Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.163645
Write A Review
June 5, 2012

Over this past summer, I have learned a great deal about the negative impacts of gambling. During mid May I was able to see a gambling bill be passed at the Champaign City Council. This bill would allow online gambling and slot machines be made available in bars in downtown Champaign as well as campus bars. At first I did not mind that bars would allow 21 year old young adults to gamble because that is up to the individual where to spend their money but after further research I quickly changed my mind. Schull quotes on stoppredatorygambling.org, that “slot machines [are] so effective at extracting money from people …someone who won’t stop playing until his or her means are depleted.” Since underage drinking is already very prevalent on campus, it would not be surprising if 18 year old students start gambling too at a young age and make unwise decisions to lose their money. Seeing the Champaign City Council allow slot machines in bars after a ten minute discussion, and not delaying the decision for more facts to be presented, was very surprising. Also after an argument presented by Professor John Kindt, where he showed his research based on authoritative, current, and relevant information, the council still decided to proceed with their pro-voting towards slot machines in the Champaign. Upon further investigation and learning from a business law course, I realized that this would hurt the city of Champaign as well as the learning environment as a campus community.
Based on personal experiences as well as insight into the negative impacts on gambling, I and will try and see more ways that I can help with this movement of stopping predatory gambling not only in my college campus and helping on a wider scale. There are many ways to stay active and help. For example sharing “stoppredatorygambling.org” with friends and family, media, and representatives of the community, attend city council meetings and voice my concerns, as well as discuss what I know and share my own story. Last but not least, I can also donate towards the movement. There are many ways to stay active and for this issue I believe it is important to keep updated on news of the expansion of gambling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

It has been argued among many people whether gambling is dangerous because of its addiction. From my perspective, gambling has a huge possibility of addiction. The rationale behind this is that most of the people start gambling by fun and as a game but suddenly they lose their self-control. Furthermore, it is true that many people are taking a clinic course and it is an inclination that several governments are extending the fund for remedies.
First and foremost, from the media is told that Gambling is a serious problem. Nowadays, many people face frustration by a one single choice. To illustrate what I mean, the press shows several pictures about the rigorous price of gambling and this is the truth that are happening in our surroundings. For example, the picture of the press sends a message to the audiences that it is not some others affair so the incident could happen anytime to you. In this regard, individuals who are seeking for money to be earned easily will increase. Also, the vile gamblers are going to seduce many ingenuous characters. The media must always do its right role to prevent victims mount.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

I believe that gambling is the issue that many people do not consider seriously that how dangerous and drastic the result it may bring to our society. By gambling, some people have an opportunity to make lots of money; however, there is much higher risk of loosing all of your money. As a result, such action may tear out entire family, which may increase the rate of death or crime. Thus, organization like this Stop Predatory Gambling Foundation, many other non-profit organizations must work hard by providing various information about the danger of gambling in order to make the society to be involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

Gambling is not only a very significant issue in the United States, it also spreads out a huge influence in other countries. Many young people ruined their lives owing to the passion of gambling. It also applied on adults although they have a relatively strong self-discipline. The whole society should try the best to establish a healthy environment for everyone. Stop Predatory Gambling is a very good non-profit organization and makes a substantial contribution to help more and more people to realize the bad potential consequences of predatory gambling!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

I believe this organization is great and I strongly support it because countless people negatively affected by gambling. It becomes a serious society issue because the gambling is addictive, and so many people do not aware of the seriousness of gambling. I hope this organization increases the awareness of predatory gambling and limit it for the society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2012

Gambling is an issue that everybody had acknowledged its existence, but no one had the power nor willingness to stop the activity completely nationally. There are many connections behind gambling, the government and individuals were harmed and benefited at the same time. However, in order to keep the society stable and minimize the harm from gambling, there are some regulations are necessary. This nonprofit organization is opposed to gambling which have the power to control the harm of gambling in some degrees, thus it seemed really helpful with lowering the harm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2012

Gambling has always been a hot issue. People debate about it privately and publicly. However, before I took my business administration class, I did not know there are organizations and individuals working really hard to improve the situations. Some people argue that gambling provides pleasure in leisure time. However, in my opinion, sometimes gambling has a quite negative influence on the people who gamble and their families. People addicted to the gabling may spend all their money, rent, tuition in the casino hoping to win some money back. Therefore, non-profit organization of gambling sets a good example that can provide some help. Perhaps, it is hard to ban gambling and it might be impossible. Non-profit organization helps to attract public's and media's attention on this issue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 3, 2012

Gambling has always been a controversial topic over United States. People know gambling is bad but still seek access to gamble (even though just a small money involved), go to Las Vages to play casinos, or watch others gambling. These actions may raise from human natural of addiction or bad habits, but the government can still regulate somehow through laws and regulation. However, the recently the government did not justify this phenomenon for the social welfare's sake. Instead, it keeps acquiescence to widespread online gambling. I still maintain big hope to the government to regulate nation-wide gambling since this can cause a huge society problem like unemployment, income gap, negative social norms, etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers