Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12.875345
Write A Review
April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

Audubon is the organization that brings birds to the forefront of environmental conservation as well as provides wonderful information and photos about birds and birding. It is a powerful advocate and voice for birds and their habitats such as the area that was devastated by the BP oil spill. As someone who loves birds and gets immense enjoyment from them I feel they are a great organization and I have learned a great deal about birds and environmental issues by being a member.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 2, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 2, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

How sad I am to find out that my donations have been used to pay past CEOs and presidents. I checked my other charities and no one I donate to does that. Just Audubon. I am so disappointed to find out that I have not helped the birds or conservation efforts that have been so important to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 26, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

half a million given to "past" CEO's??!! Is this an effective use of donor money? I have been donating to them for years but no more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Endless wasteful junk mail received as a result of my donation from both Audubon and related causes. My name/address seems to have been released or sold by Audubon judging by the number of similar charities sending junk mail my way. I will never donate again

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The new strategic plan is great. Focus on protection of birds and their habitats. Organizing their work based on flyways. This will make them even more effective.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We recently received a really apalling mailing from Audubon National. It looks very much like a membership renewal form, but if you read the fine print it's an "offer" to extend your current membership another year, which in our case would be beyond April 2013 when it actually expires. It also indicates that the minimum renewal is $90 when actually it's only $20. When I contacted Audubon to make sure I read it correctly, the reply I got said that this was "...a special offer sent out to all members regardless of their expiration date.: I think it's highly misleading and even borders on fraud. Shame on this otherwise worthy group!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 10, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

I recently joined the National Audubon Society for the first time. I support their mission and consider them a worthwhile organization to support. However, upon becoming a member I have been inundated, literally inundated, with solicitations from other environmental groups with which I have no history. I recycle but the amount of paper coming in as a result of my joining Audubon is truly sad. It is clear to me that they have shared my contact information with no fewer than 6 organizations from which I've heard this month alone. A call to the membership department confirms that this is Audubon's regular practice. If prospective members are warned that this will be the result of their joining, I believe it is in the fine print and easily overlooked. I would certainly have opted out had I realized, or else declined to join. It is an unfortunate practice and detracts from Audubon's good name and reputation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am a new member with little experience with the organization yet but a long-held respect for their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase transparency and ethical practice by alerting members clearly that their contact information will be shared with a significant number of other agencies for solicitation, or simply discontinue this practice.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers