Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.25
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 22, 2013

more

November 22, 2013

I have been involved with NCRW for many years as a participant in their programs, partner, volunteer and advisor and have been continually impressed by the quality of their work and the high standards of their team. I am particularly inspired by their new President and the energy and expertise she is bringing to the leadership of the organization. My deepest involvement has been with their leadership development program for emerging women leaders in the nonprofit sector. I have been tremendously impressed by the caliber and diversity of the young women they have attracted to this program, and I believe that the curriculum of the program is thoughtfully designed and highly effective in supporting these women in advancing their leadership.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013

more

November 20, 2013

I volunteered my coaching and leadership development expertise to support NCRW's women's leadership fellowship program, so what I know about the organization comes from that experience and perspective. The staff are a joy to work with, providing clear and timely information about expectations and goals, while still being incredibly open and collaborative. The leadership fellows as a class were extraordinarily committed and cool. There are not enough programs offering leadership development for women in the middle stages of their careers, and this one is well executed and sorely needed. Aine is a new leader for the organization, and so far I've been very impressed with her presence and guidance. Overall, can't say enough good things about the staff and their good work in the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2013

more

November 20, 2013

NCRW came under my radar because I have a daughter, and was interested in research about how girls learn, education specifically related to girls, etc. NCRW was very helpful in finding documented research. I decided to donate to this organization; they thanked me by sending me related literature about girls! It was very thoughtful. NCRW is aligned with other like-minded organizations which I appreciate as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 23, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

The NCRW.org is an 501(c)3 that really is a JOBS program for the mostly white women who are affiliated &"work" there. Lots of work from home. Just look at the Directors, Trustees, President (current & past), and key employees. And some are missing or mystery employees! According to their 2012 990 SECTION VII A NCRW claims to have 3 people making over $100,000 yet it only lists Linda Basch with a total for of at $228,000. Who are the other two employees making over $100,000? The total compensation is $501,626 so that means that two other mystery employees got $273,626!

NCRW claims to be a national organization yet in 21 states in the USA it has NO membership centers at all. And in 21 states they have only one or two "centers". They used to have a map on their website that clearly shows the reality but recently they removed it. Most of the membership centers are clustered around the east coast (NYC,DC & MASS). It claims to have more than 120 member centers yet there are only 82 listed on their website. It claims to be an advocacy group for women and seeks to improve the lives of women and girls in the USA and around the world by being a clearinghouse for information. No member centers outside the U.S. but they did manage to spend $5,000 on their "international programs". So it is NOT really the national organization as it claims and the majority of the membership centers are just colleges and Universities with women study programs.

If you count compensation to employees, benefits it amounts to nearly $1,000,000 -not bad for just 9 employees! Add pay to consultants at $219,000. Add $103,000 for "Professional Expenses and "Other Expenses" and you almost reach the $1,335,000 Total Revenue. And one wonders what their impact is really besides taking care of the women that work there. No impact according to the statement on guidestar. Based on their 2012 990 they had an "Awards Dinner" and they came out with ZERO income! They had $217,177 Gross income but spent $217,177 on expenses like "Food & Beverages", "Entertainment" and "Other Expenses". Sounds Fishy to me. Lots of award dinners, fundraising, conferences, meetings and reports. Information without action is a waste. Information + Action = CHANGE. And since the early 70's there has been no real gains in the women's rights movement. NCRW.ORG is NOT a 501(c)4 it is a 501(c)3 so it cannot lobby for legal changes. Just look at their 990 2011.

In reality the NCRW mission is obsolete in 2013 since in the U.S.A. All women are NOT equal and women of color are suffering the most and are most under represented. Actually white women with advanced degrees make almost as much as their white male counter parts with the same education and occupy many of the positions in the executive women workforce. Yet the biggest disparity and pain is felt by women of color who are losing ground and not getting hired or advancing in their professions. What is worse 96% of NCRW's money came from public support and much of that is from companies that give to the nonprofit and also have had lawsuits brought against them by women. NCRW says that they collaborate with corporations and they really do. Exactly how much corporations give to NCRW.ORG is not revealed in their 990's. But does that help women?

In 2012 NCRW spent $1,000,000 on their projects and programs which are just forums, meetings conferences and reports which essentially means that leaders "talk amongst themselves"and it provides an opportunity for mostly white women to get together and have a talkfest. Networking is the biggest plus in these gatherings. How they spend the 1 million on these initiatives is not clear from the 2012 990. NCRW does not place their 990's on NCRW.ORG. NO IMPACT except as resume building for volunteers and interns who think it will impact their chances of getting a job.

Corporations give to nonprofits who "advocate for women" so they look good, and get a tax break, hire a woman who is a minority as it's "Head of Diversity" HR department and use her as a figure puppet to deflect any questions regarding the corporation's dedication to hiring a diverse workforce. It is PR at it's worst and NCRW plays along. Does Bloomberg and Goldman Sachs improve their image by giving to NCRW? Do these corporations really hire Black and Hispanic women for executive positions and for equal advancement? Let's face it corporations are not in the business of "hiring women" but are in business to increase share prices, increase market share, make the quarter, and satisfy shareholders return.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NCRW can stop their job program for women who don't need a job program and they should stop acting as fronts for corporations who harm women. NCRW should turn their organization into a mentoring program for disadvantaged minority women who really need help. There are plenty of women in NYC boroughs who need mentors in order to get out of poverty. Imagine if $1,500,000 was aimed at a mentoring program by NCRW which had a major impact on girls and women of NYC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 25, 2012

more

Review from JustGive
December 25, 2012

Men generally know very little about the risks that women face because of their reproductive roles. The results of your superb IMAGES survey will help me -- through my daily work on Maternal-Neonatal-Child Health -- to reach out to men and adolescent boys at many levels to help them Know the Truth about the special needs and risks that women endure, especially the millions of illiterate women and unschooled girls who live in developing countries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers