Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

Some people say that fat people experience more prejudice in hiring and getting reasonable medical care than women, Blacks, Hispanics, or old people. Behavioral attempts to turn a fat person into a thin person fail most of the time long term, and surgical intervention often fails and sometimes kills. NAAFA is, as far as I know, the oldest of what are now multiple on-line communities which assert that someone who is fat: does not lose the right to be treated with respect, to be hired for a job that matches their skills, to have a dating life, to buy clothing that fits and is of sufficient quality for a reasonable price, to have a comfortable place to sit in a medical waiting room, and many other privileges which the skinny-minnies don't think twice about. Sometimes a fat person's worst enemy is herself, and only someone who has been there knows how to help turn that around. Well-meaning fat-phobic relatives and medical providers need to be educated against the myths about fatness sold by the diet and fashion industries. NAAFA has for years provided the materials for what has more recently been called "Health At Every Size".

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

I am personally grateful for this organization's advocacy, information-sharing, education and support of Americans of all sizes. Their pro-active representation of a grassroots refusal to accept discrimination, and their efforts to eliminate size bias, promote human rights and uphold the Constitution.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

NAAFA is a lone voice speaking for the deeply disenfranchised, those of us who are fat and often physically disabled. I'm an advocate for LGBTQ rights and have been so glad to see the gay rights movement grow and flourish in advocacy, community, and demand the right to be who they are - not a choice, just a fact. We the fat face many similar issues. The vast majority of us did not choose this - to be on the condemned fringes of society, criticized and mocked "for our own good." NAAFA and NAAFA alone speaks for us, calmly against the snake oil diet and gastric surgery salespeople who keep finding new ways to kill us for being ourselves! NAAFA insists that we have every right to exist, work, date, and go to the gym - because EXERCISE determines fitness and health, not weight! But we the fat are too often ashamed to be seen to join a gym or go out and have fun. With NAAfA we learn our rights, we find (at last!) our community, we speak up for each other and for ourselves, and we also "get to" have fashion shows, dances, and a really great time - and all in a great cause of the civil rights movement that the mainstream stigmatizes exactly like it did homosexuality 50 years ago - as a sickness. NAAFA has been here since the 60's, and I pray it will continue to stand for us until we start to win some ground.... Though I wonder whether the gay rights and race rights movements would have made the progress they have if there had already been an entrenched multi-billion dollar industry dedicated to making the gays straight or bleaching the darker races to look white.... No, it can't be done and shouldn't be tried, but at least most people seem to know that about our cousin minorities, and no one but NAAFA ever says so, and some make millions insisting, despite decades of evidence and "results not typical" ads, that we can and should be "fixed!"

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

For the past two years I have attended the NAAFA national conferences - once in the DC area, once in San Francisco. As a fat person living in a thin-obsessed world, this is one of the highlights of the year. I get to meet and hang out with people who believe that I am beautiful. Without issue or outward shame, we swim, dance, play games, eat, and get informed about issues related to size acceptance. I get the tools I need to live proudly and confidently in my body for the rest of the year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stronger copy-editing on organization materials - the graphic design is strong, and the editing should match that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NAAFA has been instrumental in helping me find peace and acceptance with my size. The members are a treasure trove of advice and information on services for super sized people like myself. The world would be a poorer place without them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

From the time I considered the idea that the focus on obesity was harmful, I sought out further science and research that would help me to understand this concept. NAAFA are a wealth of knowledge and I commend them highly for the work they do in advocacy and education to create awareness and bring awareness and change to create health equality!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My affiliation with NAAFA began in 1993. I had seen a show about a young lady who wanted to be a nurse but she couldn't fit in the desks in Nursing School. NAAFA advocated for her to make sure she had what she needed. That story had me searching, and finding, the national chapter which lead me to the local chapter, the Hill Country Chapter of NAAFA. Warmth and acceptance surrounded me as I found other folks just like me who had faced the struggles I had faced and come out the other side of their experiences stronger and filled with self esteem. I am so lucky I found them! Through the years I have maintained relationships that I first made in NAAFA all those years ago. I can always count on seeing a familiar face at any size acceptance or BBW event that I go to. Thanks to NAAFA I am sassy and happy with who I am.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I attended NAAFA's annual conference in Millbrae, California. As a first time attendee, i wasn't sure what to expect. I was happily surprised at the quality of the programming, the quality of the conference settings and thoughtfulness of the planning committee with regards to the comfort and accommodations needed by attendees. NAAFA staff was always warm, welcoming and helpful when I needed help.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have found NAAFA to be one of the most self-less organization I have ever seen. Their support and encouragement with people of size has no equal. The Special Youth and Bullying programs should be required reading and supported. This organization does what it says it does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Association for the Advancement of Fat Acceptance (NAAFA), is a champion in the trail-blazing civil rights effort to enlighten and eliminate barriers for people of size. Everyone who is engaged in the battle for civil and human rights, knows that the mission is not an easy one, and it takes passionate, experienced people to walk this walk. In that commitment, NAAFA has united people of size from every corner of the world, working tirelessly to educate each and all of us...including our health care professionals. NAAFA's reach and focus is all-encompassing; they're not only championing for the rights of adults of size, but for our children as well. As a civil and human rights professional, I can tell you firsthand, that NAAFA, Peggy Howell, Darlene Howell, and the NAAFA World Family are doing great things and positively effecting change in our midst. I hope you will support and empower them further, for the road is long and there remains much to be done. In the name of equality, thank you.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers