Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
Write A Review
September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I've been involved with this organization since 2008. They're doing wonderful work in making the world better for fat folks.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

My membership in NAAFA has helped me to accept and love my body. As a result, I now take better care of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This group has encouraged me to be more accepting of myself and others. That has resulted in me taking better care of myself/

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

I've been a member of NAAFA since some time in the early 1980's. This is one well-conceived, well-run, courageous organization. Imagine believing that fat people have rights, that they aren't all ugly and unloveable, that they aren't personally trying to destroy American healthcare! Who wants to be part of a group like that? ......More and more people, and as time goes by, what they have been saying all along makes more and more sense, and is backed by more and more research. As a "client served," I can thank NAAFA for getting me thru some very tough times with it's events, media and communications, and continuing efforts to educate. As a concerned professional (psychologist), I'm grateful for what NAAFA has done to support good empirical research even when it threatens powerful interests, and again what their resources have done to help me empower my own clients. Most of all, NAAFA is an amazing community which strives to be open, open-minded, and accessible all the time. I've been on the inside of some huge well-know and esteemed US non-profits, and it's not always pretty on the inside. NAAFA tries to be the best that it can be, in healthy ways. Not perfect, but open and honest. Of all the great non-profits I could vote for, NAAFA gets my vote.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

Some people say that fat people experience more prejudice in hiring and getting reasonable medical care than women, Blacks, Hispanics, or old people. Behavioral attempts to turn a fat person into a thin person fail most of the time long term, and surgical intervention often fails and sometimes kills. NAAFA is, as far as I know, the oldest of what are now multiple on-line communities which assert that someone who is fat: does not lose the right to be treated with respect, to be hired for a job that matches their skills, to have a dating life, to buy clothing that fits and is of sufficient quality for a reasonable price, to have a comfortable place to sit in a medical waiting room, and many other privileges which the skinny-minnies don't think twice about. Sometimes a fat person's worst enemy is herself, and only someone who has been there knows how to help turn that around. Well-meaning fat-phobic relatives and medical providers need to be educated against the myths about fatness sold by the diet and fashion industries. NAAFA has for years provided the materials for what has more recently been called "Health At Every Size".

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NAAFA has been instrumental in helping me find peace and acceptance with my size. The members are a treasure trove of advice and information on services for super sized people like myself. The world would be a poorer place without them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My affiliation with NAAFA began in 1993. I had seen a show about a young lady who wanted to be a nurse but she couldn't fit in the desks in Nursing School. NAAFA advocated for her to make sure she had what she needed. That story had me searching, and finding, the national chapter which lead me to the local chapter, the Hill Country Chapter of NAAFA. Warmth and acceptance surrounded me as I found other folks just like me who had faced the struggles I had faced and come out the other side of their experiences stronger and filled with self esteem. I am so lucky I found them! Through the years I have maintained relationships that I first made in NAAFA all those years ago. I can always count on seeing a familiar face at any size acceptance or BBW event that I go to. Thanks to NAAFA I am sassy and happy with who I am.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I attended NAAFA's annual conference in Millbrae, California. As a first time attendee, i wasn't sure what to expect. I was happily surprised at the quality of the programming, the quality of the conference settings and thoughtfulness of the planning committee with regards to the comfort and accommodations needed by attendees. NAAFA staff was always warm, welcoming and helpful when I needed help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I am a SSBBW and as you can imagine at times I feel very out of place in everyday society. NAAFA has provided me a safe haven, where I can go out and be amoung other people of size and not feel uncomfortable or uneasy. Also, as a larger person, I truly appreciate their effort to ensure basic rights and accessability to everyday things such as healthcare, jobs, seating. All the normal things that thinner people take for granted. I am not always comfortable enough to know how to approach the subject, of the need, for proper seating in waiting rooms or places of business, however, I can print out a NAAFA brochure and hand it to the doctor, or business owner. It is very easy for people of size to feel ostrasized from society. We are constantly being put down and ridiculed for our size. All it does is perpetuate the problem. We are human beings who want the same things in life as everyone else. We want love, acceptance, encouragement and the freedom to just exist and live without constantly being beat up, abused, bullied or bombarded with people tellingus we are less than human. NAAFA fights to give us that. NAAFA, the National Association to Advance Fat Acceptance is a human rights organization fighting, lobbying working hard to give people of any size the right to just exist in a world that tells us we shouldn't. I will forever be grateful for NAAFA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers