Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.771935
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

Buncombe county did a horrible job serving my parents. They kept promising us help but never followed through. Many many phone call messages went unanswered. Even when I talked with the manager she never helped. My parents are nearly 80 years old and I am appalled at how they were treated.
September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was out of work due to the recent recession and age 57.I contacted the local National council on Aging.This office as located in the same building as the unemployment office.I was set up with a local business as a volunteer but the National Council on Aging paid me minimum wage for 20 hours per week.This office is located in Rocky Mount,NC.I gave the location because it was the most unethical govt program I have ever had to deal with.I saw first hand where these funds received from the govt went into the administrator and friends pockets.Phony reports were filed to Washington.They did what ever they wanted with the money.The money from that program was used for everything except the intended purpose.
I am very disappointed with this program at the local level and in Washington.I tried to call the local administrator and called Washington DC office and was lied to.They set up meetings with me and others which they did not even bother to show up for.I guess it was just to get me off the phone.The lesson here is you do not have to account for federal funds used.You can use them anyway you chose.
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

The National Council on Aging (NCOA) is our go to agency for clear honest views on issues impacting older adults.

We trust the information they provide as it is always accrute and on target.

NCOA is not hesitant to jump on issues and explore options for resolution.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None to suggest.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

As the Senior Program Director at the National Federation of Community Development Credit Unions I have had the distinct pleasure of working with NCOA on a program to bring economic security to low and moderate income aging around the country. The partnership has given me a unique perspective on NCOA's ability to reach seniors with high quality information and more importantly access to programs and services that make a real impact on people's lives such as BenefitCheckups. Their advocacy work also makes a dramatic difference in opportunities for the aging. NCOA is an accessible, experienced and effective organization and we are pleased to continue partnering with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

NCOA facilitates an incredible network of aging advocacy organizations and service providers that represent a broad cross-section of the country. Specifically their research and advocacy work on older Americans dealing with the economic crisis and their work during the electoral season (and the subsequent political analysis that followed) has proven to be invaluable to other organizations in the field. Their ability to do these things while also convening other organizations has been a true testament to their leadership in the sector.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

We are a funder that has invested in the work of the National Council on Aging for more than 30 years. We fund thousands of nonprofits, and NCOA stands out among them for its stellar performance. We are especially proud of NCOA's development of tools for nonprofit service providers and consumers to use in moving toward greater economic security. NCOA's BenefitsCheckUp has helped more than 3.6 million seniors gain more than $13.5 billion in benefits. Its newest tool, the Economic CheckUp will now be able to help seniors develop action plans and find resources to achieve greater retirement security. An investment in NCOA is an investment in a brighter future for older persons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the organization take to even greater scale its innovative services and tools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I receive a lot of good information on many topics affecting the elderly which helps me as a social worker in the field as well as an information and referral specialist.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I am in the Financial Services industry and specialize in Elder care and Long Term Care Planning. I became aware of NCOA when Jim Fireman took over the reigns. Over the years, I have become more and more aware that NCOA provides a lot of good and timely information which can be very helpful. I share many of the articles with other professionals, clients, and seniors. The articles are not only well written, but easy to understand whether it is for a client or a professional.
NCOA has a lot to offer and needs to continue in being an advocate for the elderly.
On a personal note, My Dad, Walter Feldesman thought very highly of Jim Firman and NCOA that he donated the rights to his books Dictionary on Elder Care Terminology. It was Dad's hope that his contribution would be of some help in bringing further recognition to NCOA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think they are trying to make changes in getting their name more out there. WIthout sacrificing their integrity and independence, they need o bcome more vocal in the main stream.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

National Council on Aging is a great partner for us. NCOA helps the Bank of America Charitable Foundation support the well being of older adults in our communities. NCOA has created lessons to help seniors manage their finances and avoid scams. We appreciate that NCOA is an advocate for our older population and their specfic needs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

NCOA effectively responds to the essential needs of the aging population through strategic, long-range planning; national and community-based partnerships; advocacy; program development; and far-reaching dissemination of information for older adults and professionals. NCOA recognizes that many seniors struggle to maintain health, independence and economic security and through its mission-driven work seeks to improve the well-being of older people now and in the future. The organization is a respected national leader, but is also actively involved in local initiatives with public and private sector partners, including senior centers, healthcare providers and other aging services organizations such as AARP. The NCOA staff cares deeply about the individuals whose stories remind us that aging is never easy, and that aging without good health or enough money is nearly impossible. I am proud to be associated with NCOA as a member of the National Institute of Senior Centers, which it supports, and grateful for the ways programs like Benefits CheckUp have a positive impact in the lives of the people in my community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

let more people in local communities know about its services, programs and advocacy so more seniors could benefit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers