Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12.4345
Write A Review
November 8, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

With information I have found out about this non-profit, no one should be providing funding to them! There have been several allegations and judgments against them and I urge everyone to do their due diligence before providing funding whether through donations, grants, or contracts. Supporting this non-profit is not advised and should be considered carefully! Please look at other websites where links to judgments and allegations of wrong-doing exist.
November 6, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Please don't be fooled by the corruption of this notorious organization! In my opinion, this is the worst non- profit in the DC metropolitan area. There needs to be a thorough cleaning of house beginning with leadership, there is no way an organization who is supposed to be helping our community, harms it the most. From discriminating against their employees, to the directors own brother allegedly sexually assaulting a blind female. One can see that they're more interested in receiving the charitable donations of hard working taxpayers than they are about servicing the disabled. NCC was once shut down in 2008/2009, it's evident that they haven't changed for the best. NCC definitely lacks in credibility, when sending your vulnerable loved ones here, you do so at your own risk!

NCC was ordered to pay 2 million dollars by the jury when they were found guilty of discrimination in the DC superior court case number 2011CA10042B.

NCC is Guilty of Wage Theft!
NCC also filed a confess judgment and agreed to pay an ex-employee benefits that it wrongly withheld from the employee during the course of his employment and after termination of employment. This case was ultimately resolved in DC Superior Court and can be found at 2011 SC2 002638 (DC Court).

NCC Committed Unemployment Insurance Fraud
NCC wrongfully denies an ex-employee unemployment benefits. They used conniving measures to avoid payment and submitted misleading information. NCC was ultimately found guilty and ordered by the court to pay.

For more information checkout www.nationalchildrenscenter.com, I stumbled across this website exposing the National Children's Center.For more information checkout www.nationalchildrenscenter.com, I stumbled across this website exposing the National Children's Center,I found in my research that they were also fined $5000 as a civil sanction for attempting an anti-slap act to have the bloggers website shut down. Join the grassroot movement in bringing awareness to this organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have searched the internet for the National Children's Center and they are not listed on the Better Business Bureau, Charity Navigator or any other charity evaluation website.

The representative who called me said they sell the clothing to companies who then resell it.

There is
no way to check their reputation which makes me a little wary that the money they make may not get to any children at all.

I'll also guess that the 5-star good comments posted here may have been made by the "charity" representatives themselves.

Please people, investigate before donating anything!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a public disclosure of your financial information as a matter of public record.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 12, 2010

more

October 12, 2010

The facility is bright and cheery and very spacious. The staff I've met seem dedicated and knowledgeable. Watching them interact with children it's plain to see they care very much for them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

site visits and working with staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

as I'm not a parent of a child with disabilities, I don't think I'm the best person to answer this.

October 12, 2010

more

October 12, 2010

What a terrific experience I've hadworking with the National Children's Center! All of the staff I've encountered have been caring, knowledgeable in their fields, and attuned to to the needs of parents and other members of the community. The facilities are beautiful and well-maintained. I would definitely recommend NCC to a fellow parent of a child with special needs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working collaboratively with NCC staff to promote ongoing programs and special events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let more parents know about it!

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers