Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.894745
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

NCCD offeres quality programming in many areas but it is their Restorative Justice Program that I know most about. NCCD is a leader in restorative justice programming and offers technical assistance to schools and other institutions who are seeking to implement RJ in their culture.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD) has played a key role in the juvenile justice reform efforts in Manitowoc County, Wisconsin. Manitowoc has relied heavily on NCCD's expertise in this area and we are pleased with the outcomes. NCCD's focus on research and evidence-based practices has helped shape many of the wonderful changes that Manitowoc County has implemented. Staff with NCCD are extremly knowledgable and receptive to the needs of the clients they work with. We have been working with NCCD for the past 3 years and plan to continue relying on them for support through our reform efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Quite honestly, I cannot think of any changes that I would suggest to NCCD.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

NCCD provides leadership in research and advocacy to improve lives of at-risk kids, promote success in education and protect girls in the justice system. Their work leads to creating better futures for LGBT youth, ending prison rape, curbing gang and youth violence, finding successful anti-crime solutions, protecting vulnerable adults and pursuing justice that heals. The people of NCCD live the mission of the organization each and every day. It's not just their job, it's their life work. It's an amazing organization and I'm very proud to serve on the Board of Directors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

NCCD's work to advance restorative justice in the adult and juvenile justice arenas is some of the most innovative work out there to transform systems that rely too much on outdated notions of crime and punishment. NCCD staff are smart, dedicated, and passionate about creating lasting, systemic change that benefits all of society.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

First introduced to NCCD via my collaboration with CRC in 2009, I've had the distinct honor of working with a whole crew of folks from the team in Madison (like Kathy & Raelene) in understanding and modernizing their set of decision making tools without deteriorating the validity or reliability of their process and research. Their adherence to best practice, concern for the welfare and well-being and children and paramount attention to details regularly epitomizes their goal and mission to keep children safe. They are an amazing organization with dedicated people who love their work and understand the importance of their jobs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to get them into more places.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

NCCD has expanded its focus to include elder abuse. Their work to extend the research on risk assessment and Structured Decision Making to the world of adult protective services is impressive and very helpful. NCCD hosts the quarterly webinars on elder abuse research-to-practice topics for the joint National Adult Protective Services Association/National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse Research Committee. The professional skill and willingness to contribute time and expertise have made these webinars the go-to place for both the audience and researchers seeking a way to connect their work to practice.
Carol Dayton, Co-Chair
NAPSA/NCPEA Research Committee

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

As a Minnesota county and state child protection manager, I have been a client of NCCD and the Children's Research Center for over 15 years. CRC provides tailored assessment tools for child protection workers assessing safety, risk and strengths and needs as well as other case management functions. They have always been very responsive to our policy and practice needs and have created state of the art toolscustomized for our use. Their products have always been of very high quality and delivered on time. CRC has also been available to train staff on the use of their Structured Decision Making tools and for consultation and technical assistance whenever requested. We trust the quality of their research and have contracted with CRC on many research efforts as well as for tool development. They are always professional and accessible and I would highly recommend NCCD and CRC to other Child Welfare organizations.

David Thompson
Child Protection Manager
Minnesota Department of Human Services

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

I was a professional fundraising consultant for 20 years and worked with many social justice organizations. I was so impresssed with NCCD that I joined the Board in July of this year. NCCD is the p... more

October 22, 2013

NCCD recently held it's first Media for a Just Society Awards (MJS) event in San Francisco that recognized those journalists, filmmakers, authors and producers who raise public awareness of critical issues through their work. Through a film, article or documentary, the public had the opportunity to see how the mission of NCCD makes an impact on our society, and improves the systems that touch the lives of our children, families and communities. The MJS Awards are only one example of NCCD's commitment and work in social justice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a professional fundraising consultant for 20 years and worked with many social justice organizations. I was so impresssed with NCCD that I joined the Board in July of this year. NCCD is the premier research and policy non-profit making a difference in the juvenile justice system, LGBT youth in foster care, children exposed to violence, restorative justice, adult protective services and many more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

NCCD has contracted with NH Department of Health and Human Services for a number of years and developed a series of assessments for the Adult Protective Services program. In addition to the assessments, NCCD developed a policy manual that is user-friendly and after several years of use is current and comprehensive. NH continues to work with NCCD in developing a research-based, valid and reliable risk assessment. NCCD is and has always been collaborative and responsive to any questions raised and any requests for information and/or consultation even when not directly related to the scope of the current contract.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have used tools generated by this agency in my work with adult offenders in the correctional system. Their tools are research based and help practitioners be more effective in improving community safety and supporting positive behavior changes in the lives ofthose in justice involved systems.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers