Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

My name is Jecori Owens-Shuler and I am a Senior at Chapel Hill High School. I've known about the club since freshman year, but I distinctly remember walking past the room early on during my sophomore year and seeing pizza. Of course I wanted to see what was happening in the room and I also saw a friend indulging in the pizza that I was attracted to. I walked up to Ariel Kantor and asked about the club. He gave me a brief explanation of what the club does, and I signed up right then and there, because who can resist pizza?. After returning to the club the following week for the normal meetings, I didn’t see any pizza, but I walked in anyway to learn what I had gotten myself into. I was shy at first and didn’t know anyone else in the club except my friend, who had not shown up to that meeting. I quietly listened around the table after introducing myself to understand the next event that we were planning. After a few minutes I was completely informed of the great things that this club could do, and my mind instantly began brainstorming different events that we could host. I felt empowered; that was extremely invigorating, feeling that sensation as a sophomore in high school. Ever since the first formal meeting that I attended, I have been very involved and happy to be in the club. My friend, Ariel Kantor, is now the Vice President of the national SAVE club, and a member of the national youth advisory board; I tried to run for the president of the Chapel Hill High branch to later realize that it is better to have everyone feel as if they are the president of the club. This club has made me a better person, a better role model, and has increased my communication/presentation skills. I love this club, and although I am the president of another club, and hold several high officer positions of other clubs throughout the week, I dedicate my devotion and time to this organziation, because of the change and impact it has on our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

My name is Brady Ledbetter and I have been involved in SAVE for 4 years, and it has been a great experience in my life. I have personally seen the difference it has made in my school and community. Since my school has had the program, which me started in 2008, there have been no fights and the bullying rate has gone down about 90%. The program works and is a great instrument and tool to use. You can use it at any level,( high school, junior high, and elementary) which makes it a great asset. I think it is a great program and want to see it be used in years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing to it. It is great!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

Hello, I am Laurie Schloff, author of the book Twenty Twinkling Stars, twentytwinklingstars.org a children's book written after the tragedy in Newtown on December 14, 2012.
Our team searched for an organization to donate sales of the book to.
We investigated many and felt that SAVE had the
most comprehensive, sensible and long term impact of any organization dedicated to violence prevention.
Additionally, Carleen Wray, Brandon Boxler and Gary Weart, leaders and mentors to the students of SAVE are passionate, responsive and tireless in their mission for a more peaceful future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2012

more

October 9, 2012

I became involved with SAVE when I was in high school and served on its Youth Advisory Board and today I am a member of the organizations board of directors. This organization is built on the foundation of being youth-led and it was truly an opportunity for me to learn so many leadership skills and it opened the door to many exciting opportunities to engage in problem solving and community service. I cannot recommend it enough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I've been involved with SAVE for 16 years as a chapter advisor and an advisor the National Youth Advisory Board. In that time I can say that I have been privileged to work with some of the most dedicated, creative and caring young people that anyone could hope to work with. The best thing about SAVE is that the students take the lead. They come up with the ideas for what needs to be done in their school or community and then plan and implement the activity. As adults we only need to help them figure out how to make their projects into reality. The resources and support the staff at the national SAVE office are top notch and they always respond right away and with answers to all of my questions. An absolutely superb organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
September 21, 2012

I have been involved with SAVE for more than a dozen years, and I am still amazed by the powerful ways the organization impacts schools and communities. Youth everywhere want to help stop the violence they see every day, and they are turning to SAVE for guidance, resources, and support.
Over
the years, I have met SAVE members across the country who are teaching others how to resolve conflicts peacefully, who are speaking out against the bullying that is hurting their friends, and who are showing their parents, teachers, and coaches how to make their schools and communities safer. Those youth--those SAVE members--see SAVE for what it truly is: a positive community of support for youth everywhere who want to put an end to violence.
There are no other nonprofit organizations like SAVE. No other group has as its core mission the goal of empowering students with the skills and resources they need to be leaders in the fight against violence.
I cannot recommend SAVE highly enough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I have been involved with SAVE for 16 years, since I was 14 years old. The organization is serving thousands of young people around the world. SAVE is committed to crime prevention, conflict management, and service projects for youth! The organization changed my life and has transformed the lives of so many around our country, our world. I highly recommend SAVE.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

I was on the Youth Advisory Board for SAVE from 2003 until 2006 and it was such a great experience! While having the opportunity to practice public speaking and how to become a more effective leader I had the chance to educate others on the dangers of bullying and harmful relationships. I truly believe in SAVE's vision and mission and it was great to be surrounded by others who felt the same way. By coming together with the same goal, great accomplishments can be made and SAVE is providing the common source to further the movement for safer schools. SAVE is a great organization to volunteer with and since 2006 I have volunteered with SAVE on several occasions and it is always a worthwhile experience. Being part of SAVE has helped me become who I am today and I very thankful I had the opportunity to be part of the Youth Advisory Board.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 28, 2012

more

August 28, 2012

SAVE has opened so many doors for me and my community. It also has made a huge impact on the epidemic of bullying and has lowered the numbers tremendously. Also, it has provided positive outlets for kids and adults of all ages to be themselves and to feel safe and comfortable. SAVE is one of a kind and for the organization, i am very greatful.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer to assist a local SAVE Chapter with a project or at one of their meetings.  Activities vary and could be anything from handing out ribbons or bookmarks during National School Violence Prevention Week or helping to organize a service project to benefit a local shelter around the holidays.