Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.815795
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I am the convener of an all volunteer community based organization dedicated to educating and advocating for the rights of LGBT people in the Black community. For us on the ground, it is difficult to locate resources and persons who can articulate the needs of the larger Black LGBT community while providing valuable policy resource materials. We look to the National Black Justice coalition as the ground grounded and solid in the delivery of materials that we need to advocate and educate at the grass roots level. In turn, we as a grass root organization have the ability to have our voices heard through NBJC because they function in D.C. and can speak directly to national elected officials and policy makers. In the NBJC, we also find a foundation for our effort to place ourselves as Black LGBT people in the context of the needs and issues that effect the larger Black community. This representation is our priority and we share it with them. We believe that the existence of the National Black Justice Coalition is crucial to our functioning and to having the our needs projected to a larger audience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

From the Peak of the Mountain Top, I want to Thank the National Black Justice Coalition for fighting for the LGBT community and offering events and platforms to the masses. The NBJC is not just a non-profit, the organization and the staff are my extend ed family. I admire the Executive Director Sharon Lettman and her vision , she is a role model for all man kind.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

As the religious leader of the largest international denomination with a ministry to LGBT people -- Metropolitan Community Churches (MCC), I find the work of the National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) invaluable to the cause of lifting up the voices of black LGBT people and advancing the issues that are critical. NBJC has continued to work toward shaping the national dialog around the intersections of race, gender, sexuality and equality. And because the intersections of sexuality, spirituality, and justice is key work for MCC, NBJC has been an extremely important partner. NBJC has demonstrated a strong presence -- standing with us and other faith voices to counter homophobia, discrimination, and other forms of injustice in the religious and social spheres. We are indeed stronger together. And the overall LGBT and faith communities are the better because there is NBJC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I have the utmost respect for NBJC. It is mission-focused on the black LGBT community. Stealth in its connections, and valuable for its ability to mobilize and grow a movement. Hats off!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition isn't just a non-profit organization, we're a family. Back 2010, During my Senior year of college, I got a call saying that I had been invited to the White House to witness Barack Obama sign the HBCU initiative. The moment was completely surreal, and I could not fathom why the President of the Unites States wanted to meet ME... But the morning of February 26, 2010 forever changed my life. That's the day I met Sharon Lettman-Hicks and became a part of this family. She installed in me that the work I'm doing matters and is changing the lives of other Historically Black College & University students. That's what NBJC is all about, empowering US, to change the face of the movement for LGBT equality. NBJC is the sole reason I do the work I do today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

As a Black lesbian working in and for the LGBT community, I depend on the NBJC to keep me informed of current issues. I also depend on them to represent the needs and concerns of the Black LGBT community and in the last year have been impressed with their involvement in the Robert Champion case. I feel that they bring a perspective and understanding that is unique to the NBJC; and necessary in these types of situations.
As a mother, I am grateful for the work that the NBJC has done around our families. From the high visibility of Black LGBT families at the White House Egg Roll, to the work that they are doing with Black LGBT student groups, the NBJC proves their commitment to our families on a daily basis.
I’m proud to be a part of this organization and know that the work that they are doing is creating a better world and more positive reality for Black LGBT people, as well as the larger community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

It's relieving to know that there is an organization whose sole function is to represent and advocate for the black LGBTQ community. Thanks for the work you all do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

NBJC serves an important role in the lives of many African-American LGBT individuals and families by being a strong advocate on the issues that impact our lives and welfare. We count on NBJC to keep us informed on the latest policies out of Washington that should motivate us toward action.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

NBJC has been one of the influential stepping stones in my life. As an African American gender non-conformant young person, I often searched for a group of people that could fully understand my struggle and thankfully I didn't find just a group of people, I found a family within the members of NBJC. The organization has and continues to intentionally pave a path for me to succeed in a help lead out movement and for that I will be forever grateful!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

NBJC is a fantastic organization. As a young leader of a growing LGBTQ organization, NBJC has played a special role in helping me grow as a leader, connect with other LGBTQ leaders of color, and host local advocacy events. I am inspired every year by their OUT on a HILL day which brings together people from all around the country to build community and advocate for LGBTQ people of color. It is one of the first national organizations many come to learn of as an LGBTQ person of color looking to get involved and make a difference.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers