Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.788735
Write A Review
October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Jewish Council for the Aging of Greater Washington, DC is proud to be an NCOA member because we know NCOA to be a valuable, go-to resource for information and advocacy on aging. Thank you, NCOA!
October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have registered for a number of sites to obtain valuable and needed information to help my clients. The NCOA site has been by far the most helpful. The information that I have obtained is excellent. The webinar that I attended recently was just great. My only suggestion would be to make the power point slides available before the presentation, if at all possible. I, for one, like to make my notes on the slides and follow along with the presenter with slides in hand rather than just on the screen. (It probably is just that I am old school because I am a senior myself that I prefer to have the slides in hand.) But I really have nothing but good things to say about NCOA. Thank you for the work that you do to keep us informed.
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I have had the pleasure of working closely with NCOA as we piloted the Aging Mastery Program. They are masterful, creative thinkers and the participants and staff of the Duxbury Senior Center have abundantly benefitted from their expertise!
September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Duxbury Senior Center and the community at large has been so fortunate to have been a recipient of the NCOA Aging Mastery Pilot Project Grant. This innovative program enabled seniors to make meaning changes in their health to enhance the overall quality of life. We look forward to working with NCOA on additional Aging Mastery Modules including Financial Mastery and Life Enrichment.

NCOA is a wonderful on-line resource for current information regarding trends, issues and programs for seniors. Thank you for making your website easy to use and full of useful information!
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

Buncombe county did a horrible job serving my parents. They kept promising us help but never followed through. Many many phone call messages went unanswered. Even when I talked with the manager she never helped. My parents are nearly 80 years old and I am appalled at how they were treated.
September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was out of work due to the recent recession and age 57.I contacted the local National council on Aging.This office as located in the same building as the unemployment office.I was set up with a local business as a volunteer but the National Council on Aging paid me minimum wage for 20 hours per week.This office is located in Rocky Mount,NC.I gave the location because it was the most unethical govt program I have ever had to deal with.I saw first hand where these funds received from the govt went into the administrator and friends pockets.Phony reports were filed to Washington.They did what ever they wanted with the money.The money from that program was used for everything except the intended purpose.
I am very disappointed with this program at the local level and in Washington.I tried to call the local administrator and called Washington DC office and was lied to.They set up meetings with me and others which they did not even bother to show up for.I guess it was just to get me off the phone.The lesson here is you do not have to account for federal funds used.You can use them anyway you chose.
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The National Council on Aging (NCOA) is our go to agency for clear honest views on issues impacting older adults.

We trust the information they provide as it is always accrute and on target.

NCOA is not hesitant to jump on issues and explore options for resolution.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None to suggest.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As the Senior Program Director at the National Federation of Community Development Credit Unions I have had the distinct pleasure of working with NCOA on a program to bring economic security to low and moderate income aging around the country. The partnership has given me a unique perspective on NCOA's ability to reach seniors with high quality information and more importantly access to programs and services that make a real impact on people's lives such as BenefitCheckups. Their advocacy work also makes a dramatic difference in opportunities for the aging. NCOA is an accessible, experienced and effective organization and we are pleased to continue partnering with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

NCOA facilitates an incredible network of aging advocacy organizations and service providers that represent a broad cross-section of the country. Specifically their research and advocacy work on older Americans dealing with the economic crisis and their work during the electoral season (and the subsequent political analysis that followed) has proven to be invaluable to other organizations in the field. Their ability to do these things while also convening other organizations has been a true testament to their leadership in the sector.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

We are a funder that has invested in the work of the National Council on Aging for more than 30 years. We fund thousands of nonprofits, and NCOA stands out among them for its stellar performance. We are especially proud of NCOA's development of tools for nonprofit service providers and consumers to use in moving toward greater economic security. NCOA's BenefitsCheckUp has helped more than 3.6 million seniors gain more than $13.5 billion in benefits. Its newest tool, the Economic CheckUp will now be able to help seniors develop action plans and find resources to achieve greater retirement security. An investment in NCOA is an investment in a brighter future for older persons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the organization take to even greater scale its innovative services and tools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers