Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.785715
| 1 ... 5 6 7 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I can say that having these emails come from National Council on Aging has been a great help to me in helping me settle into my new position at public housing. I am a Resident Service Coordinator and I provide our residents with resources to help them out, help them fill out documentation and provide events for socialization, health and wellness. With the information provided by this wonderful site, I feel better empowered to deliver the right information. The webinars they also provide give me a better understanding of issues that are faced by my residents every day.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012

more

December 11, 2012

NCOA's "Promising Practices" website helped my agency develop a successful benefits outreach campaign. Because of NCOA, that campaign became a "Promising Practice" of its own!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 7, 2012

more

December 7, 2012

I was a supervisor for a NCOA training site for about 10 years at a non profit organization working with homeless men and helped by assisting both seniors sent or those referred to get employment. Our non profit also hired two of our NCOA participants one to cook and act as front desk receptionist and the other to grade paperwork and help in keeping the client files. They both were excellent and dependable workers. After being laid off from the non profit I found myself in need of the services of NCOA's Program. They have allowed me to get formal computer training, to take and assist in job rediness classes as well as take advantage of TBE Training that I would not have been able to afford to have attended. Being in this program has helped me keep my house because I lost my job of 15 years being over 55 and legally blind it is difficult to find employment. This program is essential in giving low income seniors the need training and support needed to compete in future employment. I consider myself a lifetime learner and love this program for it does. Thanks to Brenda Head and all Middle Tennessee NCOA that serves 15 counties in Tennessee and thanks to the National Office who assures that many communities can better support low income seniors who must continue to work to support themselves. They do a great job.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have worked with and volunteerted for or been a member of the NCOA for over 15 years. Their knowledge base, the staff expertise and engagement, the willingness to speak up and out about issues, the training, connecting and communications are all reasons why i continue to be involved. The resources they bring to Senior Centers, agencies serving seniors and seniors themselves are a valuable assest to us all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

I have been associated with the National Council on Aging for the past 15 years. As a member and as a participant on committees, working on older adult issues and concerns. The organization has always been extremely professional and committed to improving the lives of older adults. I have been able to bring back information, programs and opportunities not only to my senior center but to others throughout the state of Wisconsin. Older adults in Wisconsin have benefited from the activities and programs that NCOA has offered. Senior Centers have been especially fortunate to have national accreditation offered through the NCOA and it's National Institute of Senior Centers (NISC). The Middleton Senior Center has been nationally accredited for the past 9 years. Personally, I am proud and pleased to be an active participant in the National Council on Aging and feel the experiences I've had have made me a better aging professional.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

NOCA has transformed our agency, as well as me personally. Several years ago NCOA approached our agency to take over one of their direct service contracts, and since then our partnership has deepened. NCOA has taught our direct service organization how to advocate on a local, state, and national level, which has greatly transformed our sphere of influence. On a personal level, I believe NCOA is leading the field of aging, by amassing such tremendous thinkers who will transform systems and change our world much for the better.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

As the CEO of an agency serving seniors, for many years I found NCOA to be a valuable resource, a supportive advocate, a center for education and training, and an important partner to organizations concerned with the welfare of the elderly. NCOA provides a link to new approaches to programs and services and, most importantly, offers community based organizations a voice in public policy discussion and advocacy.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

During the nearly 33 years that I have been committed to the National Council on Aging, I have seen first-hand its transformation from a good organization to a great organization. I strongly echo the comments made by previous reviewers and would like to add yet another aspect of NCOA's far-reaching impact: it serves as the headquarters of the National Institute of Senior Centers (NISC). NISC is the only national organization that works to strengthen over 11,000 senior centers (serving over 1 million older adults daily) through national standards and accreditation, promising practices, research, advocacy, and professional development activities. Ralph Waldo Emerson once said that "nothing was ever achieved without enthusiasm." Let me assure you that the NCOA Board of Directors, senior management and staff, and volunteers are enthusiastic and passionate about NCOA. We are enthusiastic and passionate about our mission, our core values, our core competencies, our designated impact areas, and our strategic priorities. Thinking big and collaborating are parts of our culture. NCOA is an exceptional organization that is making a BIG difference in the world by improving the lives of millions of older adults and their families. That's why I invite everyone interested to visit the NCOA website, including the NISC pages, to find out more. As an annual financial contributor, current member and a past chair of the board of directors, and a past chairperson of the National Institute of Senior Centers, I wholeheartedly believe in the vital work of NCOA and am pleased to submit my testimonial in support of NCOA as a Great Nonprofit. Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

NCOA is is an unusual non-profit rganization on the national scene. It is one of the few, perhaps only, national leadership organization that does the following things at the same time: generate policy oriented leadership focussed primarily on low and moderate income older people; develop service and support startegies that atually enhance access to support for older people and persons with disabliities in a way that assertively reaches out to partnering organizations touch people's lives directly; do this work in partenership with locally based organizations all around the country, which greatly enhances awareness and effectiveness becasue of their oal knowledge and visibility; learns from these local partners what services actually work and which don't, which also enriches NCOA's capacity to understand policy and its implications on "real people"; and it oursues this mission with passion and integrity that leads people to rely on NCOA as a trusted source of innovation and partnership at the national level. Finally, it does all of this not in service of a particualr group of providers or specific group of professionals. it does it becasue it needs to be done. i am proud to be associated with it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

For over 60 years, NCOA has had a fire in its belly for its mission: “to improve the lives of millions of older adults, especially those who are vulnerable and disadvantaged." NCOA's longevity and effectiveness can be attributed to its particular strength in three areas: commitment to its mission, organizational DNA that’s wired for innovation, and ardent advocacy on behalf of disadvantaged elders.
* Mission: Struggling seniors are an all-too-often overlooked segment of American society. NCOA’s programs have a profound impact on this group by bringing jobs, benefits, food security, health self-management and more directly to the people. NCOA has not faltered in its focus; it is a mission-oriented nonprofit.
* Innovation: Not content to keep doing programs as they’ve always been done, NCOA’s genius lies in its commitment to innovation, to figuring out new and better ways to bring more jobs, more benefits, more self-management skills, more food security and a host of other much-needed services to the people who need them. Just one example among many is the online BenefitsCheckUp that helps connect low-income seniors with government benefits that they qualify for.
* Advocacy: NCOA is a tireless advocate for struggling older adults who live in hard economic times. To help the voiceless be heard, NCOA launched the brilliant videobased “One Away” campaign to bring attention to elders who live one misfortune away from calamity.
NCOA is a mission-oriented, results-driven organization making a big difference in the lives of older Americans. This country needs NCOA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers