramento area, when someone found her and took her in, only to find that she had too much energy to be a normal pet. She was surrendered to a shelter, and as she was in line to be "put down", one of the great recruiters at the NDSDF found her to be a great fit as a search dog. She was taken to Gilroy, trained, and I was lucky enough to be paired with her. 10 months later, and with countless hours of training with the NDSDF staff and with other handlers in the Los Angeles area, we passed our certification test, so we can be ready to respond to any disaster.
The NDSDF is an incredible organization, that takes rescues formally discarded canines and trains them rescue men, women and children during these incredible disasters we only see on TV. Without the staff and volunteers at the NDSDF, Roxy would be wondering the streets of Sacramento, holed up in someones back yard, or worse yet, be put to sleep like the many other unclaimed pets in the country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first became acquainted with NSDF at an event in CA, where I got to meet a couple of handlers and dogs. I was so impressed by the organization that I followed it for years, subscribed to the newsletter, and watched it grow from afar, into a the wonderful, thriving organization it is today. Recently, I've become more engaged, by writing and volunteering and helping where I can, and can't express enough how exciting and fulfilling it is to be part of such a wonderful group of people doing such amazing things. When speaking with founder, Wilma Melville, her passion for NSDF is just so palpable. Her energy and the vision she has for the continued growth of the organization so that it can broaden its reach ever further, helping out more and more people at every possible opportunity, is infectious. I am continually proud and grateful to be a part in even a small way, of NSDF.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

I have had the honor and privilege of being a "part of the search" since its inception. It was amazing to hear Founder Wilma Melville describe the idea...her vision of what was to become the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation.
I have contributed to the foundation in anyway possible.
Volunteering, donating, transporting potential search dogs, answering phones... often right along side Wilma, or at least trying to keep up with her.
She is a humble hero and a visionary. Her commitment and perseverance to "rescuing dogs and turning them into rescuers" been an incredible journey. A journey that I am proud to continue to be a part of, as the searches continue and the Training Center becomes a reality

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

In 2006 I met Wilma (the founder of the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation) and I soon learned all about this wonderful organization. Being a dog lover and having just recently lost a dog Wilma mentioned the Lifetime Care Program. The next thing I knew we had adopted a dog trough the Lifetime Care program. Two years later we adopted another. I can't say enough good things about the whole experience and if we had room we would have more Lifetime Care Dogs.

As a result of getting to know Wilma and adopting two dogs from the organization I have volunteered at some of the events at the National Training Center and found things to be well organized and felt very welcome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I am proud to be a volunteer at SDF. This organization is dedicated to the end results- a successful search. All the staff a SDF are the best professionals in the field who make this non-profit work smoothly and efficeintly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
July 28, 2013

What can I do but echo all of the wonderful things that have already been said here? Like many others, I discovered SDF right after the Twin Towers attack while searching for an organization in need of support. For my late husband and I, both animal lovers, the dogs were the only bright spot in the incredibly disturbing footage of the disaster. Reports of bogus non-profits were already circulating, but SDF stood out like a shining star. I have since become a huge fan and, while my budget does not allow equally huge donations, I am still treated like donor royalty. I have worked in non-profits and know that staff is usually small with volunteers picking up a big part of the work load. It is always amazing and gratifying to receive such immediate, heartfelt and personal acknowledgement of my semi-annual donations and frequent feedback. I am privileged to have communicated via email with The Terrific Trio.....Wilma, Debra and Rhett......on a regular basis and consider them dear friends. What Wilma has accomplished continues to boggle the mind, and I'm sure she still hasn't peaked. SDF and its people are a class act. The organization should be used as the template for re-organizing existing non-profits and starting up new ones.
Juanita in NJ

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move to Santa Paula and become a daily volunteer!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013

more

July 25, 2013

I have been volunteering for the National Disaster Search Dog Foundation (NDSDF) for several years and have also donated on several occasions. This is an incredible organization! The staff members are dedicated professionals who are committed to disaster response and who are passionate about what they do. Wilma Melville, the founder, is very down-to-earth and visits the office and National Training Center (NTC) site on a regular basis. What she has accomplished in a relatively short period of time is truly mind boggling.........from NDSDF's inception in 1996 to breaking ground at the NTC in 2010. Debra Tosch, the director, is tireless in her pursuit of NDSDF's goals and is an enthusiastic and effective leader. The organization is small but impactful. I love the fact that NDSDF rescues dogs and then provides them with a purpose in life. Watching the search dogs in action is an amazing experience. Their energy is boundless. I could not have picked a better organization with which to volunteer. NDSDF is top-notch!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

You've got to see it to believe it. . . You've got to talk with the founder, a woman that at 65, had a dream to be more effective in rescuing people in disaster situations. . . to know how tremendously effective this relatively new program is in it's outreach, now receiving international requests as well, and without tax dollars. Most of the dogs in the program have been rescued from shelters themselves and are trained for 3 years to then become rescuers, heroes, ambassadors of life. . . You've got to see it to believe it. Well organized, highly efficient in outlay and true to purpose, the program trains dogs who are then GIVEN to firefighters and other search and rescue groups, WITHOUT CHARGE. You've got to see it to believe it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2013

The National Search Dog Foundation is committed to strengthening disaster response in America through the recruitment and training of search dog teams – it’s a mission that Woodmen of the World stands behind and supports, as we’ve been providing relief for natural disasters since 1900.

Every person that we came in contact with at the SDF shared a passion and love for the work they do – and that passion was passed to our associates, families and friends. We’ve been truly amazed at the talent and abilities of both the trainers and their search dogs! We look forward to seeing what great things they have planned for the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers