Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.815795
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

I loved working with National Black Justice Coalition as they were empowering in sharing my story as an openly gay, African American. I made great connections to others like me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The NBJC is such a growing and innovative organization. Working with them reemphasizes this reputation and I will definitely volunteer with them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Black bisexual poet and intellectual June Jordan once said, "We are the ones we have been waiting for." I feel that The National Black Justice Coalition, under the leadership and guidance of Sharon Lettman-Hicks, truly embodies this quote. NBJC is what the Black LGBT community has been waiting for. I have never been more inspired and empowered by an organization than I have been by NBJC. There is something about Sharon's visionary leadership, and her accessible team, that sparked a fire inside of me. I can truly say that 2012 has been one of the most powerful years of my life, in terms of social and political activism, and I have NBJC to thank for a large part of that. NBJC has consistently provided members of the Black LGBT community, and our allies, opportunities to let our voices be heard and to serve as vessels of change in our various communities. The White House meeting for emerging LGBT leaders, Out on the Hill conference for Black LGBT activists and advocates, and the organizations many efforts to harness the power of the Black LGBT community, are just a few examples of how NBJC stands out in a dynamic way. I recently had the opportunity to work with NBJC to secure marriage equality in the state of Maryland. I can't begin to state how amazing this experience was, and how much support NBJC gave its volunteers and supporters. This is an organization that operates with compassion, care, truth, knowledge, and love. I can't speak for others, but I know that NBJC is the organization that I have been waiting for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I have the utmost respect for NBJC. It is mission-focused on the black LGBT community. Stealth in its connections, and valuable for its ability to mobilize and grow a movement. Hats off!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

NBJC serves an important role in the lives of many African-American LGBT individuals and families by being a strong advocate on the issues that impact our lives and welfare. We count on NBJC to keep us informed on the latest policies out of Washington that should motivate us toward action.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition has been an amazingly empowering force in my life. Sharon’s commitment to cultivating leadership is unsurpassed, and she and the NBJC staff have consistently encouraged, empowered, and supported the voices of Black LGBT folk, providing tangible policy and community initiatives that have produced real community engagement (i.e. Out on the Hill, White House briefings, etc).
NBJC has provided me with opportunities to develop myself as an activist and advocate of LGBT equality, and I am immensely grateful for their existence and profound leadership in the realm of civil rights.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely! I created an anti-racist workshop and gave my first keynote speech through an invitation from NBJC and with their phenomenal support. This was a life-changing moment.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Empowered!

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I have volunteered with the NBJC since Out on the Hill 2011. It has been an absolute pleasure working along side the team at NBJC in the midst of their tireless work. Because of the NBJC the LGBT community and the African American community are hearing that I am not just a lesbian but I am Black too! They are giving voice to LGBT students at the nation's HBCU's and continue to add the Black LGBT voice to injustices at every turn. Thank you NBJC for all that you do! I am looking forward to more opportunities to volunteer my time to such an amazing coalition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition is a pivotal and integral entity for inclusion and equality. No other organization statnds at both the crossrads and the forefront of two crucial civil rights movements in our country. At this time in history when there is a pervasive perception of polarization between the Black and LGBTQ communities; the NBJC bridges the gap to say "we are black too"! It is crucial for those of us who are members of both communities to have a vehicle for agency, and a voice for justice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I've beem a board member on a number of national marches on DC, including the one that presented the AIDS quilt. The NBJC group is carring on my early work with colleges, police and AIDS just to name a few. Keeping up to date about events, programs, history, correcting myths and news around the world that involes black LGBT people. LGBT folks of color have always known what it's like to be on the outside within the outside, but with the workings of NBJC and others we contiue to be loving, strong and proud people. I wish more people knew of the NBJC, and the wonderful things it does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a bigger budget and ny more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Local members meetings

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Usefull

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers