Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
Write A Review
September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first became aware of NAAFA when they called to collaborate in the Teen Summit our organization, The Positive Results Corporation was hosting. Wow, every person I met was positive, inspiring, beautiful and dedicated to informing the world about the importance of eliminating discrimination based on body size! The organization is outstanding, the people are outstanding. They are dedicated to changing lives and how those lives are viewed. They are an excellent collaborative partner. Not only did they show up at our Teen Summit as a dedicated and committed group, they went to great levels to support our program and organization, including providing literature, hosting workshops, engaging with the youth, their families and other community partners. Their message is clear and applies to all! Health At Every Size! Top award in my book goes to National Association to Advance Fat Americans (NAAFA)!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I am a SSBBW and as you can imagine at times I feel very out of place in everyday society. NAAFA has provided me a safe haven, where I can go out and be amoung other people of size and not feel uncomfortable or uneasy. Also, as a larger person, I truly appreciate their effort to ensure basic rights and accessability to everyday things such as healthcare, jobs, seating. All the normal things that thinner people take for granted. I am not always comfortable enough to know how to approach the subject, of the need, for proper seating in waiting rooms or places of business, however, I can print out a NAAFA brochure and hand it to the doctor, or business owner. It is very easy for people of size to feel ostrasized from society. We are constantly being put down and ridiculed for our size. All it does is perpetuate the problem. We are human beings who want the same things in life as everyone else. We want love, acceptance, encouragement and the freedom to just exist and live without constantly being beat up, abused, bullied or bombarded with people tellingus we are less than human. NAAFA fights to give us that. NAAFA, the National Association to Advance Fat Acceptance is a human rights organization fighting, lobbying working hard to give people of any size the right to just exist in a world that tells us we shouldn't. I will forever be grateful for NAAFA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I am what is considered a typical- or average-sized person. A lot of important people in my life, including my wife and my mother, are people of size. I've been involved with NAAFA since 2003 as a enthuastic supporter, an officer in the local Washington/Baltimore chapter and currently as a National Board Member. I've seen the changes that NAAFA has made on a macro scale in advocating for issues regarding size acceptance as well as on a personal scale when people say that meeting other people like them at our conventions and other events is a life-changing experience by itself. I'm proud to be involved in an organization that strives for more equality in our country and throughout the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2010

more

December 29, 2010

NAAFA, is the civil rights organization dedicated to eliminating discrimination of fat people via advocacy, education and support. I have been on the board for 4 years and I am proud of what this organization has done for over 40+ years. We are the voice of those you find themselves voiceless, subjected to bullying, discrimination and harassment.

We are not an organization advocating to be fat, we are an organization advocating for fat people, who are entitled to a quality, harassment free life.

We organize an annual international convention, this past summer we organized the first Health at Every Size (HAES) Summit, with researchers from all over the world discussing their research and debunking the obesity epidemic and data based evidence that the traditional methodology is not the answer, the answer is embracing size diversity and encouraging healthy lifestyles based on quality measurements, not numbers on a scale.

We've revised our guidelines for therapists that have fat clients,that can be downloaded from our website. We're in the editing process of a Child Advocacy Tookit for parents, teachers, educators and others who work with children. We revising our guidelines for health care providers, which will be available via the NAAFA website.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen people become empowered as the result of attending our convention, attending workshops on health, advocacy and networking with other members and supporters. NAAFA helped me prepare for selecting a size-friendly physician by developing a healthcare bill of rights for fat patients that can be used to assist individuals in selecting a physician.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We're in the process of enhancing infrastructure to expand our visibility, continuing to develop alliances, encouraging people to become members of NAAFA, attended our conventions, write for our newsletter, volunteer their talents, work with civic leaders and legislators to support/write bills to add size discrimination and anti-bullying as a priority on Capital hill.

December 27, 2010

more

December 27, 2010

NAAFA is the oldest organization in the size acceptance community and the only organization that is fighting for the civil rights of all people of size. NAAFA is the "go to" organization for the media and people when there are questions regarding civil rights of fat people. We have been working toward changing current legislation to include "size" as a protected class. Stand with us to make real changes in the lives of fat people and fight back in the war against 70% of Americans. We can make a difference if we work together.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NAAFA has helped change my self-esteem and in how I view myself. I've also seen how self-acceptance has changed the lives of others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We have been making internal changes over the last 5 years to make the organization run more smoothly. I would want to see the forward movement continue. I would love to see more people actively involved by volunteering and to see a Volunteer Coordinator/Project Manager to assist the Board of Directors with on-going projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 27, 2010

more

December 27, 2010

NAAFA is an all volunteer civil rights organization working to end the discrimination against people of size. Fat people are discriminated against constantly by employers, health care providers, institutions of learning, insurance companies, even family members and strangers on the street. Fat children are bullied and teased more than any other group of children. Losing weight is not as simple as going on a diet. If it were, the hundreds of diets on the market would have worked by now and there would be no more need for self inflicted starvation or body mutiliation through gastric by-pass or banding! NAAFA works to raise awareness of the discrimination and put an end to it through advocacy, public education and activism. Size discrimination touches all races, genders and socioeconomic levels. NAAFA's goal is to help build a society in which people of every size are accepted with dignity and equality in all aspects of life.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When I found this organization, I no longer felt alone in my struggle for self acceptance. I found there are thousands of people out there just like me who have struggled to conform to society's idea of an ideal body size without success. Since I have accepted myself and my body, I have learned to eat intuitively. My weight doesn't fluctuate anymore, my health is good and stable and I experience a new freedom, no more need to conform to other's ideas of how my body should look.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to grow the organization. I would add new board members, particularly a volunteer coordinator who could better utilize the many talents of our volunteers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

A convention ad in Dimensions Magazine

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Meeting with members of Congress this Spring to discuss the bullying of fat children.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Ending discrimination against people of size.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers