Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.815795
Write A Review
June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

NBJC sponsored one of the most controversial and stunning stage plays the black LGBT community has seen, "SheBaltimore". As an actress in the production, I understand the importance of support and community. If the support NBJC offered "SheBaltimore" is any indication of the beliefs and resources it uses on a daily basis to promote equality and justice in the lives of not only LGBT people, but everyone, I must say, the world has seen nothing yet.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

This is a great organization and it sends a positive message of hope and encouragement to our communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Black Justice Coalition has opened up spaces in my mind and in the possibilities I see for my life. Never have I experienced an organization that has imbued so much empowerment, consciousness, and confidence into who I am as a black LGBT emerging leader. This organization is not just an entity but a platform to which other organizations and other black LGBT leaders throughout the nation can stand upon. I am motivated to not only see myself as equal with the rest of society, but to understand that I am privileged, special, and uniquely-qualified to tackle social issues because of the message the NBJC has stood for. The very identity that many hold as an impediment or social handicap is actually the very trait that is my source of empowerment and strength. Being a member of the LGBT community of color has given me a cause, a mission, a sense of self that I stand for something bigger than myself. I stand for a social movement that will liberate not only the Black LGBT community but liberate all oppressed, marginalized, and underserved communities. We're blessed to be given the opportunity to use our experiences as a testimony to the power of the human spirit. The NBJC uses its position of power and influence to show us that education, leadership, and a sense of self-efficacy are the tools that can be used to build a future of possibilities and promise. I owe so much to the NBJC, and look forward to seeing the growth and advancement of the organization for years to come.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the production and execution of their annual White House Brief with the Black LGBT Emerging Leaders.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that the NBJC can increase its outreach and programming to bring in more black LGBT leaders and provide regular experiences as the one I was given at the White House! Excellent work!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

This organization focuses itself on not only bringing the marginalized black LGBT community to an even playing field with the rest of society, but to advance our community to becoming innovators and change-makers around the nation. It's about mobilizing us to envision ourselves beyond the spaces of our present conditions in life. Truly inspirational!

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I became familiar with NBJC as a follower of Keith Boykin for many years. The NBJC is a exemplary leader in rights for all! I serve ad regional director, part of a national organization that fights for the educational, disability and civil rights of all youth in the USA. I look to & applaude the team at NBJC great work to advocate for the inclusion of GLBTIQ2-S youth/adults of color!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition is a pivotal and integral entity for inclusion and equality. No other organization statnds at both the crossrads and the forefront of two crucial civil rights movements in our country. At this time in history when there is a pervasive perception of polarization between the Black and LGBTQ communities; the NBJC bridges the gap to say "we are black too"! It is crucial for those of us who are members of both communities to have a vehicle for agency, and a voice for justice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition has emerged as one of the most prominent organizations working to secure rights and benefits for the LGBT community. The organization takes as its focus the Black LGBT community, and seeks to end homophobia in our society. I had the opportunity to interact with the National Black Justice Coalition in Washington, DC during an event they held in conjunction with the White House. I found those working on behalf of the NBJC to be welcoming, open, and inviting. The organization creates a climate that is conducive to fostering self-esteem and solidarity between the LGBT and straight Black community. I cannot wait to come into close contact with the organization in the future, and I fully support its mission. We need the National Black Justice Coalition!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

i first became aware of NBJC a few months ago when they came to speak at the 2012 GLSEN Students of Color Organizing Conference in Baltimore this past April. I must say I was blown away by the passion they have for the work they do. Since, I have signed up to receive their newsletters and have been wonderful blessed by their movement. My attention toward the issues surrounding LGBT of color has increased and I find myself engrossed in the trials and outcomes more and more. Also sharing with my peers. NBJC is a great organization and their work is priceless in many areas of society. Truly a GREAT nonprofit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In a positive way. Changed my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I came to know this organization through GLSEN.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Personal growth and awareness of self and how I play an integral part in bringing change to our society.

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

I've beem a board member on a number of national marches on DC, including the one that presented the AIDS quilt. The NBJC group is carring on my early work with colleges, police and AIDS just to name a few. Keeping up to date about events, programs, history, correcting myths and news around the world that involes black LGBT people. LGBT folks of color have always known what it's like to be on the outside within the outside, but with the workings of NBJC and others we contiue to be loving, strong and proud people. I wish more people knew of the NBJC, and the wonderful things it does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a bigger budget and ny more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Local members meetings

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Usefull

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers