Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.788735
Write A Review
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My participation in the Senior Community Service Employment Program (SCSEP), a federally funded senior employment training program administered by the National Council on Aging (NCOA), implemented through our local Community Action Program, quite literally saved my life. As a married, working professional enjoying two incomes, feeling secure with a healthy retirement plan and personal savings, I never thought I'd find myself in a situation where I did not know where the money for my next meal would come from or how I would pay the bill to keep my electric on in the middle of one of the coldest winters in decades. Things happen. Life happens. Health problems, medical bills, the loss of my husband to cancer, a major down turn in the economy. I lost everything - my spouse, my home, my retirement that I had invested in a small business that I had to close when several larger, local companies closed and laid off workers. That's when I found NCOA - SCSEP. I became a staff participant in the program, earning enough to eat healthy and maintain safe living conditions. As a staff participant, I helped other seniors in similar situations obtain training, and through the many other related services and web-based tools provided by NCOA, such as resume building tools, job searches, free online job skill courses, and information about benefits available to seniors, helped many of our participants find permanent employment. As for me, my NCOA - SCSEP participatioin helped me to network, gain additional skills, and make contacts that led to a permanent position. I am back working in the profession I love. I now have a comfortable income and a renewed self-esteem and self worth. Thank you NCOA - SCSEP!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

Buncombe county did a horrible job serving my parents. They kept promising us help but never followed through. Many many phone call messages went unanswered. Even when I talked with the manager she never helped. My parents are nearly 80 years old and I am appalled at how they were treated.
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I learned through NCOA that I could be getting my medical expenses itemized and deducted for SNAp. I had fought for 2 years in my state but kept getting denied, being told that wasnt true. Finally, NCOA put in me in touch with advocates in my state who have been successfully fighting my case with me and helping me win my retroactive benefits and arranging my benefits going forward. The state has already settled several months worth of my case, but we are still having issues getting the rest settled so my advocate is still diligiently working with me and the people in the district and regional offices and on the apeals bureau to resolve it as quickly as possible. The first day I received the first portion of my settlement I went to the grocery store and was able to buy food and eat for the for the first time in a week! Without NCOA'a help, I dont think I would ever have been successful in winning my appeal even though I knew I was right. Thank you so much!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2012

more

December 7, 2012

I was a supervisor for a NCOA training site for about 10 years at a non profit organization working with homeless men and helped by assisting both seniors sent or those referred to get employment. Our non profit also hired two of our NCOA participants one to cook and act as front desk receptionist and the other to grade paperwork and help in keeping the client files. They both were excellent and dependable workers. After being laid off from the non profit I found myself in need of the services of NCOA's Program. They have allowed me to get formal computer training, to take and assist in job rediness classes as well as take advantage of TBE Training that I would not have been able to afford to have attended. Being in this program has helped me keep my house because I lost my job of 15 years being over 55 and legally blind it is difficult to find employment. This program is essential in giving low income seniors the need training and support needed to compete in future employment. I consider myself a lifetime learner and love this program for it does. Thanks to Brenda Head and all Middle Tennessee NCOA that serves 15 counties in Tennessee and thanks to the National Office who assures that many communities can better support low income seniors who must continue to work to support themselves. They do a great job.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

NCOA is the "go to" organization for all things related so seniors and health insurance for elders and the disabled. They are involved in food security, economic security, housing, wellness and a host of other issues, including health insurance and public benefits, that can be of assistance. Benefits CheckUp is a great resource.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers