Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.815795
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

NBJC is THE leading organization for Black LGBT persons. The innovative and knowledgeable staff are second to none and as an allied professional I am proud to call each of them my colleagues. As someone who works in the movement, the strain of carrying the torch of Black representation is not as great because I know NBJC has it covered.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

From the Peak of the Mountain Top, I want to Thank the National Black Justice Coalition for fighting for the LGBT community and offering events and platforms to the masses. The NBJC is not just a non-profit, the organization and the staff are my extend ed family. I admire the Executive Director Sharon Lettman and her vision , she is a role model for all man kind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

As the religious leader of the largest international denomination with a ministry to LGBT people -- Metropolitan Community Churches (MCC), I find the work of the National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) invaluable to the cause of lifting up the voices of black LGBT people and advancing the issues that are critical. NBJC has continued to work toward shaping the national dialog around the intersections of race, gender, sexuality and equality. And because the intersections of sexuality, spirituality, and justice is key work for MCC, NBJC has been an extremely important partner. NBJC has demonstrated a strong presence -- standing with us and other faith voices to counter homophobia, discrimination, and other forms of injustice in the religious and social spheres. We are indeed stronger together. And the overall LGBT and faith communities are the better because there is NBJC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

As a Black lesbian working in and for the LGBT community, I depend on the NBJC to keep me informed of current issues. I also depend on them to represent the needs and concerns of the Black LGBT community and in the last year have been impressed with their involvement in the Robert Champion case. I feel that they bring a perspective and understanding that is unique to the NBJC; and necessary in these types of situations.
As a mother, I am grateful for the work that the NBJC has done around our families. From the high visibility of Black LGBT families at the White House Egg Roll, to the work that they are doing with Black LGBT student groups, the NBJC proves their commitment to our families on a daily basis.
I’m proud to be a part of this organization and know that the work that they are doing is creating a better world and more positive reality for Black LGBT people, as well as the larger community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

NBJC is a fantastic organization. As a young leader of a growing LGBTQ organization, NBJC has played a special role in helping me grow as a leader, connect with other LGBTQ leaders of color, and host local advocacy events. I am inspired every year by their OUT on a HILL day which brings together people from all around the country to build community and advocate for LGBTQ people of color. It is one of the first national organizations many come to learn of as an LGBTQ person of color looking to get involved and make a difference.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

The blessing and joy of having NBJC on the front line every day, proactively fighting and demanding justice for ALL is comforting. As a bisexual man of African and Caribbean descent, who has been in a committed same gender loving relationship for almost 24 years, having an organization that understands the complexities of and struggles we endure every day, is rewarding. NBJC continues the legacy of the National Coalition of Black Lesbians and Gays (NCBLG) and other People of Color organizations that came before it. NBJC gets the connection of racism, sexism, ageism, classism, and homophobia. Repeatedly, NBJC boldly takes a proactive stand on issues of equity and nondiscrimination. NBJC's Executive Director, Sharon Lettman-Hicks, seems to be everywhere giving a sensible voice to issues that affect us all. She has enabled NBJC to work with partnerships and coalitions to get results.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

This is a great organization and it sends a positive message of hope and encouragement to our communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Black Justice Coalition has opened up spaces in my mind and in the possibilities I see for my life. Never have I experienced an organization that has imbued so much empowerment, consciousness, and confidence into who I am as a black LGBT emerging leader. This organization is not just an entity but a platform to which other organizations and other black LGBT leaders throughout the nation can stand upon. I am motivated to not only see myself as equal with the rest of society, but to understand that I am privileged, special, and uniquely-qualified to tackle social issues because of the message the NBJC has stood for. The very identity that many hold as an impediment or social handicap is actually the very trait that is my source of empowerment and strength. Being a member of the LGBT community of color has given me a cause, a mission, a sense of self that I stand for something bigger than myself. I stand for a social movement that will liberate not only the Black LGBT community but liberate all oppressed, marginalized, and underserved communities. We're blessed to be given the opportunity to use our experiences as a testimony to the power of the human spirit. The NBJC uses its position of power and influence to show us that education, leadership, and a sense of self-efficacy are the tools that can be used to build a future of possibilities and promise. I owe so much to the NBJC, and look forward to seeing the growth and advancement of the organization for years to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the production and execution of their annual White House Brief with the Black LGBT Emerging Leaders.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that the NBJC can increase its outreach and programming to bring in more black LGBT leaders and provide regular experiences as the one I was given at the White House! Excellent work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

This organization focuses itself on not only bringing the marginalized black LGBT community to an even playing field with the rest of society, but to advance our community to becoming innovators and change-makers around the nation. It's about mobilizing us to envision ourselves beyond the spaces of our present conditions in life. Truly inspirational!

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I became familiar with NBJC as a follower of Keith Boykin for many years. The NBJC is a exemplary leader in rights for all! I serve ad regional director, part of a national organization that fights for the educational, disability and civil rights of all youth in the USA. I look to & applaude the team at NBJC great work to advocate for the inclusion of GLBTIQ2-S youth/adults of color!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers