Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12.875345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 10, 2014

more

November 10, 2014

Just joined Audubon Society after many years of birding. Before a single magazine arrived I was hit with two requests for money. Now the junk mail is starting from such bird thoughtful companies as the "Danbury Mint" for cute birds only $120 - hurry before they are all gone. I can't believe this… it will take great effort to get off the crappy mailing lists this organization sold my name to. I have written one letter of complaint but no answer. I am sending in my "don't send me anything anymore request - including the magazine."
October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Audubon is committed to the almighty dollar. They hold vast areas in the Mississippi delta and allow dredging and drilling in these sensitive areas to collect the royalties from the oil companies. In NC they sold a parcel of oceanfront land they had described themselves as highly sensitive and a bird sanctuary to developers who are now building the highest density develpment on North Carolinas Outer Banks. With over $300 million in assets they claim they didn't have the money to provide upkeep for the empty 14 acre parcel. The list goes on and on. Conservation takes a distant back seat to the dollar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

rename it Environmental Scam Artists

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Absolutely appalling amount of junk mail sent in the last year since I joined. I get numerous items per month asking for renewal, additional funds, etc. For a conservation organization this is absurd. They must spend millions on direct mail design, printing, paper, postage, etc. How does this show good global citizenship and good use of natural resources? What a waste of funds from people who think they are helping by contributing. I just requested my name be removed from all lists and I will never recommend this organization to anyone looking for someone to support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 16, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Audubon seems more concerned with fundraising than environmental work. Selling 14 acres of oceanfront in NC for 25 million to a developer of what has been a bird snactuary? Leasing oil rights in the Gulf coast region to the highest bidder in a wildlife sanctuary? Selling land in Virginia donated by the DuPont family for a wildlife refuge to developers?
Too much focus on money and generating more without protecting the environmental assets they have now.
In Cape Hatteras NC they approve of the killing of 300 to 400 mammals each year to protect 5 to 7 plover nests on the beach and actually have a consent decree from a judge to do so. Kill the animals to save the birds makes little sense.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

North Carolina

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

disband or thouroughly reorganize with a new and specific mission statement.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers