Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.918925
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

NAAFA produces a great selection of print materials that I have found beneficial over the past 30 years. Some are ideal for well meaning family and friends but the most important I have passed on to my healthcare providers. Medical bias about size has caused me to receive inadequate care and has discouraged me from seeking much needed healthcare. Just having a well written brochure in hand can make all the difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

NAAFA changed my life forever. I heard about NAAFA when I was 18 years old. The doctor who examined me for college admission told me that because I was fat no one would ever love me, or want me. I would never be a success. Imagine saying that to an 18 year old. I felt miserable about myself. I went on yet another diet, to lose 30 lbs and eventually regain 60. NAAFA showed me that I could be a successful, loving woman no matter what I weighed. I met people at their conventions who lived their convictions, who were fat and happy. Without NAAFA, I couldn't have had the love and success in my life that I learned I deserved. I will be forever grateful for their example and guidance.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

I've been involved with this organization since 2008. They're doing wonderful work in making the world better for fat folks.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2012

more

September 24, 2012

Naafa is a place where I can be accepted for myself and not the size of my pants. I can be comfortable knowing I am accepted for who I am. A place where you can find support and advocacy. Until society as a whole stops bullying people who are fat or overweight than organizations like Naafa need to exsist. Fat discrimination is so accepted in our society today it is unreal. Thanks to Naafa, I have accepted myself for who I am and not the number on a scale.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 23, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 29, 2010

I have been a member of NAAFA for more than 10 years and a member of the Board of Directors for five. It is a marvelous organization that works for the advancement and protection of the civil rights ... more

September 23, 2012

NAAFA is a wonderful organization that fights for the civil rights of fat people. We wanted to have the same rights as every one person in America and believe all people should be treated equally. Equality for Everyone is our goal. The ability to be treated as others are and to have the same rights, job opportunities and freedoms as other people are all important to every citizen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 29, 2010

I have been a member of NAAFA for more than 10 years and a member of the Board of Directors for five. It is a marvelous organization that works for the advancement and protection of the civil rights of fat people. We believe that all people should have the same rights and priviledges the world over.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my everyday and professional lives. As a high school teacher, I have used and shared information learned thanks to NAAFA with my students and colleagues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage more people to join and participate in the campaigns that NAAFA endorses. The greater our numbers the more effective we may be.

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

There is a huge amount of social stigma associated with being fat, and the anti-obesity campaigns and reporting in the media are enforcing it. While it's touted as being in the interest of health, what this actually does is to create a very hostile environment, in which fat people are harassed, ostracised and discriminated against. Additionally, it negatively affects all of society, by making people unhappy, scared of food, and making them hate their bodies. NAAFA does excellent work in this field, by trying to challenge the stigma presented in the media through consciousness raising, providing alternative information and engaging with the media. This type of work is rare, and desperately needed.
September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

NAAFA has provided an activist voice to fat people for over 40 years. It seeks to end stigma, discrimination, and promote understanding that fat people are normal human beings, that diets don't work, and fat is not as bad as the media plays out. NAAFA also has an annual convention filled with fun activism, great networking, and fun parties.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

I just celebrated my 6th year as a NAAFA board member and I am truly honored to be a part of an organization that is making a positive impact in people's lives. I have met members from all over the world that are supporting our efforts. I have been honored to see how the organization has evolved with revamping its focus on civil rights, advocacy and education by developing the Size Diversity and Child Advocacy toolkits, producing guidelines for therapists, health care providers, fitness professional and other resources, like the travel tips guide to improve the lives of people of size. We streamlined and enhanced our annual national convention with sessions on advocacy training and in 2010 instituted our First international Health At Every Size (HAES) Biannual Summit. In addition we've put in a scholarship program for Fashion Design Students and for undergraduate and graduate students conducting HAES research. We're forming strategic alliances, created a chapter toolkit, launched a End Bullying Now campaign. What can people expect moving forward? Enhanced website and communication tools, continued focus on building strategic partnerships and our on-going commitment to diversity and inclusion, more guidelines and toolkits, more NAAFA chapters and a lot more. However, we can't do this work alone, we need YOU!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

My membership in NAAFA has helped me to accept and love my body. As a result, I now take better care of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This group has encouraged me to be more accepting of myself and others. That has resulted in me taking better care of myself/

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

NAAFA seeks to help those who are kept down and disenfranchised in our society for their body size or weight. They work tirelessly to include weight, size and height based discrimination under anti-discrimination legislation at the local, state and national levels, have regional, municipal and national chapters and organize individuals to feel empowered in their bodies and as equal as every other person. Their work is important, their efforts honest and their results inspiring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers