Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.894745
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been working with the National Council on Crime and Delinquency through Children’s Research Center (CRC) for close to seven years. My first exposure to CRC was through the use and support of the Structured Decision Making (SDM®) tools and SafeMeasures. The use of SafeMeasures and the SDM tools has increased the professionalism of the child welfare here and in other jurisdictions. As we have been so please with the partnership with CRC we have partnered with them on several reviews of our data including one where we examined the data and practice influencing the racial disproportionality of the population we serve. This and other reviews have helped us look honestly at our practice and determine the results of our efforts.
We have participated in pilot programs as tools have been developed. Through implementation and an open exchange of information and ideas, these experiences have been beneficial to the improvement of our practice as well and development of better tools.
Due to the respect we have for CRC and the nature of our relationship with them, when we looked to make a significant change in the core of our child welfare practice we wanted CRC at the table. The partnership has been outstanding and the practice changes implemented as a result has benefited our staff and the families we serve. We value the professional relationship we have with CRC and their staff and continue to work with them ongoing for the safety and wellbeing of the children and families we serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 13, 2014

more

April 13, 2014

The NCCD provides invaluable information to practitioners working in the field and the staff is kind, courteous, and friendly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I am working with NCCD as part of a collaborative team to get funding to develop design guidelines and a dedicated center for Restorative Justice. I have found working with both Sujatha Baliga and Nuri Nusrat to be exciting and generative for my work as a designer. I truly feel that one of NCCD's strengths is its capacity to embrace and support new ideas in the agency of social change. They are clearly committed to exploring the most robust holistic approach to helping communities implement restorative practices and I very much look forward to continuing our relationship in the years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The National Council on Crime and Delinquency NCCD has been instrumental in the way the Juvenile Justice Team works with juvenile offenders in Pierce County. Winnie Ore and her staff have been a phenomenal resource for us regarding the JAIS assessment tool. NCCD has assisted our County with implementing evidence-based practices to ensure our juveniles and families are receiving the appropriate supervision and services. The NCCD staff are easy to connect with and are always willing to assist us. We have worked with NCCD for 4 years and we look forward to their continued support in the work we do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes I would make to NCCD.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

We recently started working with Amy Cipolla-Stickles and NCCD as a management team to enhance our communication with each other, our staff, and the youth and families we serve. After our very first session, there was a marked difference in how we engaged with each other. We were given practical tools we can and are applying in every interaction. We all know and have acknowledged the road of change can get a bit bumpy, but with and through the support we are receiving, we're all in and excited! Thanks Amy & NCCD!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My work with the Children's Research Center began in the 90s when we piloted Structured Decision Making in selected California counties. I was impressed with the quality of their research and their ability to work side by side with agencies and staff to implement systems that improved safety and reduced risk for children and families.
Today, now retired, I am happy to serve on the NCCD board of directors. This is an opportunity to be part of a team that has high standards for research and the ability to apply that research to improve programs across a variety of social systems that touch the lives of children and families, elderly, and youth and adults in justice programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am honored to serve on the NCCD Board – not only because of NCCD’s many past accomplishments, but because of its vision for the future and commitment to improving the lives of those who are often forgotten by society. The staff and leadership are extremely committed to improving the criminal and juvenile justice systems, adult protective services, and the child welfare system. I am inspired by NCCD's effective collaboration with advocates on the ground, and I am proud that its work with many jurisdictions has resulted in their use of best practices and the implementation of positive culture change that is leading to sustained improvements.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand offices to other states.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

NCCD is the provider for our Risk Assessment Tools (JAIS and CAIS). NCCD has been a valuable resource with regard to evaluating our Department's needs, providing appropriate training, and advising on how to implement the use of the Risk Assessment Tools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes to recommend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have consulted with Sujatha Baliga multiple times on restorative justice issues, and I cannot say enough how helpful she has been. Not only does bring a high level of expertise, she also genuinely cares about each issue I present and takes the time to provide thoughtful and insightful responses. I know that she is pulled in a million different directions, yet she somehow takes the time to give me her individualized attention and advice. Restorative justice is a crucial component of fixing our broken criminal justice system, and it's laudable that NCCD has taken such leadership in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD) is the oldest criminal/juvenile justice research organization in the US. Over the years, in addition to outstanding research, they've initiated outstanding products that serve to provide informed insight and recommendations for; the criminal justice and juvenile justice systems , the child welfare system, advance the treatment of females in both systems and raise the level of conversations across systems.

The staff of the organization are diverse, very intelligent and committed to quality research for the purpose of making substantive, useful and informed systems change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers