Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.815795
Write A Review
June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NBJC is an amazing organization that I am extremely fortunate to be a part of. The work that is done inspires me to work harder each and every day. The constant focus to create a better life for the Black LGBT community is remarkable, and I can honestly say that the focus is evenly distributed from the L, G, B, and T. Positive changes have occurred because of NBJC and positive changes will continue to occur.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

I loved working with National Black Justice Coalition as they were empowering in sharing my story as an openly gay, African American. I made great connections to others like me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I was recently introduced to NBJC this year, and have continued to be enlightened, encouraged, and inspired by the work of this amazing organization. It's not an easy task to create safe spaces for Black LGBTQ people, and NBJC not only takes this on with fearless commitment, but also works to educate our community on the issues that Black LGBTQ people face. I look forward to seeing the strides that NBJC will continue to make - and also to helping out as a volunteer to continue the fight for equality.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

NBJC is THE leading organization for Black LGBT persons. The innovative and knowledgeable staff are second to none and as an allied professional I am proud to call each of them my colleagues. As someone who works in the movement, the strain of carrying the torch of Black representation is not as great because I know NBJC has it covered.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

After reaching out to a former colleague at the NBJC, I received a wealth of information and assistance about LGBTQ topics and programs related to my job and personal aspirations. This was my first interaction with anyone from the NBJC and afterwards I was more than enthused that I could find help and information from an organization interested about improving the rights and exposure of topics specifically concerning people of color in the LGBTQ community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The NBJC is such a growing and innovative organization. Working with them reemphasizes this reputation and I will definitely volunteer with them again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

NBJC has served as an instrumental unofficial adviser to my fraternity. As the first LGBT Greek Lettered Organization, we serve as mighty ambassadors of the Black GLBT community and are expected to be present in fight for equality, inclusion and forward progression. We look to NBJC for guidance on current issues affecting our community and see collaboration with NBJC as a major opportunity to get involved with changing the closed minded views of the past.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I am a member of NBJC's Leadership Advisory Council and an admirer of NBJC's work from Chicago. One thing that NBJC helps us at Affinity Community Services do is tie national policy and initiatives to our work at the local level. Our work has been expanded because of our affiliation with NBJC and our expectations for the impact of our work have expanded too. NBJC is the organization that LGBT communities and Black communities have needed for a long time. The organization will prove to be an absolutely critical bridge to multiple communities as this nation and social justice spaces become more female and more people of color. Kudos to NBJC for being such a standard bearer!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Black bisexual poet and intellectual June Jordan once said, "We are the ones we have been waiting for." I feel that The National Black Justice Coalition, under the leadership and guidance of Sharon Lettman-Hicks, truly embodies this quote. NBJC is what the Black LGBT community has been waiting for. I have never been more inspired and empowered by an organization than I have been by NBJC. There is something about Sharon's visionary leadership, and her accessible team, that sparked a fire inside of me. I can truly say that 2012 has been one of the most powerful years of my life, in terms of social and political activism, and I have NBJC to thank for a large part of that. NBJC has consistently provided members of the Black LGBT community, and our allies, opportunities to let our voices be heard and to serve as vessels of change in our various communities. The White House meeting for emerging LGBT leaders, Out on the Hill conference for Black LGBT activists and advocates, and the organizations many efforts to harness the power of the Black LGBT community, are just a few examples of how NBJC stands out in a dynamic way. I recently had the opportunity to work with NBJC to secure marriage equality in the state of Maryland. I can't begin to state how amazing this experience was, and how much support NBJC gave its volunteers and supporters. This is an organization that operates with compassion, care, truth, knowledge, and love. I can't speak for others, but I know that NBJC is the organization that I have been waiting for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

The National Black Justice Coalition has been a beacon of clarity and direction for the Black LGBT community. I can always count on NBJC to do work that is relevant to Black LGBT people, and I know that they are always advocating on my behalf. Their staff is very nimble, and the organization is very active.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers