Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 29, 2013

Audubon is committed to the almighty dollar. They hold vast areas in the Mississippi delta and allow dredging and drilling in these sensitive areas to collect the royalties from the oil companies. In NC they sold a parcel of oceanfront land they had described themselves as highly sensitive and a bird sanctuary to developers who are now building the highest density develpment on North Carolinas Outer Banks. With over $300 million in assets they claim they didn't have the money to provide upkeep for the empty 14 acre parcel. The list goes on and on. Conservation takes a distant back seat to the dollar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

rename it Environmental Scam Artists

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

April 17, 2013

Audubon is the organization that brings birds to the forefront of environmental conservation as well as provides wonderful information and photos about birds and birding. It is a powerful advocate and voice for birds and their habitats such as the area that was devastated by the BP oil spill. As someone who loves birds and gets immense enjoyment from them I feel they are a great organization and I have learned a great deal about birds and environmental issues by being a member.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013

Absolutely appalling amount of junk mail sent in the last year since I joined. I get numerous items per month asking for renewal, additional funds, etc. For a conservation organization this is absurd. They must spend millions on direct mail design, printing, paper, postage, etc. How does this show good global citizenship and good use of natural resources? What a waste of funds from people who think they are helping by contributing. I just requested my name be removed from all lists and I will never recommend this organization to anyone looking for someone to support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2013

more

March 13, 2013

David Yarnold is a great leader who has a ridiculously challenging job. In his short tenure at Audubon he has revitalized the organization, attracted new talent, and given the organization direction and focus.

[Full disclosure, i know David and consult for Audubon, but these are my
personal views.]

I am not a raging fan of most CEOs in the environmental sector -- i find them to be extraordinarily risk-averse, politically naive and not especially inspiring. David is a very rare exception.

For those who fixate on salaries, remember that Audubon is a complex $80 million organization. David is worth every penny and then some. It's kind of silly to focus on CEO salaries, when there are so many more meaningful measures of an organization's financial stewardship.

Our birds are so much better off for David being there. Full stop.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 2, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

How sad I am to find out that my donations have been used to pay past CEOs and presidents. I checked my other charities and no one I donate to does that. Just Audubon. I am so disappointed to find out that I have not helped the birds or conservation efforts that have been so important to me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

half a million given to "past" CEO's??!! Is this an effective use of donor money? I have been donating to them for years but no more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Endless wasteful junk mail received as a result of my donation from both Audubon and related causes. My name/address seems to have been released or sold by Audubon judging by the number of similar charities sending junk mail my way. I will never donate again

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2012

The new strategic plan is great. Focus on protection of birds and their habitats. Organizing their work based on flyways. This will make them even more effective.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We recently received a really apalling mailing from Audubon National. It looks very much like a membership renewal form, but if you read the fine print it's an "offer" to extend your current membership another year, which in our case would be beyond April 2013 when it actually expires. It also indicates that the minimum renewal is $90 when actually it's only $20. When I contacted Audubon to make sure I read it correctly, the reply I got said that this was "...a special offer sent out to all members regardless of their expiration date.: I think it's highly misleading and even borders on fraud. Shame on this otherwise worthy group!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Audubon birders are out in the field all the time and are a daily watchdog for the protection of habitat - act local, think global. I first volunteered with the Massachusetts Audubon Society. We created a national deicing salt pollution awareness and reduction campaign, as it was killing trees and polluting ground water. Now in NY we saved funding for nature centers in the parks, which provide many free educational programs about birds for kids, our watchdogs of the future. National Audubon provides critical funding, coordination, and leadership.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers