Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.815795
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

NBJC is a testimony to spearheading the needs of the minority LGBTQ community. I am so impressed by their professionalism and unshakable effort to their cause. While in attendance to their events, not only did I learn more about what NBJC does, but subsequently have been exposed to other events that uplift and celebrate the LGBTQ community. I am in full support of the team’s future endeavors. They have been so influential that they have inspired me to become more proactive and volunteer in activities that support their mission. This is certainly a group worth supporting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

NBJC's work of "empowering Black lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people," is second only to its' role as a social lighthouse for LGBT people of color. NBJC provides a refuge for those who often feel underrepresented by other mainstream LGBT organizations. As an example, under the zealous charge of director Sharon Lettman-Hicks, when the "slow to evolve on LGBT rights" wing of the Black community remained decidedly mum about the role sexuality played in the hazing-related death of Robert Champion Jr. , NBJC sounded a necessary rallying cry. Where the homophobic motives of Champion's attackers provided unpopular discussion for many Black organizations, and garnered a rather lack-luster response from mainstream LGBT groups, NBJC worked tirelessly to publicize the vital "hate crime" underpinnings of the "hazing incident." Many such instances of unspoken suffering, endured by LGBT people of color have finally been given a voice by NBJC's work and efforts. In a time when "The Advocate Magazine" provocatively declares on its cover that "Gay is the new Black," NBJC plays a vital and necessary role by advocating for those who must endure the causal discriminations of both civil rights movements (Black and LGBT) on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition takes action on its mission and name everyday. Unflinchingly, this organization stands for and provides successful advocacy on the concerns and rights of same-gender loving and attracted members of the Black family. All of our lives are enriched as positive images of loving same-gender couples, bisexual and transgender sisters and brothers are put forward and justice is secured in our society. NBJC is steadfast in bringing such a vision to life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) has been and continues to be a critical avenue for creating in gay and Black spaces ways to communicate about and respond to issues that impact black LGBT peoples. Because of the work of NBJC the voices and concerns of black LGBT people have received positive and increased attention from the wider public, LGBT, political, black religious and social activism communities. NBJC is a powerful portal for highlighting the intersections around being black and gay -- which is vital for evolving dialog within and external to the black LGBT community. NBJC engages freedom building and empowerment of black LGBT people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition offers a fresh perspective on LGBTQ rights in this country. As a member of the Leadership Advisory Council and a fan of the work I believe that NBJC helped push the Obama administration to support same-sex marriage. Without NBJC the debate on racial politics in the LGBTQ movement would also be different. I appreciated the space offered to NBJC at the Creating Change conference in 2012. I expect to see this organization thrive and sustain it's reputation as a freedom fighter and lover of justice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

I am constantly informed by the articles they present. There are many important stories and pieces of information that I don't see presented to the public by other media outlets. I love the work they do and how they bring people together on key social issues.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition has been an amazingly empowering force in my life. Sharon’s commitment to cultivating leadership is unsurpassed, and she and the NBJC staff have consistently encouraged, empowered, and supported the voices of Black LGBT folk, providing tangible policy and community initiatives that have produced real community engagement (i.e. Out on the Hill, White House briefings, etc).
NBJC has provided me with opportunities to develop myself as an activist and advocate of LGBT equality, and I am immensely grateful for their existence and profound leadership in the realm of civil rights.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Absolutely! I created an anti-racist workshop and gave my first keynote speech through an invitation from NBJC and with their phenomenal support. This was a life-changing moment.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Empowered!

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

I have volunteered with the NBJC since Out on the Hill 2011. It has been an absolute pleasure working along side the team at NBJC in the midst of their tireless work. Because of the NBJC the LGBT community and the African American community are hearing that I am not just a lesbian but I am Black too! They are giving voice to LGBT students at the nation's HBCU's and continue to add the Black LGBT voice to injustices at every turn. Thank you NBJC for all that you do! I am looking forward to more opportunities to volunteer my time to such an amazing coalition.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

The blessing and joy of having NBJC on the front line every day, proactively fighting and demanding justice for ALL is comforting. As a bisexual man of African and Caribbean descent, who has been in a committed same gender loving relationship for almost 24 years, having an organization that understands the complexities of and struggles we endure every day, is rewarding. NBJC continues the legacy of the National Coalition of Black Lesbians and Gays (NCBLG) and other People of Color organizations that came before it. NBJC gets the connection of racism, sexism, ageism, classism, and homophobia. Repeatedly, NBJC boldly takes a proactive stand on issues of equity and nondiscrimination. NBJC's Executive Director, Sharon Lettman-Hicks, seems to be everywhere giving a sensible voice to issues that affect us all. She has enabled NBJC to work with partnerships and coalitions to get results.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

My first experience with NBJC was at this January's Creating Change conference in Baltimore, MD. They created the space for Black queer persons to come together and having meaningful conversations about improving and reshaping our own community. Since January, NBJC also afforded me the opportunity to attend the White House Briefing for Black LGBT Emerging Leaders. This organization understands the importance of the critical balance between both policy work AND community building that must be achieved in order for persons of color to make progress. I'm proud to know of and stand in solidarity with NBJC's work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers