Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.894745
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My work with the Children's Research Center began in the 90s when we piloted Structured Decision Making in selected California counties. I was impressed with the quality of their research and their ability to work side by side with agencies and staff to implement systems that improved safety and reduced risk for children and families.
Today, now retired, I am happy to serve on the NCCD board of directors. This is an opportunity to be part of a team that has high standards for research and the ability to apply that research to improve programs across a variety of social systems that touch the lives of children and families, elderly, and youth and adults in justice programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am honored to serve on the NCCD Board – not only because of NCCD’s many past accomplishments, but because of its vision for the future and commitment to improving the lives of those who are often forgotten by society. The staff and leadership are extremely committed to improving the criminal and juvenile justice systems, adult protective services, and the child welfare system. I am inspired by NCCD's effective collaboration with advocates on the ground, and I am proud that its work with many jurisdictions has resulted in their use of best practices and the implementation of positive culture change that is leading to sustained improvements.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand offices to other states.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

NCCD provides leadership in research and advocacy to improve lives of at-risk kids, promote success in education and protect girls in the justice system. Their work leads to creating better futures for LGBT youth, ending prison rape, curbing gang and youth violence, finding successful anti-crime solutions, protecting vulnerable adults and pursuing justice that heals. The people of NCCD live the mission of the organization each and every day. It's not just their job, it's their life work. It's an amazing organization and I'm very proud to serve on the Board of Directors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

NCCD's work to advance restorative justice in the adult and juvenile justice arenas is some of the most innovative work out there to transform systems that rely too much on outdated notions of crime and punishment. NCCD staff are smart, dedicated, and passionate about creating lasting, systemic change that benefits all of society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I was a professional fundraising consultant for 20 years and worked with many social justice organizations. I was so impresssed with NCCD that I joined the Board in July of this year. NCCD is the p... more

October 22, 2013

NCCD recently held it's first Media for a Just Society Awards (MJS) event in San Francisco that recognized those journalists, filmmakers, authors and producers who raise public awareness of critical issues through their work. Through a film, article or documentary, the public had the opportunity to see how the mission of NCCD makes an impact on our society, and improves the systems that touch the lives of our children, families and communities. The MJS Awards are only one example of NCCD's commitment and work in social justice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a professional fundraising consultant for 20 years and worked with many social justice organizations. I was so impresssed with NCCD that I joined the Board in July of this year. NCCD is the premier research and policy non-profit making a difference in the juvenile justice system, LGBT youth in foster care, children exposed to violence, restorative justice, adult protective services and many more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

NCCD is a leader in our society for promoting social justice. This effort touches every part of our community and is makes a differance in the lives of children, girls, boys, women and men regardless of race, nationality or sexual orientation. Each member of the organization is committed to the highest standards of ethical conduct in our work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

NCCD is committed to working with the forgotten and the dispossessed of the criminal justice system. I am proud to be associated with them because the quality of their work is superb and, spoken simply, they are keeping kids out of jail. Led by the dynamic Alex Busansky, NCCD is a 108 year old organization that has transformed itself and become a modern 21st Century criminal justice reformer of a broken system.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The National Council on Crime and Deliquesncy (NCCD) is the premeier crime and delinquency not for profit policy and practice agency in the Country. For over 100 years, when crime issues are in vogue or forgotten, NCCD has been there bringing these issues to the public's attention.....and to the desks of the decision makers who can bring about the needed change. NCCD is the go to agency for all of these critical issues.....from capital punishment to the incarceration of minors in adult facilities, from the impact of social class, race and ethnicity on punishment to the conditions in our jail and prisions, NCCD has always been there. NCCD cares so deeply about issues that are often forgotten by the general public....NCCD is always thre!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a board member however I am also a client that was served by NCCD. NCCD was involved in a couple of projects involving the City of Oxnard addressing issues of gang and youth violence. NCCD was instrumental in the selection and training of the street outreach and gang intervention personnel. We could not have achieved our results without the expertise and guidance of NCCD. The NCCD staff are passionate about the services they provide. They engaged in the planning and implementation levels and develop relationships with the entity as well as the community stakeholders. NCCD was outstanding in assessing the local environment and the pulse of the community so the programming was tailored to address the problems in the City of Oxnard and not cookie cutter recommendations and strategies. I highly recommend NCCD and I am confident you will be very satisfied with your results.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers