Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.785715
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was out of work due to the recent recession and age 57.I contacted the local National council on Aging.This office as located in the same building as the unemployment office.I was set up with a local business as a volunteer but the National Council on Aging paid me minimum wage for 20 hours per week.This office is located in Rocky Mount,NC.I gave the location because it was the most unethical govt program I have ever had to deal with.I saw first hand where these funds received from the govt went into the administrator and friends pockets.Phony reports were filed to Washington.They did what ever they wanted with the money.The money from that program was used for everything except the intended purpose.
I am very disappointed with this program at the local level and in Washington.I tried to call the local administrator and called Washington DC office and was lied to.They set up meetings with me and others which they did not even bother to show up for.I guess it was just to get me off the phone.The lesson here is you do not have to account for federal funds used.You can use them anyway you chose.
October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

NCOA is the only national organization focusing on improving the lives of older adults through the strengthening of senior centers, their programs and staff through its National Institute of Senior Centers. NCOA provides access to information on national trends, research and public policy. NCOA's assistance is vital to those serving older adults in this time of dwindling resources. NCOA offers incredibly valuable resources in their evidence based programs, public policy updates, e-newsletters, on-line community Crossroads, and senior center accreditation program, Building Excellence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more senior centers involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

For sixty years the National Council on Aging has been improving the health and economic well being of seniors. It is a trusted voice among policy makers and has the wisdom to provide solutions to the many challenges seniors face. It provides innovative programs to help seniors stay active, live independently and get the skills and resources to improve their own quality of life. Every year, more than 500,000 people benefit from these services and stay health and save money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have worked with and volunteerted for or been a member of the NCOA for over 15 years. Their knowledge base, the staff expertise and engagement, the willingness to speak up and out about issues, the training, connecting and communications are all reasons why i continue to be involved. The resources they bring to Senior Centers, agencies serving seniors and seniors themselves are a valuable assest to us all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

My 11 years working part-time with NCOA , as Director of the National Interfaith Coalition on Aging, were very satisfying. NCOA provides an ideal setting for stafff being: 2) inspired by the philosophy, vision, and accomplishments of the organization as a whole, 2) revarded by satisfaction of accomplishments when we shared knowledge about spirituality and spiritual-well-being through national renowed speakers via annual Wingspread Programs and several nation-wide webinars--reaching from Alaska to the west and east coasts of the U.S, and 3) empowered to lead in a milieu of freedom for leadership in collaboration with faith-based community leaders throughout the U.S.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers