Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
Write A Review
September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

NAAFA is a national organization that really speaks to what I call human rights. We all have choices. NAAFA provides a strong & professional but yet personal support system for it's members. Having been a big guy most of my life, I feel that NAAFA provides a great educational system also for the general public - and allows for everyone to make choices without discrimination. It's leaders are some of the most dedicated people you will ever meet - full of passion and compassion - and always ready to jump in with help and support. I have worked side by side with them at their annual international conferences as a vendor and have seen first hand their dedication and committment at work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their annual international conferences as well witnessing how this organization has helped a long list of personal friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their educational programs

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

What is unique about this organization?

It really is a one of a kind support group as well as educational group. They go above and beyond in supporting both members and non members of their respective communities. While some may disagree with their overall mission, none can deny that they provide a very unique platform to folks to make life choices and be themselves - without discrimination or judgment. Their community networking is amazing and pwerful!

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

NAAFA is an absolutely essential organisation in the current environment in which fatness is widely stigmatised and fat people are vilified purely on the basis of their body size. NAAFA has increasingly been active in advocating for the rights of all people to live in a society free of weight stigma, because weight stigma harms everyone. NAAFA's work is essential in bringing the voice of fat people to the table. I have attended a number of NAAFA conferences have seen first hand how their work is literally life-changing for many people. As a result of NAAFA's work, people realise, perhaps the first time in their lives, their wellbeing IS worth fighting for. That they are not trash. They are not automatically diseased. They are not destined to sit on the side lines. They can live full and happy lives. They can improve their health, no matter what their size. They can engage in society in full and meaningful ways. They can be alive, in every send of the word. NAAFA makes that happen.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

From the time I considered the idea that the focus on obesity was harmful, I sought out further science and research that would help me to understand this concept. NAAFA are a wealth of knowledge and I commend them highly for the work they do in advocacy and education to create awareness and bring awareness and change to create health equality!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Association for the Advancement of Fat Acceptance (NAAFA), is a champion in the trail-blazing civil rights effort to enlighten and eliminate barriers for people of size. Everyone who is engaged in the battle for civil and human rights, knows that the mission is not an easy one, and it takes passionate, experienced people to walk this walk. In that commitment, NAAFA has united people of size from every corner of the world, working tirelessly to educate each and all of us...including our health care professionals. NAAFA's reach and focus is all-encompassing; they're not only championing for the rights of adults of size, but for our children as well. As a civil and human rights professional, I can tell you firsthand, that NAAFA, Peggy Howell, Darlene Howell, and the NAAFA World Family are doing great things and positively effecting change in our midst. I hope you will support and empower them further, for the road is long and there remains much to be done. In the name of equality, thank you.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers