Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

I found NAAFA back in 1985 through a friend who was a member. My first convention was shocking to me - in the nicest way. Here was a place where I wasn't "the other", the person who stuck out like a sore thumb. I was fat, I continue to be fat, but I am part of a group of people who think I'm valuable, weight and all. My peeps. Out in the real world, I'm hated, feared, and considered to be an object of ridicule and target for hate-speech. NAAFA has worked in the real world to make strides in providing education for health care workers, airline personnel, and children in distress. They stand up for individuals who cannot speak for themselves. I no longer hate myself for my size.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

I first joined NAAFA back in 1998. I have met so many wonderful people over the years and feel that my life is richer because of this organization. I love going to the national conventions and helping spread the message of "Equaility at Every Size." I am excited to see the direction NAAFA is headed and am proud to be a part of it. I can't wait to see the changes that will unfold in the very near future and look forward to a living in a world where people are accepted just as they are.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

Always looking for legitimate solutions to help the overweight community to be treated fairly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

I've been a member of NAAFA since some time in the early 1980's. This is one well-conceived, well-run, courageous organization. Imagine believing that fat people have rights, that they aren't all ugly and unloveable, that they aren't personally trying to destroy American healthcare! Who wants to be part of a group like that? ......More and more people, and as time goes by, what they have been saying all along makes more and more sense, and is backed by more and more research. As a "client served," I can thank NAAFA for getting me thru some very tough times with it's events, media and communications, and continuing efforts to educate. As a concerned professional (psychologist), I'm grateful for what NAAFA has done to support good empirical research even when it threatens powerful interests, and again what their resources have done to help me empower my own clients. Most of all, NAAFA is an amazing community which strives to be open, open-minded, and accessible all the time. I've been on the inside of some huge well-know and esteemed US non-profits, and it's not always pretty on the inside. NAAFA tries to be the best that it can be, in healthy ways. Not perfect, but open and honest. Of all the great non-profits I could vote for, NAAFA gets my vote.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

For me, one of the key benefits of NAAFA is that they provide spokespeople who go onto media platforms and stand up for people of size. They make others question their preconceived ideas and prejudices, and they do it with intelligence, grace, and humour, often in the face of extreme hostility and personal attacks. As a fat person who once lived a half life because of the belief that fat people are only worthy of respect and fulfilment once they become thin, it is the voices of NAAFA volunteers and others that made me realise that I had value as a human being no matter what I looked like. But they also provide instant advocacy to address injustices as they arrive, responding to news stories, corporate practices and changes in legislation. Despite being a powerful advocacy group, they deliver their message based on evidence and simple justice - they do not simply stand on their soapbox and shout at everybody. And they provide resources to help other individuals and organisations incorporate good practice into their lives and work, that don't involve accusations or judgments but simply provide good advice and explanation of the issues.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

I think the work that NAAFA does in helping to raise awareness of Issues where Fat people are not receiving equal rights is outstanding. The level of dedication of the people who work for them is out of this world with many people working for the cause, including researchers, Fat positive nutritionists and fitness coaches, Activists, writers and Event organisers. These people work tirelessly to try to one day create a world where a person's shape and size does not dictate how they will be treated. I have many fat friends who have been subjected to bullying and also refusal of medical treatment because of their weight and/or size and I have found that those who work with NAAFA always go out of their way to help find solutions to these problems or at least offer friendly advice when contacted. Basically I think they do a fantastic job and wish I could do more to support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

NAAFA is a national organization that really speaks to what I call human rights. We all have choices. NAAFA provides a strong & professional but yet personal support system for it's members. Having been a big guy most of my life, I feel that NAAFA provides a great educational system also for the general public - and allows for everyone to make choices without discrimination. It's leaders are some of the most dedicated people you will ever meet - full of passion and compassion - and always ready to jump in with help and support. I have worked side by side with them at their annual international conferences as a vendor and have seen first hand their dedication and committment at work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their annual international conferences as well witnessing how this organization has helped a long list of personal friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their educational programs

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

What is unique about this organization?

It really is a one of a kind support group as well as educational group. They go above and beyond in supporting both members and non members of their respective communities. While some may disagree with their overall mission, none can deny that they provide a very unique platform to folks to make life choices and be themselves - without discrimination or judgment. Their community networking is amazing and pwerful!

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

NAAFA is an absolutely essential organisation in the current environment in which fatness is widely stigmatised and fat people are vilified purely on the basis of their body size. NAAFA has increasingly been active in advocating for the rights of all people to live in a society free of weight stigma, because weight stigma harms everyone. NAAFA's work is essential in bringing the voice of fat people to the table. I have attended a number of NAAFA conferences have seen first hand how their work is literally life-changing for many people. As a result of NAAFA's work, people realise, perhaps the first time in their lives, their wellbeing IS worth fighting for. That they are not trash. They are not automatically diseased. They are not destined to sit on the side lines. They can live full and happy lives. They can improve their health, no matter what their size. They can engage in society in full and meaningful ways. They can be alive, in every send of the word. NAAFA makes that happen.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

NAAFA is the hub of the wheel to persons of size. Their board of directors, volunteers and supporters work tiredlessly to champion the cause of ending discrimination against fat people once and for all. When there is an injustice perceived against persons of size, they are generally the once who come forward first on behalf of those in the size acceptance community and work tiredlessly towards resolving, enlightening or educating the public to effect change. Discrimination against persons of size has many facets, many of which the general public chooses to simply look the other way. We must all work towards ending what many in the size acceptance community consider "the last acceptable form of discrimination". For this reason fat people need NAAFA to continue championing this cause and rallying the community as one. Please lend your support to NAAFA and let's end size discrimination, one confident fat person at a time. Thanks

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

NAAFA does such important work. It has been the most significant civil rights group fighting for the rights, dignity and well-being of fat people for over 40 years. With the escalating "war on obesity," NAAFA is a sane voice in the world, trying to temper the damage inflicted by a prejudice that, according to a study by the Rudd Center at Yale, has as much impact as racism on the quality of lives of fat people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers