Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.909095
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

NCOA is a excellent national non-profit that works to improve the lives of seniors. They are innovative thinkers that realize the although someone is older that does not mean they should be tossed aside and forgotten. They work diligently to improve the lives of seniors that want to keep working or who want to enjoy retirement. I am especially in awe of their benefits check-up program. This is truly a game changer for many low-income seniors. Many are not aware of the additional resources available to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More people need to know about the great work that NCOA does. Need to find a way to spread their message even further.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

The National Council on Aging advocates for seniors. By doing this they help make people around the country aware of the issues facing today's senior citizens.
They help create paths for seniors to access benefits to improve their lives through their Economic Security Initiative. They help
train older adults with market viable job skills to help them re-enter the workforce and contribute to their communities.
NCOA has innovative ideas, like their Chronic Disease Self-Management Program, that help older adults deal with the day to day pressures of living with chronic illness.
They create user friendly tools, like the Benefits Check-up system to help seniors navigate the complex and often confusing world of benefits.
There are few organizations that advocate for and work with seniors with such tenacity. NCOA has a dedicated staff of people who truly believe in what they are doing. The CEO, Jim Firman is a man of vision, but also of action. Any senior that has been involved with NCOA is better for it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would bring in more people who share the same passion for innovative thinking that NCOA demonstrates. I would work toward goals of self employment for seniors that can't seem to find their way into the job market.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

NCOA's work impacts the neighborhood level needs and concerns of our nation's seniors by taking national trends and creating/innovating solutions with local level partners. It is this steadfast commitment to shared leadership and partnerships that motivates my continued involvement with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want more American's to know the great work NCOA does to improve our lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I have been associated with this organization for fifty years in one way or another. It plays an important intermediary role in the field aging between and among government, agencies serving older persons directly, other age related agencies and older persons. It has flourished through the years since it has kept its "eye on the ball" in using its resources, material and moral, to further the well being of the most frail maintaining a virtually unique role in the field since it is perceived as having no agenda or compromising activities that detract from its mission. It is highly effect in its stated mission of enhancing the lives of older persons especially the most vulnerable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it better known and attempt to enlarge its base of support

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

NCOA routinely examines a variety of issues impacting retirees and devises clever solutions. An example would be the refinements they've brought to the area of reverse mortgage counseling. They have developed helpful tools such as benefits checkup and a financial interview tool that helps counselors collect information from clients and advise them on applicable programs that might be helpful as well as whether or not a reverse mortgage might be a useful tool for the individual's particular circumstances.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure it had adequate funding to carry out its important work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

NCOA is the only national organization focusing on improving the lives of older adults through the strengthening of senior centers, their programs and staff through its National Institute of Senior Centers. NCOA provides access to information on national trends, research and public policy. NCOA's assistance is vital to those serving older adults in this time of dwindling resources. NCOA offers incredibly valuable resources in their evidence based programs, public policy updates, e-newsletters, on-line community Crossroads, and senior center accreditation program, Building Excellence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more senior centers involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

For sixty years the National Council on Aging has been improving the health and economic well being of seniors. It is a trusted voice among policy makers and has the wisdom to provide solutions to the many challenges seniors face. It provides innovative programs to help seniors stay active, live independently and get the skills and resources to improve their own quality of life. Every year, more than 500,000 people benefit from these services and stay health and save money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2012

NCOA is the "google" of national aging organizations. It is outstanding in its ability to think strategically about the marketplace and develop tools and resources to meet the needs of older adults. T... more

October 21, 2013

NCOA is the most innovative, thoughtful and responsive organization in the field of aging. When the recession hit, NCOA was the first to respond with a strong national initiative that has transformed the lives of numerous older adults- resulting in policy change and iinnovative programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it to more effectively diversify its funding sources.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

NCOA is the "google" of national aging organizations. It is outstanding in its ability to think strategically about the marketplace and develop tools and resources to meet the needs of older adults. There is a true passion for collaboration, and its leadership-board and staff, extremely adept at aligning resources effectively to achieve maximum social impact.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

NCOA has its finger on the pulse of the needs of America's seniors and their families. Their innovations and interventions are practical, but reflect a solid understanding of the science of aging and the issues in eldercare public policy. As a trustee of the Retirement Research Foundation, which funds some of their projects, I was blown away when they presented their new software to the RRF board. This program identifies eligibility for supportive programs in employment, housing, income, nutrition, socialization, and transportation will be a powerful tool in the hands of these community-based advocates. In the hands of community eldercare advocates and families, this resource will be life-changing for seniors and for middle-age caregivers who risk their own poverty ( and lack of health insurance) when they have to come out of the workforce to give care. If these caregivers can identify more extensive eldercare resources, they might be able to stay in the workforce long enough to stabilize their own golden years.

NCOA is an essential bridge between all of the stakeholders in aging today.

Cheryl E. Woodson, MD, FACP, AGSF

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them wider exposure with churches, Quality Improvement Organizations, and other community-based networks that promote better health and more appropriate use of health care resources around the country. Many healthcare issues begin with socioeconomic challenges and I believe NCOA's software can help. I would also increase their visibility with more community organizations that support seniors and caregivers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

We were one of several organizations fortunate to partner with NCOA to launch a program that provided holistic, person-centered economic case management. Evaluation of the pilots demonstrated that low income seniors accessed benefits and gained greater economic security as a result of this innovative program model. We saw the difference in the lives of the seniors we touched.

NCOA is a thought leader in aging policy, practice and partnerships. I have deep respect for the staff I've encountered and the work they do for vulnerable seniors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding and support so that the hardworking staff are not streched too thin.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers