Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
89 Reviews
1234.71915
| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review
April 19, 2013

more

April 19, 2013

National Breast Cancer Foundation has supported mammography services for hundreds of breast imaging patients at Parkland Hospital in Dallas, Texas. The generosity removes financial barrier for women by covering the cost of screening mammograms, diagnostic mammograms and ultrasound procedures.

NBCF funds also have allowed Parkland to add a highly qualified bilingual patient navigator to our patient services team. She helps provide a more seamless continuum of care for Parkland Breast Center patients. Her presence is helping reduce wait times for patients and significantly reduces the anxiety sometimes associated with medical procedures.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and Seattle Cancer Care Alliance have been fortunate to receive grant funding from the National Breast Cancer Foundation since 2007. In 2012 we were able to provide breast cancer screening services to over 800 women who didn't have insurance. The majority of patients are screened through SCCA's Mobile Mammography Van which works with community organizations and churchs to provide screening mammograms. Early detection has been proven to be a game changer in breast cancer survivorship. NBCF's funding has allowed us to make these life-saving exams avaialble to women in need throughout western Washington!

“Without the support of the National Breast Cancer Foundation, the SCCA would not be able to meet the screening needs of women regardless of their ability to pay. We know that early detection thorough screening saves lives. Last year we were able to expand our services to include much of the Puget Sound. We were able to provide mammography screening at many partner clinics, for many of the women screened; this was their first mammogram as adult woman.”
--Madeline Buelt MSN, RN, Vice President, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance

“Without the generous funding from the National Breast Cancer Foundation, many women in our region would not have access to life-saving mammograms. As a physician, I know that screening works but that access remains a key issue. We are so grateful to the NBCF for their support to eliminate barriers to healthcare.”
--Constance D. Lehman, MD, PhD, FACR, Director of Imaging, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
Professor & Vice Chair of Radiology, Section Head of Breast Imaging; University of Washington

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

Adventist Health in Portland, OR has been a partner with NBCF for the past six years. We have received may notes from clients served that tell us that what the foundation provides them is peace of mind. These clients have no other resources to obtain these services. Some have a history of breast cancer in their family, placing them in the high risk category. They are so relieved to get an up to date screening. The NBCF has made a huge difference in the lives of the women served.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013

more

April 3, 2013

They were awesome from start to finish! We will work with them again. Real grass roots work happening on a national level!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2013

more

February 25, 2013

I am a proud member of the Board of Directors. As a Board Member for the last 5 years I am impressed with the dedicattion, compassion, and true sense of humility this organization brings to it's mission. From the Founder to the Receptionist everyone is committed to bringing breast health information, diagnosis, and treatment to underserved and uninsured women. The Hospitals where I have worked have been allowed to provide mammograms and diagnostic services to hundreds of women who would never have had the opportunity otherwise though their grant program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We(rollin4cancer.org) recently did a cross country road trip to benefit the NBCF. They certainly lived up to their 4 star rating on Charity Navigator. They were easy to work with, helpful, and most appreciative of our efforts. Our's was a relatively small endeavor, but they treated us like a Fortune 500 organization. We had the pleasure of stopping by their headquarters and meeting all the staff and the founders. We could see, first hand, the high standards they hold themselves to, and the enthusiasm and dedication they have to the cause of research, prevention, early detection, and treatment, when necessary, of breast cancer. The NBCF is a well run, efficient organization, and therefore we could see that a maximum amount of our fund raising efforts were going to help eradicate the scourge of breast cancer. When we decided to attempt this fundraiser, we knew from our own families that breast cancer was prevalent, but after our journey, we now realize it is much more prevalent than we ever imagined. The National Breast Cancer Foundation is certainly doing their part to reverse the trending of this malady. Jack T., Dan T., Roger S., John D.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013

more

February 18, 2013

I have been on the Board of Directors of NBCF for over 10 years. I have always been and continue to be impressed with the Foundations integrity, compassion, professionalism and progressive thinking around patient care. The Foundation is built on the basis of care for the individual and their families, partnerships with our sponsors, and strong ties to local community organizations through our Programs. I am very proud of the Foundation and the work they do and am honored to be a part of helping needy women around the country get the awareness, education, and care needed to save lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2013

more

February 18, 2013

Sallie Mae, the nation’s No. 1 financial services company specializing in education, donated $25,000 to the National Breast Cancer Foundation to support breast health education. The donation was made possible by thousands of customers with Sallie Mae-serviced student loans.

The company
recently partnered with the NBCF to encourage customers to enroll in its free direct e-notification paperless service. Sallie Mae donated $1 to the nonprofit for every customer who enrolled in the service. It took just one month for Sallie Mae to reach its $25,000 donation goal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 29, 2013

more

January 29, 2013

For the past 7 years I have been producing/hosting a Breast Cancer Awareness Tennis Tournament at our local fitness center, Peninsula Community Center, in Redwood City, California. Each year I register up to 64 tennis players, and they come out for a morning or afternoon to help raise money that will go to Breast Cancer Awareness programs. This year National Breast Cancer Foundation was one of our recipients!
We have groups of 16 ladies at a time come out for food, tennis, raffles, silent auctions and a lot of fun!

This BCA Tennis Tournament was created after I had two friends diagnosed with Breast Cancer. I didn't know what I could do to help, so I decided to do something with the two things I love ----TENNIS and FRIENDS! The ladies all pay a registration fee to play and then help out even more by purchasing raffle tickets, bidding on auction items or making direct donations.

We also provide a table with information on Breast Cancer Awareness literature, and many times we have a survivor come to pass along information about the importance of self exams and regular check ups.

We have a blast each year getting together while doing something good. Our club's motto is about building "community" and we certainly have built a strong supportive community through this annual tournament.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

December 20, 2012

more

December 20, 2012

Dealing with the National Breast Cancer Foundation was wonderfull. We are very happy that our donation will go to a great cause! Keep up the great work guys!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spread the message of early detection as a Virtual Volunteer by participating online and encouraging friends to do so as well:• Like NBCF’s Facebook page: www.facebook.com/nationalbreastcancer• Follow @NBCF on Twitter and Re-Tweet us.• Sign-up for your Early Detection Plan (EDP). The EDP helps remind women to schedule mammograms, clinical breast exams, and breast self-exams. Learn more at: www.EarlyDetectionPlan.org