Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

I work on the Women Helping Women Services Counseling Talkline funded entirely by NCJW. It is a free community service where we talke to callers for up to one hour or more if necessary about their problems with work, child rearing, domestic violence, suicidal thoughts, financial problems, homelessness, etc. To my knowledge they are one of the few organizations that spend unlimited time on the phone with a caller and also have virtually free unlimited one on one in person counseling with trained and licensed social workers. They also have extensive counseling groups in schools, shelters and agencies where these services are needed. Women Helping Children services are also very responsive to children's needs and their Advocacy programs are outstanding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

NCJW LA makes such a difference in Los Angeles. They provide vital time and support to children in need helping them with their homework and practicing art and reading. When LA is closing it's school libraries, NCJW is still there supporting the children and making a difference. I have never seen an organization as involved with the school system.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2011

I have been an NCJW/LA member and have volunteered in the Alexandria House after-school program for over 6 years. Now I'm also involved in many other NCJW/LA programs. In short, NCJW/LA has created... more

June 6, 2012

It has been both satisfying and frustrating working to advance the wonderful programs of NCJW/LA -- satisfying because often, I can see how my effort will benefit a woman and/or a child. The benefit may be small but it is there. For example, preparing food packages for the elderly homebound; reading to a child at an elementary school library (which library would otherwise be non-functioning without NCJW/LA volunteer support); tutoring a 3rd grader struggling with her arithmetic. What is frustrating is that so many families are so underserved by a City that is patently failing them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2011

I have been an NCJW/LA member and have volunteered in the Alexandria House after-school program for over 6 years. Now I'm also involved in many other NCJW/LA programs. In short, NCJW/LA has created well-thought-out, compassionate, beautifully run programs for women, children and families that understand and respond directly and immediately to the community's needs. I'm proud to be part of this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

If I can help just one person or one family for one day or one week, at least I'm doing something. There is so much need out there that we can't do everything for everyone. But it's important to give back in one's own way to women and children at risk whose lives are in flux.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to encourage more young people to get involved. It may be just donating a pair of jeans or getting a great deal on a bracelet or a lamp or a sweater at one of NCJW/LA's 9 amazing thrift shops around the city. Because of the wide variety of programs, people can participate in a way that they're comfortable with.

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have been on NCJW/LA talk line as a volunteer for many years along with our scholarship program for giving women a chance and opportunity to further their education. I can say that since I have become involved with NCJW/LA I have fulfillment in my life in making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2011

NCJW supports Artpals, a program that teaches 3rd graders in the San Fernando Valley about contemporary art. I've worked with this program for about 6 years and it is fantastic! Through interactive le... more

June 5, 2012

I volunteer for Artpals, a program that teaches lessons on contemporary art to 3rd & 4th graders in the San Fernando Valley. NCJW has generously supported this fantastic program for many years. Without NCJW many children would not have the experience of learning about & participating in the world of contemporary art. We teach them how to analyze a work of art, along with the accompanying vocabulary. Each lesson includes a participatory project. I have done this for 7 years but the program is approximately 20 years old. I am grateful to NCJW for supporting us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2011

NCJW supports Artpals, a program that teaches 3rd graders in the San Fernando Valley about contemporary art. I've worked with this program for about 6 years and it is fantastic! Through interactive lectures, visuals, & hands-on projects, children learn to analyze & understand how & why artists make their work. They get to see & experience art that they would not be exposed to otherwise. They also experience a field trip to a museum. Artpals volunteers help & support the children in their learning & the children love the program!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have found the Artpals personally very rewarding. It's exciting to see the children respond to the art. Because we offer one-on-one help with the projects, we get to know the children & they get to know us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be great if Artpals could be expanded to more schools or other grades.

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

I participate in an NCHW/LA program called "Art Pals" Each week, our team of 5 women teach basic concepts of contemporary art to 3rd grade classes of disadvantaged children in Los Angeles. We use descriptive vocabulary, books, slides and hands-on projects to introduce our students to a new world of line, color, shape, texture and mood. The culmination of our program is a field trip to a local gallery or art museum where our students can experience the work of nationally known artists. NCJW/LA provides all materials and transportation for this program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

As a committed feminist and a liberal Jew, I find NCJW to be an amazing organization. I am impressed with their community oriented outlook, caring about women and children issues in the community at large, the world actually. From delivering cloths to needy before Christmas, advocacy and support on a daily basis for people and caring so much about the political and social environment in which we live. NCJW has bright and dedicated women. staff and volunteers who want to improve life and options for women and bring change into our society, and their "newer" preparation of a women conference is indeed to be lauded.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2011

more

April 18, 2011

I am a reader at an elementary school, I read books to first graders every Monday and help them in the library. The idea is to foster interest in reading at an early age.
This experience has been priceless. The kids are bright, engaging, adorable and very original thinkers. They seem to
have a lot of support from the school/their teachers even though the school is not wealthy and the class sizes are medium to large-ish.
It has been a overwhelmingly fulfilling to get to know these kids for one hour once a week. When you see them engaged in a story, practically holding their breath to hear what will happen next, it's a powerful, positive and hopeful experience. No one has told them that no one reads books anymore!
Besides listening to the stories, I encourage the kids to interact: we talk about the choices for the characters in the book, and what they think might happen, etc. These interactions are phenomenal, as the kids display such lively and unique imaginations.
The opportunity to volunteer in this way has changed my life. I am even exploring ways to get more involved.
The NCJW has done a tremendous job of organizing this program. They are always available, they notify you of any changes in a timely manner and they even make the effort to thank all the volunteers with a luncheon. I feel as though I should be thanking them!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the positive difference each volunteer at this school has made to each of the kids.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish I could think of something, since one can always improve, however, my experience has been so terrific, nothing is coming to mind.

April 14, 2011

more

April 14, 2011

I volunteer in the Alexandria House Teen Center. They provide a safe place for teens to get help with homework, hang out and enjoy enrichment activities. I enjoy helping the students develop an appreciation for art, writing and etiquette. The NCJWLA organization does so many great things for low income families in Los Angeles.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching students build their self-efficacy by attending poetry events, writing poetry and creating art for an art show at a local cafe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recruit more artists and dance volunteers. The teens have expressed interest in hip hop dance, singing, acting, drawing, painting and other creative endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I learned a lot from the teens and their honesty. They help me understand what is important in many situations.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Fortunate and inspired

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 12, 2011

more

April 12, 2011

I volunteer with NCJW because they are doing some of the most amazing work in our community. They have so many programs that are helping women and children in Los Angeles and I feel like they are able to organize volunteers so that we can effectively serve our community.
I tutor adolescent
girls at a community funded alternative school one day a week and it is always one of the highlights of my week! I would never have even known about this wonderful program or that I could help without the NCJW. I'm proud to be part of a great team doing awesome work in our community!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We are helping young women graduate high school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Recruit more volunteers.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help keep libraries open, tutor teen moms, assist children with their homework, tutor children in homeless shelters, teach art Volunteer