Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Very well run nonprofit organization with excellent volunteer leadership and dedicated board members.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am honored to be a member volunteer with the Assistance League of Charlotte for the last 4 years. We are a hard working group of amazing women working together to bring 5 valuable philanthropic programs to the at-risk children here in Charlotte. Please consider supporting our efforts by shopping in our Thrift Shop, donating gently used household goods, furniture and clothing at our donation door, or becoming a member volunteer! We are located on South Tryon and Clanton Roads.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm proud to be a member of this wonderful hard working organization of women and men. I've been a member volunteer for 14 years and now that I am retired it has become one of the most rewarding part of my life. The care and consideration each member shows for the children we serve, and the members we serve with, is heart warming. We are hard working volunteers who love what we do and it shows in the many lives we work to improve.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After 26 years in the corporate world and almost nine years as a member volunteer I am still amazed at what all we do for the Charlotte at-risk youth in our community: we feed, we clothe, we mentor, we educate. We are a member-led volunteer nonprofit organization administering five philanthropic programs and managing a terrific Thrift Shop that helps fund those programs. Please check us out at charlotte.assistanceleague.org and come by the Thrift Shop open to the public T/TH/FRI/SAT 10:00-4:00. Join us by becoming a member and be a part of a dynamic group of women who've been making a difference in Charlotte childrens' lives for over 20 years!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

I am so proud to be a part of such a community driven organization. We touch so many children and their families through our philanthropic programs. The volunteers in our organization are the hardest working folks I have ever worked with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have been working for this wonderful volunteer organization for nearly three years. Every day we feed 4000 school children and clothe over 2000 school children annually. We mentor first time teen offenders through our Teen Court Program and awarded $30,000 in scholarships last year. Our funds come from the sales in our highly successful Assistance League Thrift Shop, grant awards and donations. We have only one paid employee so our return to the community is truly exceptional. I am proud to work alongside the more than 150 dedicated and caring volunteer members. We make a difference in our community everyday by filling the needs of children who might otherwise go hungry, not attend school or become crime statistics. My charity of choice is most definitely Assistance League of Charlotte!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Establish more name recognition and inform more people of the good works going on within this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Assistance League of Charlotte has been making great strides in it's effort to better serve the Charlotte-Mecklenburg community. We are set to close on our own building very soon, a sign of real progress and growth as we enter our 21st year of existence!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League for almost nine years, and wouldn't exchange this experience for anything! We feed, clothe, mentor and educate through our community-based philanthropic prog... more

October 13, 2014

What a wonderful organization! I have been volunteering with Assistance League of Charlotte for almost 11 years. We are dedicated to improving the lives of our community's children and families through five philanthropic programs - we feed, we clothe, we mentor, we educate! The revenue from our fabulous thrift shop helps fund these programs. And, we couldn't do what we do without the support of our grantors and donors. If you're looking for a place to volunteer or make a donation (monetary or goods for our thrift shop) - check us out!
November 1, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League for almost nine years, and wouldn't exchange this experience for anything! We feed, clothe, mentor and educate through our community-based philanthropic programs. We really do make a difference every day. Seeing the gratitude in the eyes of a child lets me know it is all worthwhile. If you want to make a difference in our community and make great friends at the same time, this is the organization for you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League of Charlotte since 1999. Volunteering with this organization is just about the best thing I have ever done. I have made some wonderful friends and helped some terrific children in Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
July 14, 2012

Assistance League of Charlotte volunteers are a group of hard-working people with the biggest hearts in the city. I was first drawn to them through a newspaper article about their program, Operation... more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a Board Member/Volunteer of Assistance League of Charlotte, and a very active volunteer within the Charlotte community all my adult life, I can honestly say this is a group of dedicated volunteers unlike any group or organization I have encountered. before. They work hard, they are frugal with their funds and their hearts are in the right place. Does Assistance League of Charlotte change lives? You bet we do. We clothe children in uniforms and warm winter coats so they can fit into their school classes, We fill hungry bellies with nutritious snacks so they can concentrate on their studies. We turn lives around by giving a teen a second chance to right a wrong. We give scholarships to deserving students so college becomes a reality. We waste nothing as we reach out to other organizations in our Outreach program. I tell each and every person who will slow down long enough to listen about Assistance League of Charlotte, what we do, why we do it and how they can help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

Assistance League of Charlotte volunteers are a group of hard-working people with the biggest hearts in the city. I was first drawn to them through a newspaper article about their program, Operation Check Hunger. In this day and age, children shouldn't go hungry, and here was this organization making sure they didn't. Daily during the school year, Assistance League of Charlotte provides snacks to send home with thousands of children so they can attend to their studies without an empty tummy. WOW! I wanted to be a part of that group. While that is the program that drew me to Assistance League, I met with them and was taken aback with their other programs. Many, many hours go into support of Operation School Bell, Operation Check Hunger, Mecklenburg County Teen Court, Scholarships, Outreach and into running the Thrift Store which is the primary source of funding for the programs. While working hard, volunteers have fun yet never lose focus of the goals of feeding, clothing, mentoring and educating at risk children and their families in the community.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers