Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.788735
Write A Review
October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have registered for a number of sites to obtain valuable and needed information to help my clients. The NCOA site has been by far the most helpful. The information that I have obtained is excellent. The webinar that I attended recently was just great. My only suggestion would be to make the power point slides available before the presentation, if at all possible. I, for one, like to make my notes on the slides and follow along with the presenter with slides in hand rather than just on the screen. (It probably is just that I am old school because I am a senior myself that I prefer to have the slides in hand.) But I really have nothing but good things to say about NCOA. Thank you for the work that you do to keep us informed.
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working closely with NCOA as we piloted the Aging Mastery Program. They are masterful, creative thinkers and the participants and staff of the Duxbury Senior Center have abundantly benefitted from their expertise!
September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Duxbury Senior Center and the community at large has been so fortunate to have been a recipient of the NCOA Aging Mastery Pilot Project Grant. This innovative program enabled seniors to make meaning changes in their health to enhance the overall quality of life. We look forward to working with NCOA on additional Aging Mastery Modules including Financial Mastery and Life Enrichment.

NCOA is a wonderful on-line resource for current information regarding trends, issues and programs for seniors. Thank you for making your website easy to use and full of useful information!
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The National Council on Aging (NCOA) is our go to agency for clear honest views on issues impacting older adults.

We trust the information they provide as it is always accrute and on target.

NCOA is not hesitant to jump on issues and explore options for resolution.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None to suggest.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As the Senior Program Director at the National Federation of Community Development Credit Unions I have had the distinct pleasure of working with NCOA on a program to bring economic security to low and moderate income aging around the country. The partnership has given me a unique perspective on NCOA's ability to reach seniors with high quality information and more importantly access to programs and services that make a real impact on people's lives such as BenefitCheckups. Their advocacy work also makes a dramatic difference in opportunities for the aging. NCOA is an accessible, experienced and effective organization and we are pleased to continue partnering with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

We are a funder that has invested in the work of the National Council on Aging for more than 30 years. We fund thousands of nonprofits, and NCOA stands out among them for its stellar performance. We are especially proud of NCOA's development of tools for nonprofit service providers and consumers to use in moving toward greater economic security. NCOA's BenefitsCheckUp has helped more than 3.6 million seniors gain more than $13.5 billion in benefits. Its newest tool, the Economic CheckUp will now be able to help seniors develop action plans and find resources to achieve greater retirement security. An investment in NCOA is an investment in a brighter future for older persons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the organization take to even greater scale its innovative services and tools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I receive a lot of good information on many topics affecting the elderly which helps me as a social worker in the field as well as an information and referral specialist.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am in the Financial Services industry and specialize in Elder care and Long Term Care Planning. I became aware of NCOA when Jim Fireman took over the reigns. Over the years, I have become more and more aware that NCOA provides a lot of good and timely information which can be very helpful. I share many of the articles with other professionals, clients, and seniors. The articles are not only well written, but easy to understand whether it is for a client or a professional.
NCOA has a lot to offer and needs to continue in being an advocate for the elderly.
On a personal note, My Dad, Walter Feldesman thought very highly of Jim Firman and NCOA that he donated the rights to his books Dictionary on Elder Care Terminology. It was Dad's hope that his contribution would be of some help in bringing further recognition to NCOA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are trying to make changes in getting their name more out there. WIthout sacrificing their integrity and independence, they need o bcome more vocal in the main stream.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

NCOA effectively responds to the essential needs of the aging population through strategic, long-range planning; national and community-based partnerships; advocacy; program development; and far-reaching dissemination of information for older adults and professionals. NCOA recognizes that many seniors struggle to maintain health, independence and economic security and through its mission-driven work seeks to improve the well-being of older people now and in the future. The organization is a respected national leader, but is also actively involved in local initiatives with public and private sector partners, including senior centers, healthcare providers and other aging services organizations such as AARP. The NCOA staff cares deeply about the individuals whose stories remind us that aging is never easy, and that aging without good health or enough money is nearly impossible. I am proud to be associated with NCOA as a member of the National Institute of Senior Centers, which it supports, and grateful for the ways programs like Benefits CheckUp have a positive impact in the lives of the people in my community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

let more people in local communities know about its services, programs and advocacy so more seniors could benefit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

NCOA provides a lot of good and timely information which can be very helpful. I share many of the articles with other professionals, clients, and seniors. The articles are written in easy to understand terminology and pertain to issues which are important for seniors and professionals to understand. Jim Ferman has taken this non-profit from a little known asset to a well known jewel. I certainly hope the funding continues for this worthwhile organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure to research how the Medicaid programs work in each state. Often times this site only provides info regarding Medically Needy states and not Categorically Eligible states. They should at least add a disclaimer noting the handful of states which are categorically eligible states, such as Colorado.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers