Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.791675
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I hosted a 5K where all of the proceeds went to NBCF.
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

We researched nonprofit breast cancer foundations and were looking for one that was not heavy on top and put money back into the cause and the National Breast Cancer Foundation, Inc. fit that to a tee. They were very easy to talk to and get information from and they treat you like family. A great experience to work on their behalf to find a cure and help those that need help with breast cancer.
August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

2014 is the first year I organized a fundraiser benefiting the National Breast Cancer Foundation.
I wanted to find a way to remember my mom and find a way to help others fight breast cancer.
I chose NBCF because of their mission to provide education, early detection through free
mammograms, and support to under-served women who might not have access to healthcare.
In addition, they have a high rating on Charity Navigator and I found that they give ~.85 cents of every dollar donated to the cause. This is much higher than many organizations I looked at.
During the planning process Lauren, from the fundraising team, was very helpful and responded to my questions quickly with helpful recommendations. The fundraising manual was very helpful as well.
This year was a learning experience but my experience was made smoother working with NBCF.
We plan to repeat our 'Que for the Cause every year and continue to donate the proceeds to NBCF.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

The National Breast Cancer Foundation is a champion for underserved women. There generosity and compassion are making a difference and impacting the lives of not just women, but entire families.

NBCF's mission to focus on early detection is saving lives daily!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 1, 2012

The National Breast Cancer Foundation is exemplary in granting financial support to organizations that provide direct care to patients. Because of their generosity, I was able to hire an outreach navi... more

July 31, 2014

As a result of a very generous grant from the National Breast Cancer Foundation, I was able to hire a Patient Navigator for the Breast Care Program at my hospital. The navigator is an active presence in the community who identifies women with breast problems or in need of breast screening mammography. The women we care for are uninsured and underserved. They face many barriers to accessing appropriatr health care. Our patients are very grateful to our navigator and we are very grateful to the National Breast Cancer Foundation!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2012

The National Breast Cancer Foundation is exemplary in granting financial support to organizations that provide direct care to patients. Because of their generosity, I was able to hire an outreach navigator who works in our community to promote education regarding the importance of mammography screening and to navigate patients through the screening process. Every day, I hear grateful patients talk about what this program means to them. They know mammography is important but did not see how they could get access. We treat them with dignity and respect. We help them to learn how important their healthcare is. We save their lives. This is only possible because of the generosity of the National Breast Cancer Foundation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 25, 2013

I am a proud member of the Board of Directors. As a Board Member for the last 5 years I am impressed with the dedicattion, compassion, and true sense of humility this organization brings to it's missi... more

July 7, 2014

The National Breast Cancer Foundation has helped hundreds of women obtain free mammograms, diagnostic workups, and assistance in navigating the complex healthcare field for breast health issues in Humboldt County, California. I am proud to be affiliated with this organization as they place education and assistance to breast health issues first, before self. In a time of difficult changes in the health care arena, NBCF is a constant, providing hope and comfort to women across the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 25, 2013

I am a proud member of the Board of Directors. As a Board Member for the last 5 years I am impressed with the dedicattion, compassion, and true sense of humility this organization brings to it's mission. From the Founder to the Receptionist everyone is committed to bringing breast health information, diagnosis, and treatment to underserved and uninsured women. The Hospitals where I have worked have been allowed to provide mammograms and diagnostic services to hundreds of women who would never have had the opportunity otherwise though their grant program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2014

more

June 24, 2014

I rode the Chico Wildflower Bike Ride 4/28/2014 and used NBCF as my fundraising forum.
I was able to accomplish my 65 mile/over 100 Kilometer road ride and raised money for Breast Cancer Awareness and Research dedicated to two of my very dear friends who have Breast Cancer. Enthusiastic
support from NBCF !

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

Jamaica Bay Riding Academy, Brooklyn, NY is home to many women riders who own horses. This past May, JBRA was able to take part in raising money for NBCF. We have had many women riders who have had cancer scares and look to the horses in order to feel a little bit better. When you are feeling blue that equine friend is sure to put a smile right back on your face.
NBCF helps to make it easier for early detection as well as having a great support staff for women to turn too. I admire NBCF for all of the people they reach out to and look forward to being on the fundraising team for 2015!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 2, 2012

M.S.’s daughter-in-law states: “She remembers the navigators’ time shared and was not sure at the time of her pathology results what her new medical situation would bring. This situation certai... more

May 7, 2014

NBCF has made mammography screening affordable for thousands of women in Greater Cincinnati through its support of TriHealth's Women's Services. The program officers have worked with us to streamline our reporting and have always been helpful when we had questions. In the end, the NBCF has helped low income, uninsured or underinsured women who otherwise would not have obtained the screening. The women we help as a result of this grant are grateful for the peace of mind they gain through knowing they do not have breast cancer or for the information they receive that helps them to obtain further testing and treatment. Either way they win. Thank you, NBCF, for helping us do this good work in our community.
October 2, 2012

M.S.’s daughter-in-law states: “She remembers the navigators’ time shared and was not sure at the time of her pathology results what her new medical situation would bring. This situation certainly caught all of us (family, friends) unaware. My family and I felt very good about the team approach and that of the breast surgeon.”
M.S. says: “Several years ago, one of our children had surgery where she lived in Orlando. I was the primary caregiver; and I was completely caught unaware of the post-op items and care that would be needed. Not being familiar with the Cincinnati area, we have found the navigators and team at your breast center to be very helpful with references, and resources to better prepare us for my surgery, so that my family could provide me with the best care. So, thank you all for being there for us and sharing all the wonderful resources and information available to me and other patients at a time when we critically needed it. You all have made a big difference in those first few days, and weeks of my diagnosis. We just wanted to let the navigators and staff know how grateful we are for the quick responses, and precise diagnosis and recommendations for my surgery and oncology needs. Thanks again for all the answers to all those questions. You all helped to calm the nerves, and anxiety….couldn’t have done it without you all.”

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 5, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 12, 2012

National Breast Cancer Foundation funded a grant at our community hospital to provide mammograms for women who are uninsured or whose insurance does not make this service affordable, especially for th... more

May 5, 2014

National Breast Cancer Foundation has supported and funded affordable breast cancer screenings at McKee Medical Center for three years. This support provides our most at-risk population with access to important screening and detection services they would not otherwise have. We are incredibly grateful to the National Breast Cancer Foundation for their support. Together, we are saving lives through early detection of Breast Cancer.
November 12, 2012

National Breast Cancer Foundation funded a grant at our community hospital to provide mammograms for women who are uninsured or whose insurance does not make this service affordable, especially for those who are financially struggling. In the first year of the grant, we have provided 41 mammograms to women who would otherwise not had access to this important screening tool. We have another 120 women who have expressed interest in the program and we are working hard to schedule their appointments. This program will save many lives through early detection and diagnosis, and we are proud to be part of the network of National Breast Cancer Foundation's National Mammography Program.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spread the message of early detection as a Virtual Volunteer by participating online and encouraging friends to do so as well:• Like NBCF’s Facebook page: www.facebook.com/nationalbreastcancer• Follow @NBCF on Twitter and Re-Tweet us.• Sign-up for your Early Detection Plan (EDP). The EDP helps remind women to schedule mammograms, clinical breast exams, and breast self-exams. Learn more at: www.EarlyDetectionPlan.org