Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

This is a GREAT group of dedicated volunteers tht accomplish amazing things. Sadly unsung SHERO"S in Charlotte

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

Excellent customer service, and a great selection of used and antique furniture for very reasonable prices. A great charity run by great ladies!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More publicity

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

Although I am no longer a member because of moving away, I still regard Assistance League of Charlotte as a fabulous non profit organization dedicated to the less fortunate children of Charlotte. Their philanthropic programs are staffed by a marvelous group of caring women who strive very hard to make the lives of youngsters in the area so much better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

An amazing thrift shop - The best in Charlotte! Great selection and terrific prices and the money raised goes back to the community in helping children. All workers are non- paid, volunteering their time and energy to help the needy of Charlotte.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

When I first began shopping at ALC I was after the great bargains. After a few months of seeing them working with children and seeing their commitment, I would not shop elsewhere. I tell all my friends to shop there too. My brother uses a computer purchased there. All my grown sons dress pants are purchased at ALC and books. Recently I added to my china pattern at ALC. My sister purchased a unique ruby ring for me at ALC. Their name brand clothing is often new and discounted. ALC makes my shopping trips guilt free because I am participating in their mission!
Pat L

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stay open more days

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

I am so proud to be a part of such a community driven organization. We touch so many children and their families through our philanthropic programs. The volunteers in our organization are the hardest working folks I have ever worked with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have been working for this wonderful volunteer organization for nearly three years. Every day we feed 4000 school children and clothe over 2000 school children annually. We mentor first time teen offenders through our Teen Court Program and awarded $30,000 in scholarships last year. Our funds come from the sales in our highly successful Assistance League Thrift Shop, grant awards and donations. We have only one paid employee so our return to the community is truly exceptional. I am proud to work alongside the more than 150 dedicated and caring volunteer members. We make a difference in our community everyday by filling the needs of children who might otherwise go hungry, not attend school or become crime statistics. My charity of choice is most definitely Assistance League of Charlotte!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Establish more name recognition and inform more people of the good works going on within this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Assistance League of Charlotte has been making great strides in it's effort to better serve the Charlotte-Mecklenburg community. We are set to close on our own building very soon, a sign of real progress and growth as we enter our 21st year of existence!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have worked with children all my working career, as a teacher and a children's librarian. When I heard about Assistance League of Charlotte's mission to improve the lives of children in Charlotte, I knew this was an organization that I could wrap my arms around. Assistance League members raise money for the organization's philanthropic programs by volunteering in its retail thrift shop at 3600 S. Tryon St. and through other fund-raising activities. Then members have an opportunity to see this money in action. From being a personal shopper assisting a child (1800 children this school year) choose new school clothes in its Operation School Bell program), to sorting snacks (3,000 each school day) for delivery to elementary schools to alleviate hunger in its Operation Check Hunger program, to working with first-time offenders in its teen court program, to awarding college scholarships (over $25,00 last year), Assistance League is making a difference in so many lives in Charlotte. Working alongside the wonderful women that belong to this organization is icing on the cake!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I recently joined the Assistance League of Charlotte and am overwhelmed by all of the great work they do to help people in the community. The volunteers are so commited to the mission of this organization. They donate a tremendous amount of time to run the thrift shop and do many special programs such as Operation School Bell, Teen Court and Baubles and Bags that positively impact the community. I am proud to be part of such a great team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers