Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
45 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I am one of 30+ retired men who volunteer at the Assistance League. It is a pleasure to be able to share a role in helping children in need in Mecklenburg County through the Assistance League. We deliver snacks to schools, work at Teen Court, deliver shoes for Operation School Bell, and help out with the backroom duties at the terrific Thrift Shop at 3405 S. Tryon. I am proud to be associated with this great organization.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of Assistance League for over 12 years. Serving the children of Charlotte by providing new school clothing, snacks at school, working with teen offenders and providing scholarships to outstanding young men and women, has been a very rewarding experience. This is a very dedicated group of women who volunteer countless hours caring and working for Charlotte youth.
We also run an outstanding Thrift Shop, which helps fund these programs! A hard working group of men volunteer in our backroom and together we hope to continue growing our organization. The need is great and the children of Charlotte need to know we care.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Since becoming a member volunteer of Assistance League of Charlotte two years ago I have witnessed the amount of love and dedication this organization has for our community. Our philanthropic programs enable us to make a difference in children's lives and for this we are all rewarded.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 6, 2013

Although I am no longer a member because of moving away, I still regard Assistance League of Charlotte as a fabulous non profit organization dedicated to the less fortunate children of Charlotte. The... more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I wrote a review of this wonderful organization when I was no longer a member. I have rejoined and am so thrilled to once again be a part of this outstanding group of dedicated individuals serving the less fortunate children and families of Charlotte.
October 6, 2013

Although I am no longer a member because of moving away, I still regard Assistance League of Charlotte as a fabulous non profit organization dedicated to the less fortunate children of Charlotte. Their philanthropic programs are staffed by a marvelous group of caring women who strive very hard to make the lives of youngsters in the area so much better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 1, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League for almost nine years, and wouldn't exchange this experience for anything! We feed, clothe, mentor and educate through our community-based philanthropic prog... more

October 13, 2014

What a wonderful organization! I have been volunteering with Assistance League of Charlotte for almost 11 years. We are dedicated to improving the lives of our community's children and families through five philanthropic programs - we feed, we clothe, we mentor, we educate! The revenue from our fabulous thrift shop helps fund these programs. And, we couldn't do what we do without the support of our grantors and donors. If you're looking for a place to volunteer or make a donation (monetary or goods for our thrift shop) - check us out!
November 1, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League for almost nine years, and wouldn't exchange this experience for anything! We feed, clothe, mentor and educate through our community-based philanthropic programs. We really do make a difference every day. Seeing the gratitude in the eyes of a child lets me know it is all worthwhile. If you want to make a difference in our community and make great friends at the same time, this is the organization for you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

This is a GREAT group of dedicated volunteers tht accomplish amazing things. Sadly unsung SHERO"S in Charlotte

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

An amazing thrift shop - The best in Charlotte! Great selection and terrific prices and the money raised goes back to the community in helping children. All workers are non- paid, volunteering their time and energy to help the needy of Charlotte.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have worked with children all my working career, as a teacher and a children's librarian. When I heard about Assistance League of Charlotte's mission to improve the lives of children in Charlotte, I knew this was an organization that I could wrap my arms around. Assistance League members raise money for the organization's philanthropic programs by volunteering in its retail thrift shop at 3600 S. Tryon St. and through other fund-raising activities. Then members have an opportunity to see this money in action. From being a personal shopper assisting a child (1800 children this school year) choose new school clothes in its Operation School Bell program), to sorting snacks (3,000 each school day) for delivery to elementary schools to alleviate hunger in its Operation Check Hunger program, to working with first-time offenders in its teen court program, to awarding college scholarships (over $25,00 last year), Assistance League is making a difference in so many lives in Charlotte. Working alongside the wonderful women that belong to this organization is icing on the cake!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I recently joined the Assistance League of Charlotte and am overwhelmed by all of the great work they do to help people in the community. The volunteers are so commited to the mission of this organization. They donate a tremendous amount of time to run the thrift shop and do many special programs such as Operation School Bell, Teen Court and Baubles and Bags that positively impact the community. I am proud to be part of such a great team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I joined Assistance League of Charlotte on the recommendation of a friend at church after my retirement. The services provided to the community are awesome! My favorite program is Operation School Bell, clothing elementary school children from uniform schools. These kids will melt your heart with their smiles, hugs and heartfelt thanks. My "grown-up" interaction is helping in the Thrift Shop and on our work Mondays when we process donations received as well as serve on the Marketing Committee. These activities give you the opportunity to meet and be with the membership overall and you couldn't find a better group to be associated with. Dedicated, hardworkers, fun - and we achieve our mission/goals to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers