Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.837845
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

I have found the graduates from the National Conservatory of Dramatic Arts (NCDA) to be extremely professional and very well trained. When I come across an NCDA graduate at and audition, I always give them special consideration.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

I was a student at NCDA in 2007-08. When I arrived I had over a decade of stumbling around between community theater and low level professional. I wanted to make the jump to being a serious professional, but had little idea how to do it, and limited training. In the three and half years since graduation, I have earned my Equity card, performed in several nationally prominent theaters in D.C., become the Artistic and Executive Director of the Baltimore Improv Group, and returned to NCDA as a member of the faculty. For years my development as an artist was hampered by the need to pay the bills for my family. Now I am able to make a living and care for my loved ones using jobs that are all theater related. NCDA is the reason that my life has changed in this way, and I could not be more thankful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

An excellent training ground for those in the DC area who want a certificate program in acting - the faculty is terrific, all professionals in their own right who are making a living in this field in the DC area.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

The Nat'l Conservatory is an arts-championing educational institution that welcomes students immediately into a FAMILY. The network created here is something that is so hard for actors of any age to find, in any market. Here, students train with professionals *currently in the field* -- people who can tell them what the greater artistic community is like right here & now, but also people who could potentially get them work after graduation. The man who just taught you script analysis? He runs a bold experimental theatre company. The man who just introduced you to Commedia? He operates a children's theatre doing original work. The woman working with you on monologues just finished a national tour, and is currently writing a show with her husband (also on staff), set to be produced by a local company. This is a place where students are given tools to become thoughtful actors, serving this and other communities through storytelling, while being able to raise a family or keep steady employment. This is the first institution I have encountered where students were ALWAYS welcome back, be it for advice or coaching or support. NCDA gives so many people the confidence, skills and courage to keep the arts alive & flourishing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

I completed both of the programs at NCDA and it was one of the best things I have ever done. I learned about not only the craft of acting, but the business as well and I believe that I now have the tools to succeed. The people at NCDA are some of the most dedicated I have ever met and I would never have learned this much anywhere else.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

A place of enlightment and discovery. The National Conservatory of dramatic Arts or (NCDA) is more than a building where acting classes are held, it serves as a preperation gateway for a career field that is extremely competitive. Within 3 months of intensive learning, from styles ranging from classical to contemporary studies, my experience has compelled me to become the best actor I can be and more. I recommend anyone who wants down-to-earth, humanized, and GENIUNE training to appear in front of these doors ASAP. Well, what are you waiting for?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Prepeartion for my jobs and future gigs in the industry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create a more tech-savvy environment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

What is unique about this organization?

The home-like environment which allows people of all shapes, sizes, sex, race, etc to learn or/and better their craft as actors in full potential.

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

The National Conservatory of Dramatic Arts gave me everything I need to pursue an acting career. At the Conservatory, I developed and practiced skills and techniques, learned about the business of acting and how to market myself, all from an extremely qualified faculty that genuinely cared about me and my education. The Conservatory provides an incredibly welcoming atmosphere and support network that continues beyond graduation. The National Conservatory of Dramatic Arts has made my dream of an acting career possible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

auditions, on stage, preparing a role.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Internet search

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The Conservatory encouraged me to have confidence that I can pursue an acting career.

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

Great training! Far exceeded expectations and the amount and information taught truly puts us ahead of a four year degree program in theatre. Unbelievable amount of time saved. Unbelievable amount of learning gained. Greatest acting secret in DC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

I was enrolled in the Conservatory during 2007-2008. I found it to be a professionally run, intensive, useful program that hit on all the fundamentals needed to pursue a career in acting. The audition and business classes were particularly helpful and something that was neglected at the university where I previously studied. The staff and faculty were very helpful and available, and have remained so for me since graduating. It is very much a family atmosphere, with wonderfully small classes and lots of individual attention. The camaraderie, bonding, and network during and after my time there have been really important in launching my post-Conservatory acting career.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for them to find a really rich patron to help them expand their facilities and curriculum, and be able to offer scholarships.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Actor's Center newsletter

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

As a DC Filmmaker, it's refreshing to have a place to turn time and time again for experienced, professional actors who treat their craft with the determination it requires for success. The students want to work, and we're constantly looking for actors. It's a win-win.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers