Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have worked with children all my working career, as a teacher and a children's librarian. When I heard about Assistance League of Charlotte's mission to improve the lives of children in Charlotte, I knew this was an organization that I could wrap my arms around. Assistance League members raise money for the organization's philanthropic programs by volunteering in its retail thrift shop at 3600 S. Tryon St. and through other fund-raising activities. Then members have an opportunity to see this money in action. From being a personal shopper assisting a child (1800 children this school year) choose new school clothes in its Operation School Bell program), to sorting snacks (3,000 each school day) for delivery to elementary schools to alleviate hunger in its Operation Check Hunger program, to working with first-time offenders in its teen court program, to awarding college scholarships (over $25,00 last year), Assistance League is making a difference in so many lives in Charlotte. Working alongside the wonderful women that belong to this organization is icing on the cake!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I recently joined the Assistance League of Charlotte and am overwhelmed by all of the great work they do to help people in the community. The volunteers are so commited to the mission of this organization. They donate a tremendous amount of time to run the thrift shop and do many special programs such as Operation School Bell, Teen Court and Baubles and Bags that positively impact the community. I am proud to be part of such a great team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I joined Assistance League of Charlotte on the recommendation of a friend at church after my retirement. The services provided to the community are awesome! My favorite program is Operation School Bell, clothing elementary school children from uniform schools. These kids will melt your heart with their smiles, hugs and heartfelt thanks. My "grown-up" interaction is helping in the Thrift Shop and on our work Mondays when we process donations received as well as serve on the Marketing Committee. These activities give you the opportunity to meet and be with the membership overall and you couldn't find a better group to be associated with. Dedicated, hardworkers, fun - and we achieve our mission/goals to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

A wonderful service organization serving the community from clothing elementary school children for school to providing college scholarships to the "needy" but excellent high school students. Also makes a big difference in the live's of young kids who get into trouble with the law enforement. First time offenders are allowed to clear their records though Teen Court.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have been a menber since I moved to the area in '96. I have yet to see us not over achieve in our mission. Our volunteers work thousands of hours a year for the betterment of the underpriviaged children in our area........with very rewarding results

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

This dedicated group of member volunteers, with help from committed community non-members, works exceedingly hard to make our community a better place for all. Helping every child to succeed is more than a mission statement, it is way of life for these individuals who feed, clothe, mentor and educate at risk children in our area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been a member of Assistance League of Charlotte since 1999. Volunteering with this organization is just about the best thing I have ever done. I have made some wonderful friends and helped some terrific children in Charlotte-Mecklenburg.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

the assistance league of charlotte is our charity partner...I must say I could not be prouder to assist in this organization. My experience with the assistance league has never fallen short of proud. The volenteers are professional and caring and do a world of good.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
July 14, 2012

Assistance League of Charlotte volunteers are a group of hard-working people with the biggest hearts in the city. I was first drawn to them through a newspaper article about their program, Operation... more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a Board Member/Volunteer of Assistance League of Charlotte, and a very active volunteer within the Charlotte community all my adult life, I can honestly say this is a group of dedicated volunteers unlike any group or organization I have encountered. before. They work hard, they are frugal with their funds and their hearts are in the right place. Does Assistance League of Charlotte change lives? You bet we do. We clothe children in uniforms and warm winter coats so they can fit into their school classes, We fill hungry bellies with nutritious snacks so they can concentrate on their studies. We turn lives around by giving a teen a second chance to right a wrong. We give scholarships to deserving students so college becomes a reality. We waste nothing as we reach out to other organizations in our Outreach program. I tell each and every person who will slow down long enough to listen about Assistance League of Charlotte, what we do, why we do it and how they can help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

Assistance League of Charlotte volunteers are a group of hard-working people with the biggest hearts in the city. I was first drawn to them through a newspaper article about their program, Operation Check Hunger. In this day and age, children shouldn't go hungry, and here was this organization making sure they didn't. Daily during the school year, Assistance League of Charlotte provides snacks to send home with thousands of children so they can attend to their studies without an empty tummy. WOW! I wanted to be a part of that group. While that is the program that drew me to Assistance League, I met with them and was taken aback with their other programs. Many, many hours go into support of Operation School Bell, Operation Check Hunger, Mecklenburg County Teen Court, Scholarships, Outreach and into running the Thrift Store which is the primary source of funding for the programs. While working hard, volunteers have fun yet never lose focus of the goals of feeding, clothing, mentoring and educating at risk children and their families in the community.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2010

more

June 7, 2010

Assistance League of Charlotte - Mecklenburg County Teen Court - My son was involved in an incident at school - an incident involving significant peer pressure. This program was absolutely invaluable to my son, Andy. Not only was this program an alternative to the formal court system, the program gave my son an opportunity to participate and understand our court system and contribute to the community in several ways. He received a sentence for his participation in the incident, and through the process, he more fully understood the ramifications of this behavior and more importantly, learned alternative ways of responding to similar situations now and in the future. He also had the opportunity to serve as a juror, and understand the 'other side of the courtroom'. I cannot say enough good things about this program - it saved my child, and I am truly grateful. A Thankful Parent.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes - please see above.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers