Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.815795
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NBJC is an amazing organization that I am extremely fortunate to be a part of. The work that is done inspires me to work harder each and every day. The constant focus to create a better life for the Black LGBT community is remarkable, and I can honestly say that the focus is evenly distributed from the L, G, B, and T. Positive changes have occurred because of NBJC and positive changes will continue to occur.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I am a member of NBJC's Leadership Advisory Council and an admirer of NBJC's work from Chicago. One thing that NBJC helps us at Affinity Community Services do is tie national policy and initiatives to our work at the local level. Our work has been expanded because of our affiliation with NBJC and our expectations for the impact of our work have expanded too. NBJC is the organization that LGBT communities and Black communities have needed for a long time. The organization will prove to be an absolutely critical bridge to multiple communities as this nation and social justice spaces become more female and more people of color. Kudos to NBJC for being such a standard bearer!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition isn't just a non-profit organization, we're a family. Back 2010, During my Senior year of college, I got a call saying that I had been invited to the White House to witness Barack Obama sign the HBCU initiative. The moment was completely surreal, and I could not fathom why the President of the Unites States wanted to meet ME... But the morning of February 26, 2010 forever changed my life. That's the day I met Sharon Lettman-Hicks and became a part of this family. She installed in me that the work I'm doing matters and is changing the lives of other Historically Black College & University students. That's what NBJC is all about, empowering US, to change the face of the movement for LGBT equality. NBJC is the sole reason I do the work I do today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition takes action on its mission and name everyday. Unflinchingly, this organization stands for and provides successful advocacy on the concerns and rights of same-gender loving and attracted members of the Black family. All of our lives are enriched as positive images of loving same-gender couples, bisexual and transgender sisters and brothers are put forward and justice is secured in our society. NBJC is steadfast in bringing such a vision to life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) has been and continues to be a critical avenue for creating in gay and Black spaces ways to communicate about and respond to issues that impact black LGBT peoples. Because of the work of NBJC the voices and concerns of black LGBT people have received positive and increased attention from the wider public, LGBT, political, black religious and social activism communities. NBJC is a powerful portal for highlighting the intersections around being black and gay -- which is vital for evolving dialog within and external to the black LGBT community. NBJC engages freedom building and empowerment of black LGBT people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition offers a fresh perspective on LGBTQ rights in this country. As a member of the Leadership Advisory Council and a fan of the work I believe that NBJC helped push the Obama administration to support same-sex marriage. Without NBJC the debate on racial politics in the LGBTQ movement would also be different. I appreciated the space offered to NBJC at the Creating Change conference in 2012. I expect to see this organization thrive and sustain it's reputation as a freedom fighter and lover of justice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers