Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

NAAFA changed my life forever. I heard about NAAFA when I was 18 years old. The doctor who examined me for college admission told me that because I was fat no one would ever love me, or want me. I would never be a success. Imagine saying that to an 18 year old. I felt miserable about myself. I went on yet another diet, to lose 30 lbs and eventually regain 60. NAAFA showed me that I could be a successful, loving woman no matter what I weighed. I met people at their conventions who lived their convictions, who were fat and happy. Without NAAFA, I couldn't have had the love and success in my life that I learned I deserved. I will be forever grateful for their example and guidance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

I think the work that NAAFA does in helping to raise awareness of Issues where Fat people are not receiving equal rights is outstanding. The level of dedication of the people who work for them is out of this world with many people working for the cause, including researchers, Fat positive nutritionists and fitness coaches, Activists, writers and Event organisers. These people work tirelessly to try to one day create a world where a person's shape and size does not dictate how they will be treated. I have many fat friends who have been subjected to bullying and also refusal of medical treatment because of their weight and/or size and I have found that those who work with NAAFA always go out of their way to help find solutions to these problems or at least offer friendly advice when contacted. Basically I think they do a fantastic job and wish I could do more to support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For the past two years I have attended the NAAFA national conferences - once in the DC area, once in San Francisco. As a fat person living in a thin-obsessed world, this is one of the highlights of the year. I get to meet and hang out with people who believe that I am beautiful. Without issue or outward shame, we swim, dance, play games, eat, and get informed about issues related to size acceptance. I get the tools I need to live proudly and confidently in my body for the rest of the year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stronger copy-editing on organization materials - the graphic design is strong, and the editing should match that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have found NAAFA to be one of the most self-less organization I have ever seen. Their support and encouragement with people of size has no equal. The Special Youth and Bullying programs should be required reading and supported. This organization does what it says it does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers