Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
Write A Review
September 23, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 29, 2010

I have been a member of NAAFA for more than 10 years and a member of the Board of Directors for five. It is a marvelous organization that works for the advancement and protection of the civil rights ... more

September 23, 2012

NAAFA is a wonderful organization that fights for the civil rights of fat people. We wanted to have the same rights as every one person in America and believe all people should be treated equally. Equality for Everyone is our goal. The ability to be treated as others are and to have the same rights, job opportunities and freedoms as other people are all important to every citizen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2010

I have been a member of NAAFA for more than 10 years and a member of the Board of Directors for five. It is a marvelous organization that works for the advancement and protection of the civil rights of fat people. We believe that all people should have the same rights and priviledges the world over.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my everyday and professional lives. As a high school teacher, I have used and shared information learned thanks to NAAFA with my students and colleagues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage more people to join and participate in the campaigns that NAAFA endorses. The greater our numbers the more effective we may be.

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

I just celebrated my 6th year as a NAAFA board member and I am truly honored to be a part of an organization that is making a positive impact in people's lives. I have met members from all over the world that are supporting our efforts. I have been honored to see how the organization has evolved with revamping its focus on civil rights, advocacy and education by developing the Size Diversity and Child Advocacy toolkits, producing guidelines for therapists, health care providers, fitness professional and other resources, like the travel tips guide to improve the lives of people of size. We streamlined and enhanced our annual national convention with sessions on advocacy training and in 2010 instituted our First international Health At Every Size (HAES) Biannual Summit. In addition we've put in a scholarship program for Fashion Design Students and for undergraduate and graduate students conducting HAES research. We're forming strategic alliances, created a chapter toolkit, launched a End Bullying Now campaign. What can people expect moving forward? Enhanced website and communication tools, continued focus on building strategic partnerships and our on-going commitment to diversity and inclusion, more guidelines and toolkits, more NAAFA chapters and a lot more. However, we can't do this work alone, we need YOU!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I am what is considered a typical- or average-sized person. A lot of important people in my life, including my wife and my mother, are people of size. I've been involved with NAAFA since 2003 as a enthuastic supporter, an officer in the local Washington/Baltimore chapter and currently as a National Board Member. I've seen the changes that NAAFA has made on a macro scale in advocating for issues regarding size acceptance as well as on a personal scale when people say that meeting other people like them at our conventions and other events is a life-changing experience by itself. I'm proud to be involved in an organization that strives for more equality in our country and throughout the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2010

more

December 29, 2010

NAAFA, is the civil rights organization dedicated to eliminating discrimination of fat people via advocacy, education and support. I have been on the board for 4 years and I am proud of what this organization has done for over 40+ years. We are the voice of those you find themselves voiceless, subjected to bullying, discrimination and harassment.

We are not an organization advocating to be fat, we are an organization advocating for fat people, who are entitled to a quality, harassment free life.

We organize an annual international convention, this past summer we organized the first Health at Every Size (HAES) Summit, with researchers from all over the world discussing their research and debunking the obesity epidemic and data based evidence that the traditional methodology is not the answer, the answer is embracing size diversity and encouraging healthy lifestyles based on quality measurements, not numbers on a scale.

We've revised our guidelines for therapists that have fat clients,that can be downloaded from our website. We're in the editing process of a Child Advocacy Tookit for parents, teachers, educators and others who work with children. We revising our guidelines for health care providers, which will be available via the NAAFA website.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen people become empowered as the result of attending our convention, attending workshops on health, advocacy and networking with other members and supporters. NAAFA helped me prepare for selecting a size-friendly physician by developing a healthcare bill of rights for fat patients that can be used to assist individuals in selecting a physician.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We're in the process of enhancing infrastructure to expand our visibility, continuing to develop alliances, encouraging people to become members of NAAFA, attended our conventions, write for our newsletter, volunteer their talents, work with civic leaders and legislators to support/write bills to add size discrimination and anti-bullying as a priority on Capital hill.

December 27, 2010

more

December 27, 2010

NAAFA is an all volunteer civil rights organization working to end the discrimination against people of size. Fat people are discriminated against constantly by employers, health care providers, institutions of learning, insurance companies, even family members and strangers on the street. Fat children are bullied and teased more than any other group of children. Losing weight is not as simple as going on a diet. If it were, the hundreds of diets on the market would have worked by now and there would be no more need for self inflicted starvation or body mutiliation through gastric by-pass or banding! NAAFA works to raise awareness of the discrimination and put an end to it through advocacy, public education and activism. Size discrimination touches all races, genders and socioeconomic levels. NAAFA's goal is to help build a society in which people of every size are accepted with dignity and equality in all aspects of life.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When I found this organization, I no longer felt alone in my struggle for self acceptance. I found there are thousands of people out there just like me who have struggled to conform to society's idea of an ideal body size without success. Since I have accepted myself and my body, I have learned to eat intuitively. My weight doesn't fluctuate anymore, my health is good and stable and I experience a new freedom, no more need to conform to other's ideas of how my body should look.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to grow the organization. I would add new board members, particularly a volunteer coordinator who could better utilize the many talents of our volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

A convention ad in Dimensions Magazine

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Meeting with members of Congress this Spring to discuss the bullying of fat children.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Ending discrimination against people of size.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers