Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

I work on the Women Helping Women Services Counseling Talkline funded entirely by NCJW. It is a free community service where we talke to callers for up to one hour or more if necessary about their problems with work, child rearing, domestic violence, suicidal thoughts, financial problems, homelessness, etc. To my knowledge they are one of the few organizations that spend unlimited time on the phone with a caller and also have virtually free unlimited one on one in person counseling with trained and licensed social workers. They also have extensive counseling groups in schools, shelters and agencies where these services are needed. Women Helping Children services are also very responsive to children's needs and their Advocacy programs are outstanding.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012

more

July 5, 2012

This is a wonderful charity and has helped me a lot. I have a very limited income and cannot afford many clothes. Being able to go to the annual free clothes give away has been very helpful. Again Thank you for caring!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

When my daughter was nine years old, she started hearing bells ringing in her ears.I became very concerned. Called my Pediatrician who examined her and said that there was nothing wrong physically. He suggested finding some psychological help for her. I taught in the high school across the street from the NCJW/LA facility.I called and asked if they did counseling. They said "Yes". I quickly made an appointment for my daughter. We were assigned to a great psychologist whohelped her and our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

NCJW LA makes such a difference in Los Angeles. They provide vital time and support to children in need helping them with their homework and practicing art and reading. When LA is closing it's school libraries, NCJW is still there supporting the children and making a difference. I have never seen an organization as involved with the school system.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I feel so lucky to work at NCJW/LA, one of the only social service agencies in town that has been able to expand services, while so many programs are being cut. With so many people in need, it is incredibly gratifying to be able to offer such high quality, long-term therapy to strengthen adults, children and families who are struggling. It's inspiring to have so many passionate and compassionate volunteers offer their time and support on our Counseling Talkline. And it's invigorating to have the opportunity to train new social workers who are so committed to making a difference in the community. NCJW/LA has the most passionate, talented and dedicated staff, interns and volunteers in the city... And I'm the envy of all my social work colleagues, because I get to work with such amazing people, to work for an organization that truly exemplifies the values of social welfare, and to put my ideals into practice every single day.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2011

I have been an NCJW/LA member and have volunteered in the Alexandria House after-school program for over 6 years. Now I'm also involved in many other NCJW/LA programs. In short, NCJW/LA has created... more

June 6, 2012

It has been both satisfying and frustrating working to advance the wonderful programs of NCJW/LA -- satisfying because often, I can see how my effort will benefit a woman and/or a child. The benefit may be small but it is there. For example, preparing food packages for the elderly homebound; reading to a child at an elementary school library (which library would otherwise be non-functioning without NCJW/LA volunteer support); tutoring a 3rd grader struggling with her arithmetic. What is frustrating is that so many families are so underserved by a City that is patently failing them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2011

I have been an NCJW/LA member and have volunteered in the Alexandria House after-school program for over 6 years. Now I'm also involved in many other NCJW/LA programs. In short, NCJW/LA has created well-thought-out, compassionate, beautifully run programs for women, children and families that understand and respond directly and immediately to the community's needs. I'm proud to be part of this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

If I can help just one person or one family for one day or one week, at least I'm doing something. There is so much need out there that we can't do everything for everyone. But it's important to give back in one's own way to women and children at risk whose lives are in flux.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to encourage more young people to get involved. It may be just donating a pair of jeans or getting a great deal on a bracelet or a lamp or a sweater at one of NCJW/LA's 9 amazing thrift shops around the city. Because of the wide variety of programs, people can participate in a way that they're comfortable with.

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I think that NCJW-LA is doing great work in the community with my donations, both of objects for the store and cash donations. The organization makes an outstanding contribution to the community in several ways.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I have been on NCJW/LA talk line as a volunteer for many years along with our scholarship program for giving women a chance and opportunity to further their education. I can say that since I have become involved with NCJW/LA I have fulfillment in my life in making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

I have worked at the National Council for Jewish Women in the Women Helping Women department for two years. It is such an honor to be a part of an organization that cares so deeply about serving the underprivleged and empowering women and children. It is a unique and gratifying experience to work for an agency that treats the clients it serves like beloved members of our community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2011

NCJW supports Artpals, a program that teaches 3rd graders in the San Fernando Valley about contemporary art. I've worked with this program for about 6 years and it is fantastic! Through interactive le... more

June 5, 2012

I volunteer for Artpals, a program that teaches lessons on contemporary art to 3rd & 4th graders in the San Fernando Valley. NCJW has generously supported this fantastic program for many years. Without NCJW many children would not have the experience of learning about & participating in the world of contemporary art. We teach them how to analyze a work of art, along with the accompanying vocabulary. Each lesson includes a participatory project. I have done this for 7 years but the program is approximately 20 years old. I am grateful to NCJW for supporting us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2011

NCJW supports Artpals, a program that teaches 3rd graders in the San Fernando Valley about contemporary art. I've worked with this program for about 6 years and it is fantastic! Through interactive lectures, visuals, & hands-on projects, children learn to analyze & understand how & why artists make their work. They get to see & experience art that they would not be exposed to otherwise. They also experience a field trip to a museum. Artpals volunteers help & support the children in their learning & the children love the program!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have found the Artpals personally very rewarding. It's exciting to see the children respond to the art. Because we offer one-on-one help with the projects, we get to know the children & they get to know us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be great if Artpals could be expanded to more schools or other grades.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help keep libraries open, tutor teen moms, assist children with their homework, tutor children in homeless shelters, teach art Volunteer